We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
218
142
76
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
142
76
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel grass tennis court heated pool small hotel sri lanka tea plantation putting green main city manicured lawns pool table local food two nights set menu special thanks hill country rice and curry english style
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

this is boutique hotel . awesome views even from your rooms. try to take 201 room which has beautiful views from both the windows.no need to go for sigh seeing as the hotel itself is located in middle of tea gardens with a view to admire for.Staff is good and provide shuttle service to railway station called nanu oya.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruptiK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... E, CRM at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear TruptiK

Ayubowan from Amaya Resorts and Spas!

Thank you for this lovely review of Amaya Langdale on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable and wonderful stay with us.

Thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Amaya Resorts and Spas!

Warmest Regards,

Deepika Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife spent 2 nights here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was great although i felt they could have a done a bit better with the variety. A tad too expensive but it was totally worth it. Best part was the location and the scenery which was breathtaking to say the least. If you are willing to trek half an hour uphill through the langdale tea estate which is bordering the bungalow, you could capture more spectacular views. Overall, it was a extremely pleasant experience. Recommend it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maheesha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... E, CRM at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Maheesha

Ayubowan from Amaya Resorts and Spas!

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Langdale by Amaya on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn you liked the peaceful stay. Most of the guest who stay at the Langdale leave with pleasant feelings and we are glad to note your appreciation towards the beautiful location.

Thank you for your valued patronage aWe look forward to welcoming you back to Amaya Resorts and Spas!

Warmest Regards,

Deepika Dissanayke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Firstly, you will be greeted by very pleasant staff. They will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home throughout your stay. The place itself looks like a converted tea estate bungalow (it probably is). The food is on a "set menu" arrangement but every dish is carefully made to taste beyond expectations. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. I occupied 207 which had a big bathroom and an added luxury of a little balcony. Loved the place, the staff and the food! Would recommend the place without any reservations.

Room Tip: room no. 207 was awesome!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MiranFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... E, CRM at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Miran

Ayubowan from Amaya Resorts and Spas!


Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Langdale. It was a pleasure to learn of your appreciation for the quality of service of our staff members. We are happy that overall accommodations of our hotel was to your satisfaction. we are honoured to have hosted you.

Thank you for your valued patronage.
Warmest Regards,

Deepika Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and it was amazing.

We experienced an excellent service from the staff (Gayantha and the crew).

The hotel design is perfect for the location and has stunning views.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lilan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... E, CRM at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Lilan,

Ayubowan from Amaya resorts

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Amaya Langdale on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you chose our retreat for your holiday experience and that you enjoyed a wonderful and memorable stay with us.

It would be a pleasure to have you with us once again for yet another enjoyable stay .

Kind Regards,

Deepika Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

I booked langdale based on the slick website and service offerings they professed to offer as part of their affiliation with the small luxury hotels of the world brand. Having stayed for 3 days at the hotel with my family I can say that the hotel fell woefully short in many ways than one.

CONS (which regretabally vastly outweigh any pros):

Staff - severely undertrained. They did make the effort to be courteous and helpful but their lack of professional hospitality training was undeniably obvious.

Food - absolutely sub par. Their attempt to cook western fare borders on the inedible. (Would suggest sticking to Sri Lankan food varieties, which the chef is likely better at, that would satisfy locals and be a novelty for foreign tourists).

Accommodation - nowhere close to the enticing pictures online. The furniture in the rooms are dated, sheets overused and stained. The bathroom showers were screaming for more water pressure.

PROS:
Location - The hotel is situated in a picturesque locale and is close to Nuwara Eliya.

Premises - The premises were well maintained.

Would advise management to make some major investment in training staff, in revisiting the food menu and in refurbishing the rooms/bathrooms - otherwise I would sereiusly question the hotels ability to qualify as a luxury “anything” of the world.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Curious305397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... E, CRM at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Kravikul,

Greetings from Amaya Resorts


Thank you for leaving a comment after your stay with us.

All the reviews are extremely important and we consider every single comment in order to improve our service and our customer experience. Every member of the team of Langdale works really hard to meet our guests' expectation and receive many compliments from guests , We are deeply sorry if there has been a misunderstanding and apologize for the areas which were below your expectations.

I hope you will come back some time in order to give us another chance.

Best Regards.

Deepika Dissanayake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews