We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
Ranked #42 of 238 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Ella, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean room and bathroom”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My wife and I, along with our 5 year old son stayed at Hotel Anish Park for one night in a standard room. The room was small but clean with a large, comfortable bed. The attached toilet was also clean, modern and with real hot water. There was a lovely bathtub as well and was quite unexpected for the price we paid.

The manager Rajan was very courteous and helpful.

The only thing we found objectionable was that when we returned late to the hotel, there were several members, most probably staff, sleeping on the floor of the reception area. They were sleeping on mattresses but I am sure the management can do better for these guys.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoshJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    19
    16
    11
See reviews for
35
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed one night with my family of 3 at this place. We took 2 adjoining double rooms. The rooms were small and rather cramped with queen-size beds and a small bathroom which was modern but had minimum fittings and the latch was not working in one of them.The sound-proofing of walls was poor and we could hear each other thro' the walls. Also the place had a deserted feel about it and did not feel safe at night. All the rooms were on the upper floors and the reception was on the ground floor .

The food also was a big let down. Our b'fast came with the room. We were offered American b'fast with eggs and toast and fruit. When we asked for a Sri Lankan or Indian b'fast option for some of us we were told that we would all have to have the same thing be it American or Indian b'fast. So we settled for the AB which was just average with cold toast and not the best tasting omlettes served. We were given 2 small bottles of mineral water along with our meal and had to pay for more bottles when we asked for the same. We were charged Rs 100/- for a bottle bottle with the marked price of Rs 35/- !

Dinner was also average . We asked for a vegetarian Sri Lankan meal but tho' we tried to find out what options were available, the manager could not communicate with us on the same.The food when it arrived was very average in taste and quite spicy too.Oh, and to add to it all, there were flies in the restaurant too!

The road leading to the hotel was a mud road which became quite slushy when it rained.

All in all, not a great experience and I will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shraddha2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruwan D, Manager at Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback! Feed back helps us improve our service standards help serve our customers better.

Regarding your feedback, please note that the hotel is under new ownership and new management since August 2014. The hotel is renamed and re-branded as Royal Hills. Therefore we can not accept your above comments. We are pleased to inform you that the property has been fully refurbished under our management and the below additions and changes have been completed:

+ Full Refurbishment of the exterior and interior of the building
+ New Furniture
+ New luxury Celsius bedding
+ Complementary toiletries in each room
+ New Fire Place
+ New Elevator
+ New Sitting Area on Guest Room Balcony
+ New Outside Sitting Area
+ On request Steam iron with ironing board
+ On Request Heater
+ On Request Hair Dryer
+ Doctor on Call Facility
+ Seminar or conference facilities
+ New Car Park
+ 24/7 Room Service

Some of the new staff under new management includes:
+ New Front Office Staff
+ New Kitchen staff including well experienced Chef de Cuisine and Sous-Chef de Cuisine
+ New F& B Manager
+ New Resident Manager
+ New Sales & Marketing Team

We would like to invite you to stay with us now and see and experience the difference yourself!

Thank You!
Management Team - Royal Hills, Nuwara Eliya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The room I stayed in was a suite. There were two little balconies offering view of the lake. The plumbing in the bathrooms were a little shaky, but the staff fixed it soon. The staff were helpful and do the best to make the stay comfortable.The manager Rajan is a very helpful person. He helped courier some stuff which I accidentally left at the hotel. Food is alright, but needs to be ordered the previous day itself so they can prepare it. Since the hotel is located at the other side of the lake, it is much quieter and sometimes the silence can be odd for people who are used to city life. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aswin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Camellia Hotel
Grand Camellia Hotel
#48 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
29 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotels Jojos
Hotels Jojos
#19 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#21 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heidi's Home
Heidi's Home
#6 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horton Towers and Cottages
Horton Towers and Cottages
#3 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Binota Hotel
Binota Hotel
#63 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya

Property: Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
Address: 109, Upper Lake Road | Nesby Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Anish Park)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the peaceful Gregory Lake, Hotel Royal Hills is a 20 roomed modern hotel situated just 5 minutes away from the Nuwara Eliya city center. All our Lake View and Mountain View rooms come with a private balcony overlooking the iconic Gregory Lake or the tea plantation. All rooms are well equipped with modern facilities including in-room Wi-Fi access, a wardrobe, flat screen TV with access to your favorite channels, private bathroom with bathtub and hot water. Royal Hills is located within easy reach to Nuwara Eliya city, Horton Plains national park, Gregory Lake, Hakgala Botanic gardens, Lipton Seat as well as Ramayana sites. Convenient location is not the main reason you should chose Royal Hills: if you stay at Royal Hills, you will surely experience real Sri Lankan hospitality coupled with friendly service. We will ensure a warm and delightful experience regardless of the duration of your stay. Because of the proximity to Nuwara Eliya city center, Royal Hills is ideally suited for travelers who would like to relax a day or two after a long journey visiting the cultural cities or before venturing on your onward journey in towards Yala National Park or the South Coast. Moreover, our Eco-friendly service policy is another reason why you should stay at Royal Hills. We will ensure a minimum carbon footprint as possible from our operations and services we provide to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing