We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humid, dirty and cold. A pity for an hotel which was probably nice years ago...”
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Humid, dirty and cold. A pity for an hotel which was probably nice years ago...”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Dirty bed, very humid and cold, we didn't sleep well at all. Bit frustrating as the building looks nice from outside, it was probably a good place 30 or 40 years ago.
Breakfast was ok.

Price was by far too high compare to quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    53
    42
    32
See reviews for
20
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel from a Rough Guide recommendation. There were two young staff members that were too forward with us, and we caught one of them peeking at us while we were showering. The windows in this hotel are ground level and without curtains in the bathroom. We complained immediately to the manager, and he only offered another room and no other action. We left right away and moved to the Alpine Hotel next door and filed a formal complaint with the police. This situation was handled very badly and we feel this is not a safe place to stay. We have been informed that the two young men have been fired and are no longer working at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelerchic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Grosvenor Hotel, Nuwara Eliya has such good potential - in a grand old British building, in a good location in Nuwara Eliya this place could be made absolutely stunning if some work was put into it. Unfortunately, the whole place seems neglected and doesn't come anyway near as good as it could be.

Firstly, Nuwara Eliya is COLD (that is coming from someone who has lived in the North of England for the past four years!) - it is about 10 degrees outside and due to no heating, it is about that temperature inside the Grosvenor Hotel as well. Everyone had to walk around the hotel with their jumpers and coats on. Upon asking for a heater due to an awful night's sleep, I was told there were no heaters. I had to sleep with four blankets it was that cold!

The room was large but very draughty and had problems with damp. The shower was usually freezing cold and soaked the entire bathroom. Whilst I was there there were storms overnight with winds and a lot of rain. Throughout the night the hotel doors continuously banged against each other very loudly with the wind, making for an extremely poor nights sleep. The internet did not work and the food was overpriced an substandard.

Overall - avoid this place and find somewhere better to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scaryhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Ro
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We are doing a private tour of Sri Lanka and our guide booked this hotel for us and we are very upset. As we speak we look for another hotel during the night. First of all, its expensive compared to other accomodations around the island. Above this, the temperature outside is around 10 C, they have no heating but they charge money for 2 handfull of branches to set the fireplace going. The branches youre buying will keep you about half an hour, every time you want wood, you pay about 4euros. As the storm started to break out outside, all smoke was brought in the room, leaving us coughing and breathless. The manager replied that we are the only one complaining and that his hotel is full with happy customers.
He said he will make us the favor of not making us pay for the second pile of wood.
This experience was a cold shower as everyone on the island was so nice and welcoming with us. Besides, except for the "end of the world" thing not really worth it to stop

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s3th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Please ask the menu to know the prices and check your bill before you pay! We had dinner here and they double price the amount on the check from the menu! we complained to manager twice and still not get the exact amount. Cheating the foreigners is seem common in this place as sometime foreigners didnt check the prices from menu, so they can charge you as they like. Well, the room was big and has fireplace but not very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renasari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

After staying in some terrible Nuwara Eliya hotels (Nuwara Eliya in general has an abysmal choice of budget hotels) we were delighted to come upon this place.

We paid rs3750 for a lovely rustic colonial housed room.The room was clean and prepared in a nice way and it was a really good price compared to many other Nuwara Eliya hotels.

The service was good, comfortable rooms with plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The room was spotless despite a very stained bathtub. But the whole place is creepy, dated and dowdy. The internet worked badly.

Worst of all, our toilet wouldn't flush. I told a hotel staff person and he said someone would come to fix it in 10 minutes. An hour later no one had come. Eventually two guys, who obviously knew nothing about plumbing, came to our room with me. I removed my shoes before stepping on the white tiled floor. They didn't. After much giggling from them, they said they'd fixed the problem. I thanked them. They left and I went into the bathroom. The floor was muddy and wet and the toilet still didn't flush. I complained. They returned but we never did get a flushing toilet.

The breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was okay and our waiter was polite and efficient. Next morning we checked out and the manager was good about getting us a taxi to the train station and we were happy to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.7 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#8 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#22 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 6 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing