We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely colonial bungalow with views over Nuwara Eliya” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anilana Craigbank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anilana Craigbank
Ranked #28 of 216 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely colonial bungalow with views over Nuwara Eliya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This bungalow is owned by Anilana who have several properties in Sri Lanka. Go to anilana.com and follow links. Ignore the advice on some websites which says the bungalow is closed until further notice as this is out of date. We paid US$500 per night for the bungalow including breakfast. Free flow bottled water was included in the rate, which was a nice touch.

Our party of 7 adults and 1 infant (7 months) stayed at Craigbank for 2 nights in February 2013. We arrived just before dusk and the bungalow was pretty easy to find (just up the road from St Andrews Hotel), but it could be a bit tricky if you arrive in the dark as it's up a narrow road and the sign is quite small.

We were greeting by the staff and led inside for a much needed cup of tea! The bungalow is set in immaculate gardens and has a good view over Nuwara Eliya. Stepping inside felt like being transported back in time! We loved the oldie worldly charm and the fact that each rooms was unique. Some of the fixtures and fittings were a little dated, but comfortable / functional and appropriate to the setting. The rooms were a little dark as they were lit by sidelamps rather than a room light, but this added to the charm.

We decided that we would eat in the bungalow that night and we had the choice of ordering off the limited menu (Sri Lankan curry or meat and veg) or we could request anything else we wanted! We had a chat with the chef who was extremely accommodating and gave us some good suggestions and after a lot of deliberation we decided on lamb chops for 5 of us and lamb curry for the other 3, followed by 5 portions of chocolate biscuit dessert (highly recommended!!) and 3 traditional Sri Lankan desserts. The staff went to buy all the ingredients for us whilst we relaxed and we paid based on the value of the receipt (excellent value). They were also able to pick up some beer for us too. We brought our own wine and spirits from overseas, but they mixed up the most delicious pimms and lemonade (with all the trimmings) for us, as well as G&T's, which we had in the front living room with a fire lit. Food was delicious! We all agreed that the lamb chops were the best we had had in a very long time.

Hot water was a little sporadic due to the fact both solar and gas heaters were used and the staff had to sometimes switch between them. But the staff were very helpful and if there was a problem this was easily fixed. Water pressure was good.

Overall a really enjoyable stay. Thank you to everyone at Craigbank. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The four rooms (North, South, East and West) have a very individual style and are quirky in differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We spent a couple of days there in February 2011 and wished that we could have stayed more...

Location:
- On the hills, above Nuwara Eliya: tidy garden, beautiful view
- We were driving our own rental car (yes, really no driver, but we agree that it is only a valid option for really experienced drivers with hidden aggressive instincts) and we really had trouble with finding the place. The proper street was found quite early, however we did not expect, that we should have taken a service road in the middle of a hairpin bend.
- "City center" is accessible on foot, but quite a long walk...take car, or order a tuk-tuk instead

Background:
- We were explained that the resort was originally owned by a French architect, and it was furbished for own use. It was sold to an investor a couple of years ago but the staff is still the same.
- The staff is really nice, helpful and make you feel comfortable there. We also had dinner there, really enjoyed having it served it the dining room. It really-really worth the relatively higher price.
- Be prepared, that wine/beer is not sold in the premises, but the staff is flexible and helpful enough to bring it up from the town...really suggest enjoying this possibility, but don't forget about the tips... :)
- Garden is exceptionally beautiful.

Rooms:
- Need to accept, that the rooms are different both is sizes and furbishing quality. We were lucky enough to have a nice non front room with a fireplace and a door to the backyard. There were three other rooms, opposite our room was smaller, but also tidy with a funny wooden tub in the bathroom, front yard master bedroom is probably the best choice, however there was also a room in the back which we would not have liked much, since the furnishing was already quite run-down.
- Furniture is not new, but still high above local hotel standards. Still do not expect the Four Seasons quality!
- Exactly the same with cleanliness... :)
- There is also a living room, TV room and a dining room for the comfort of the guests, which provide such a good atmosphere, that taking some time it the house is really fun in itself.

Overall: we were really proud of us finding this unique place... probably we couldn't have had any better choice in Nuwara Eliya (including the Grand Hotel as well). Make sure to spend enough time there that besides the usual tea plantation visits be able to take a whole day rest around the house...

Room Tip: Try to avoid the back room at the kithcen entrance. The other three rooms are all fine. Should you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TC_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Craigbank Bungalows in April 2011 for 4 days and loved the location, high above the town of Nuwara Eliya. The cottage is pretty as a picture, full marks to the gardener! It has atmosphere and the service staff is very helpful. Loved the little den - they even serve you tea and snacks in there and its a nice, cosy place for an evening indoors. Very interesting artefacts.
MY biggest complaint is that the furnishings are in serious need of replacement. The cushions in the verandah outside apart from being filthy were going to tatters. The sitting room furnishings also showed serious signs of wear and tear. We stayed in the "Green Room"and though it was slightly better, in general, an overhaul of the interiors from the wall paper to the tapestry is required. When you are paying 4 star rates, then that quality is expected.
Overall, the charm of this bungalow is in its location and the fact that is far away from the noise of the main town. But it is pretty secluded so if you like a night out, then not really the ideal place to be in.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

This old bungalow is over 150 years old, but has been totally renovated within the last 10 years. It is set behind the St Andrews hotel and has just 3 large bedrooms and one very large suite. The gardens are nicely laid out and are wonderfully quiet to just sit in and relax. Service was brilliant with cups of tea and cold drinks being served whenever we wanted them at no extra charge. A word of warning though as no alcohol is served. If you want a beer, then buy some in town and they will put it in the fridge for you.

If you wish to eat here they serve the most sublime Sri Lankan curry. We had 13 dishes, all of which were beautifully cooked. We asked for medium hot curry and that is what we got.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurogolferoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at Craigbank Bungalow for a night when visiting the tea hills of Nuwara Eliya.
The bungalow is so pretty and makes you feel like you've arrived in the English countryside. A real world away from the rest of Sri Lanka!
Craigbank is nicely situated just above the main town. The surrounding gardens and grounds are beautiful and wonderfully kept. We enjoyed a sunny afternoon sitting outside in the garden sipping tea and chilling. Bliss!
You'll notice the resident dogs Gin and Tonic running around the grounds occasionally which adds to the character of the place.
The staff are friendly and helpful but allow you your own privacy too.
There are only 4 rooms in the bungalow, which ensures you get great individual service. The staff encourage you to enjoy yourselves, relax and treat the place like your own.
There's a great casual TV room, more formal sitting room and impressive dining room where we had breakfast.
We stayed in room 'East'. All rooms are individually designed and decorated and the bathrooms are really quaint but with great luxurious touches too.
We wished we'd been able to stay for longer. A great little place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW1LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jetwing Warwick Gardens
Jetwing Warwick Gardens
#1 of 165 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.0 mi away
Langdale by Amaya
Langdale by Amaya
#9 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#9 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anilana Craigbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anilana Craigbank

Property: Anilana Craigbank
Address: 48 Water Field Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anilana Craigbank 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anilana Craigbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anilana Craigbank Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing