We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come on guys, is this a HOTEL?”
Review of Ashley Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashley Resorts
Ranked #149 of 265 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2013

You must avoid booking this place, room is in terrible condition, poor meal on dinner and breakfast. Desserts are so crappy - 100g fruit salad and not tasty chocolate pudding.
It was so cold in the night, had to sleep in pants+tshirt and under two blankets. Heater doesn't really help since there are huge holes under the balcony door.
The bathroom is the worth I ever seen - lamp is out of 80s, sink with raw sealant, check out the ceiling on photo.

I must admit one thing - good view, but it doesn't worth staying there for a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Recently we booked two rooms in this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We did not expect five star comfort and luxury in this hotel. The rooms were comfortable with magnificent views of the salubrious surroundings.The food was excellent and the staff very courteous. The manager Mr.Gamini Wijesiri was exceptionally helpful and always present at meal times for a friendly conversation. All the staff took great care of our needs. We hope to return again one day soon.

Laksman Pethiyagoda

Room Tip: Please book into room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Laksman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

we checked in in the night and didn't have hot water until morning. When we complained they asked us to wait and we waited till morning without hot water. The room and carpet smelt terrible
and I couldn't forget the terrible feeling even after leaving this place. The breakfast was made hours before and left to be cold. Our appetite diapered after seeing the cold dried bread and egg on the table. We left this dreadful place as quick as possible. it was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Please don't go there.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank roshini n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is not a resort maybe a long time ago it was. Use your money elsewhere. Booked a room for 4 persons but became a room for 2. One extra bed was arranged in the room. The hotel is poor and the staff is not friendly. Had to pay for 2 breakfast though it was payed for it in the booking. The best thing to say about the hotel was the view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Per F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konbers k, Director of Sales at Ashley Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Sir,

We understand the the comment that u have made on the 11/4/2013 due to a reestablishment t the hotel was not in order, and the bookings was reviewed properly by a staff member. my Curtis apologies on the incident.I personally have taken measure and now we have ironed out the situation we apologist behalf of the Hotel.

Many thnks
jehan Majeed -Director Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Nice decent and cozy place, especially for the price. Accomadating staff. Clean rooms. Food was ok. Bit of a climb though if you are walking up after sight seeing walk to the town. Recommend to take a three wheeler back.

Excellent view

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgunendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

It is like any mediocre Hotel in the Hills, the Carpets smelled, but we were lucky to have very good Indian food, that too by a very Good Hindi Speaking guy. Though I was Staying at Hotel Glendover but went to see my friends there for a Drink and Dinner as our Chef cud not offer us good Indian Khana, specially the Roti Part, Hence the acceptance of this invite by our other Indian friends who were staying at Ashley. The Steppe Garden was really Cool, for all our gang to sit outside and enjoy the Cool air, but it rained and we had to run inside. Overall because of Hindustani Khana loved the Place. But Otherwise it is quite far away from the city , good for Loners.

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor which has Garden around it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

After a gorgeous train ride from Dambulla/Anuradapura to Nuwara Eliya, we arrived at Ashley Resorts. It was 55 USD per night, which for our travels was on the high side, but we needed a break.
First of all, the room was the most spacious we had on our entire trip. The carpets were brand new, everything was new in fact, so I think they had just remodelled. The bathroom was huge and has the best hot water and water pressure of our trip as well.

The only downside to the room was the dogs outside barked constantly throughout the night and it's hard to sleep through.

In terms of service, the owner and manager seemed fairly indifferent and aloof, but Gamini was awesome! Very customer oriented service and just all around lovely.

A few notes: Tuktuks that they recommended were over priced compared to other options. We just got the number of a guy we met and liked in town and used him.

Because it is a ways up the hill meant we ate at the hotel a lot
Food was decent - not fabulous, not terrible.

We shared a van organized by Single Tree to go to Horton Plains one morning - very worth it!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taraandspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.9 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
109 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#26 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Resorts

Address: No 88/2 88/3, Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £40 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashley Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing