We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place like the plague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya
Ranked #136 of 243 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Avoid this place like the plague”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is not a hotel it is more like a very very basic hostel. We visited as a group from Naturetrek and this dump is hopefully not their new way of doing business. Where to start? The 'hotel' is the wrong side of town set amid scruffy fields and shacks. Our room had no storage space to speak of. The bed covering was filthy although the sheets were clean. The water was scalding and there was a real chance of being burned when you turned on the taps or shower. The towels were sludge grey; the room not made up during the day and we had to ask for a toilet roll. The carpet was dirty; the electrics were dangerous (bare wires in the bathroom). The whole place should be closed down and either demolished or completely refurbished. The one tiny spark was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (all male).

Room Tip: Choose almost any other place in Nuwara and you will almost certainly find a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BlackcatsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    19
    25
    15
    23
See reviews for
17
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

Our group coined this place the ghost hotel due to the sound of the wind that whistles through the hotel all night and day. The windows aren't sealed well so the whistling is quite loud and it makes the hotel freezing. Some kind of heating would be a great investment.

The room was of a good size with a nice bathroom and comfortable enough bed.

The location is way out of town, a good 10min tuk tuk ride. The tv in the room only gets a few local channels so only tv to watch is in main living area at the entrance.

It is quite a cute B&B but be warned be prepared to go up and down a lot of steps, disabled/mobility impaired beware.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lucypoocy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent three nights at the Leisure Village and returned with mixed feelings about the place. First to tell about what goes in favor of this hotel, the service is good (albeit some of the staff do not speak either English or Sinhala!), the bathrooms are clean and the food is up to standard.

The rooms however, needs some overhauling, especially the carpets which were stained, dirty and smelled musty. The beds were comfortable and thankfully not damp. Common areas in the hotel can benefit with a little bit of sprucing up too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiroshaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed only for a night...but felt like fleeing..pathetic cold rooms, no television..smelly bathrooms...extremely small rooms, insufficient light (only small bulbs)...this cant be termed as a hotel at all..its more of a kind of a lodge...Food is terrible..it was so spicy that we were scared! Moreover dogs barking by the road and some notorious kids running on the wooden floor was like a nightmare!

I will never recommend this so-called Hotel!

Room Tip: Never ever book in this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SukanyaD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed at Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya for one night whilst on a tour of Sri Lanka. Simple, but very pleasant hotel.

Hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the centre of town. Located on a hill with lovely views over the big lake (from the front), and tea plantation view out the back. Rooms were small and simple - but very cozy and comfortable. We were invited to the kitchen to watch the chef prepare our evening meal - very enjoyable. And the dinner that was created was one of the best we ate during our time in Sri Lanka! The little breakfast packs put together for us (as we were leaving very early) were also very tasty.

I'm surprised to see such negative views below... perhaps they're those type of guests that expect a 5-star experience in a 3-star hotel? The hotel is certainly not perfect, however I believe it fully meets it's expectation as a moderately priced 3-star hotel.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Reliable WiFi provided in the lounge area.

Recommend hotel for Nuwara Eliya.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank liss0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Me and my family happen to stay at this property for 1 night and had a terrible experience. The service is dead slow, food is very average and the rooms are full of leakages. The hotel infrastructure itself is very poor and can be rated as a lodge. The locations is nice but overall not a place to stay on your holiday.

Room Tip: Do not choose this if your are travelling on holiday with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Padmanabhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I visited the hotel on 24th April 2012, my experience of the hotel was very bad. The rooms are damp, they don't even provide basic amenities like soap, shampoo etc. Food and service also was extremely bad

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malinisingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliaya
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliay...
#157 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#22 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Log Nuwara Eliya
The Log Nuwara Eliya
#60 of 196 in Nuwara Eliya
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Comfort Bungalow
Lake View Comfort Bungalow
#78 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
#40 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heidi's Home
Heidi's Home
#5 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya

Property: Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya
Address: 165/11 Upper Lake Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing