We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to get yourself pissed by the craziest Sri Lankan lady, come here”
Review of Hill View Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Bungalow
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you want to get yourself pissed by the craziest Sri Lankan lady, come here”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Travelled there in a chilling rainy day with a friend of mine and a tuk tuk driver took us to this place. Honestly speaking, the house itself looks clean and decent.

We lived in the downstairs double room and paid two thousand 500rs. The window of balcony door is broken so the winds went through for a whole night which is very cold. The owner did not apologize this after we found out the broken door, but instead they are really strict on letting us use lights in the living room.

No towels were provided so I called the lady to bring towels. She came down with towel and suddenly got really angry to see that the toilet light was on, and I was waiting for the towel so I came out to fetch them I wasn't in bathroom, then the long lecture begins with few dirty words from the owner saying we are bad women bcoz we don't let them make money.

I explained I just turned on the lights and for a few seconds I come out there is no problem with that. Then the husband keeps saying how expensive the electricity is, even for ONE SECOND out of bathroom u should turn off lights. The wife walked into bathroom and shut off the lights when I was still in.

They keep the curtain in living open so they can see from outside. I closed it, they came back to open again. They lock the entire living room and our bedroom from outside. I have NEVER EVER seen a guest house treat its guests like this. Husband even ask us to pay and move out at midnight. Keeps standing in our room for a few minutes educating us about there is no profit to make if we don't turn off light in barroom for a second.

Really we have no problem with the house, but the crazy owners really made us an extremely bad experience staying in nuwara eliya. If you think 2500rs for the double room is too low, sure you can rise the price of the room instead of giving the guests a bad night.

Room Tip: House itself there is no prob but the owner is really the craziest lady we met in Sri Lanka if u wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MasterJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    34
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
44
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The food was excellent, the rooms were kept very clean and neat! Me and my wife stayed here, and I have to say, everything was just excellent! The management here is very friendly and cordial! I recommend any future guests to this area to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Travelled Sri Lanka for 2 months at the beginning of 2013. After a horrible start in Nuwara Elliya it was an absolute blessing to find accommodation at this lovely guesthouse. The downstairs rooms had a communal bathroom but the upstairs rooms were all ensuite. The rooms were very clean and the food was fantastic! It had a great communal feel which made it easy to meet other travellers and chat about your experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewongster008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Like others, 2nd floor balcony room. Hot, hot showers, super clean, great food, great tea with gingersnaps, free wifi, walk into town, bagged lunch for Horton's Plains, it was amazing. Mind you we had just come from Slightly Chilled guesthouse (separate review) at Adam's Peak so maybe that is why we found this place so amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaPolarBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We are a family of four, with two small kids (1 and 3 years old). We stayed at the hill view for three nights. The room was great - big, clean, great view (ask for the rooms with the terrace, on the second floor). Also there is a pleasant common area outside the room where you can sit and meet other travelers. But above all - the owner is really nice, helped us with the kids, and makes great food. We recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balcony - they are bigger and have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Naama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This place is amazing!
Probably the best place we've been to in sri lanka..
The rooms are clean and cozy and the view is beautiful. In a reasonable price you get great value for your money.
Mali the owner and her family are so nice, carrying and helpful.
She also makes great food, don't miss it!

I would recommend anyone coming to nuwara eliya to stay here :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inbalcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

When we arrived at the station, we met with a local taxi driver who proposed us to show us his sister's guesthouse. Normally we kind of never accept these types of offers but this time, we compared it with others guesthouses and hotels in the city. Definitely the nicest room that we had in one week travelling over sri-lanka. The bathroom was extraordinary, clean with hot water and a real shower!! The owner was very kind with us, managed some laundry for us, called us a taxi for visiting tea factory, waterfalls, etc. We had read so many good things about the home-cooking staff that we were really looking forward to the diner. What a disappointment!!! The worse rice curry ever!! Tasted like burnt staff. For 750rup each?? Did not worth it at all!!

Room Tip: Take the "rose" room!!... Not the diner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
2.2 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#10 of 245 in Nuwara Eliya
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#2 of 245 in Nuwara Eliya
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#21 of 245 in Nuwara Eliya
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#5 of 196 in Nuwara Eliya
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Firs
The Firs
#72 of 245 in Nuwara Eliya
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Bungalow

Property: Hill View Bungalow
Address: 74 St Andrews Rd. Under bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hill View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing