We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”
Review of Amaya Langdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amaya Langdale
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Situated on top of a tea estate this hotel has an amazing view all around. Well maintained gardens with roses etc add value to it. A cosy well maintained bungalow with limited rooms. Rooms are comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Food is also good.
However, the road to the hotel is a nightmare as it is under construction.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 972senu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice hotel, nice rooms and beautiful views around the Tea Country. The hotel had a very formal feel to it, which is not what we were expecting at all. The staff were friendly and helpful, however, the atmosphere could have been a bit more relaxed. It was very quiet here, with only one other family staying there. The food was nice but not amazing. Breakfast was not served as a buffet, but brought to your table course by course. There is a very odd statue of a horse in the gardens, which is slightly distracting from the stunning views all around the hotel. The exterior of the hotel was very stark, clinical and new - again not really fitting in with the surroundings. If we were to return to Nuwara Eliya, i would probably look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PatandBram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved everything about this Hotel. The staff is super helpful, gorgeous view and good food.

The only negative is that the road to get to the hotel is under construction but wasn't a major problem to us as we traveled by train

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suhashi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

To be fair my husband and I were not in the best of moods by the time we arrived at Amaya Langdale. As other reviewers have pointed out, the road to the hotel was a nightmare. We arrived during "rush hour" and it took the hotel van over an hour to drive the pot holed, under construction road filled with buses, vans and cars the 12.6 kilometers to Amaya Langdale. On a good day it should take a little over half an hour but with the traffic and construction allow yourself more time.

The grounds of the quaint hotel are lovely and have a colonial feel to them. Stepping inside feels like walking into someone's comfortable home with a basic reception desk, small lounge and attached dining area. There are tables with umbrellas in the garden and its a good location to view the surrounding area while enjoying afternoon tea or breakfast. There's even a grass tennis court and small pool area below the hotel filled with beautiful flowering plants. Unfortunately, these lovely tidbits don't make up for the rooms. The room was extremely dated and furnished cheaply with laminated furniture and a bed with a lumpy, soft mattress. The bathroom was tiny, with a small shower and linoleum sink area with a burned out lightbulb above the mirror. Its so sad because you can see the potential of this place. Possibly the reason the hotel sees no need in updating its rooms is there are few options to stay in the area.

Other tripadvisor reviewers enjoyed the food. We found it adequate but nothing outstanding. Breakfast was even disappointing. It didn't help matters that we began our Sri Lankan vacation by staying in fabulous hotels in Colombo, Galle and Tangalle, all with excellent restaurants. Unfortunately we were lead to believe that Amaya Langdale was of similar quality but it cannot even be compared to these other locations.

If you want to hike in this particular area and come with a relaxed attitude with no expectations then Amaya Langdale will be a good fit for you. Stay at least 2 nights to recover from the journey to and from town. And as for us...will we be staying again? No, not likely, unless the hotel is completely refurbished and the road construction completed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I have visited Nuwara Eliya three times already and had stayed in quite nice boutique hotels, I fell in love with Warwick and I thought that it was the best hotel in that area until I came and stayed in this beautiful place, Langdale by Amaya. My experience was really indescribable as I had the best romantic holiday ever. We arrived quite late in the afternoon but was greeted with warm welcoming smile front the front desk and staff. They also prepared hight tea in their lovely garden overlooking the hills, just picturesque view! The room was spacious, although it didn't have a balcony but the view I got from my window was just perfect. I love the fresh roses in the room. The food they served was excellent, loved the strawberry shortcakes, croissants and everything although the server was not really warm as there was not so many South East Asian looking I guess I was the only one who's there at that time, it didn't bother me at all as I enjoyed every min of my stay. I didn't had the chance to swim in their heated pool but it looked very clean. The entire estate looked well maintained.
I'm sorry Warwick but I found my new love the Amaya boutique and spa.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Bhevy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Romantic place to stay
Do not go alone .. nether with a friend
You have to be with your wife or huspand
Such place of good weather and full of peace then nothing to do after 6
The hotel on the top up and down see the lake which you have to stay for few nights
With a very romantic view

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank bahar973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Langdale at the beginning of March, after a train journey to Nuwara Eliya. It was a bit of a surprise to bump down the unfinished road (authorities should take note if they want to encourage tourism in this area) but the house at the end was well worth the inconvenience. It was not full when we stayed and we had a spacious, well appointed room on the ground floor, overlooking perfectly manicured grounds.
Apart from the comfortable surroundings and good food, the thing which stood out more than anything was the complete silence in the evening and the total lack of high density lights. The stars were amazing, so bright, you could almost reach up and pluck one!
The only negative thing would be that there is no accomodation close by for drivers, ours had to go back into Nuwara Eliya and then come back the next day to pick us up.

Room Tip: Definitely a room overlooking the garden, the hills and tea plantations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
9.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,637 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,589 reviews
4.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,075 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
322 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Langdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Langdale

Address: Radella | Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £121 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Langdale 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The winding brook dances off the crystal veil of the Devon Falls and prances through perfectly manicured Tea gardens that date back to the 18th-century caressing them from above are the azure heavens that date back to the beginning of time itself… The Langdale sits proud amidst this theatre of pure indulgence. An exclusive luxury boutique space designed to inspire the senses, tickle the imagination, rejuvenate mind, body and soul. The pursuit of happiness must surely end here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amaya Langdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale By Amaya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing