We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”
Review of Chez Allen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Allen
Ranked #26 of 254 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in Chez Allen for one night.

I was immediately struck by the friendliness of the host family. We mostly dealt with a very well-mannered, accommodating young man who served us some great local tea and was highly informative about Nuwara Eliya and Sri Lanka.

Rooms are spacious with an amazing view of the mountains. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were offered.

I would recommend Chez Allen to anyone visiting Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eoin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Chez Allen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in Chez Allen for one night whilst visiting Newara Eliya. The room itself was basic and clean altough had no moz net or a/c although luckily we didn't need it them that night. The location of the house is good with great views across the hills although it did prove a little difficult to find at first. It's up a very steep though short hill too. The feel of the house was very 'backpackery', very laid back with somewhat intriguing decor! The food provided was basic western fare although we did only have breakfast there. The staff were helpful and arranged tuk-tuks etc for us. My only gripe is that although the room was the most basic we had on our whole trip it was also the most expensive although we did stay in the middle of the new year season. I wouldn't pay the same rate for the room in normal circumstances.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The room is clearing.and the scene view is widely,can see the whole city .
The food is. Delicious。店主人很好,景色也很美,可以看到努握勒城市的全景,还会坐中国菜,非常好的味道,店铺还在装修,以后可以有22间房子',非常美,视野辽阔。价格也很实惠,明天去霍顿平原徒步,还可以打包便当。房间非常满,真的很不错,彩色很好,有许多菜,每个人都可以吃到可口的饭菜,房间的价格在高峰期是6500卢比,一般时候是5800卢比。房间很干净,也比较大,非常不错的说。现在正在建2层,会有22间房子,是最高的旅馆。非常物超所值。

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked 3 nights at ''chez Allen'' and paid in advance by Agoda. We were very disappointed by the house and the rooms regarding the price we paid (2rooms at 45$ each): lot of humidity or moisture spots on the roof, stained bed sheets with holes, only a thin old plastic cover on the ground. The main hall is decorated with dirty bed sheets to hide the stair case. It was not engaging at all. On top of that, there was almost no water in the bathrooms, we had to ask for a hot water bucket to have a wash. The only good point was the food served for the dinner. We left after 2 nights and the owner did not argue when we requested a reimbursement for the 3rd night.
I would not recommend to stay there for this price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnaud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Allen and his wife are very nice hosts. We stayed for two nights, one of which we left early in the morning at 5.30am to go to Horton's Plains and Allen's wife prepared us a packed breakfast to take on the trip (very toast & bananas, but I really appreciated that she got up early just for us!).

The rooms are very basic with a bed with a few blankets and a little wash room. Rooms are kept very clean. It gets extremely cold at night, so ask for a heater.

We paid about 6000 Rs for the first night and 5000 Rs for the second night, but we should not have paid more than 3000-3500. So if you wish to stay there, which I recommend, don't book online but either call and discuss or just turn up. There wasn't anyone else staying at the time so no need to worry about space, and there are plenty of guest houses next to Allen's if you can't get the price or room you want.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippypppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Rooms are very comfortable, with a big bed and clean bathroom. The food isn't spectacular, but at least breakfast is free and you can ask for a refill of your tea/coffee anytime. Malika, Allen's wife, was a gracious hostess and we felt very well taken cared of. The brother, Patrick, was also our tuktuk driver for our three days stay. He knows many shortcuts and took us to places not mentioned at all in the Lonely Planet. I would recommend getting him when you want to go around places that are not so touristy. All in all I would say good service from everyone in the household.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Other rooms have windows that can't be locked.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaSalami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We are the other couple that missed money. It isn't the large sum but someone is doing it very smart (only stealing euros and very smart only one banknote). I don't know who to blame (son, other guests or owner) but it is strange coincedence that two people was robed at the same time during the probably dinner.

To bad since it is a good value for money (although breakfast and dinner ar very very overpriced and not so good - so avoid to eat there).

Ask for two room in front since one in the back is full of mould and with no sun. That room is no good for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#18 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#9 of 254 in Nuwara Eliya
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Highest Village Bungalow
Highest Village Bungalow
#10 of 254 in Nuwara Eliya
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#3 of 209 in Nuwara Eliya
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#2 of 254 in Nuwara Eliya
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Allen

Address: 45B Underbank, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 254 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £17 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chez Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing