We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean room,good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sampath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampath Hotel
Ranked #25 of 223 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clean room,good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

clean room,clean shower,there is hot water in the shower,there is tv in the room.
the dinner is ok,they give a breakfast when you go early in the morning to the track in horten.
to bad that the wi-fi is not free and needs to pay if you want internet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liran b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    27
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diksmuide, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We didn't like our stay here!
The man (who we suppose is the manager, not the owner we think) is not friendly. It was like he didn't care if we would take the room or not. He didn't make an effort in his work.
The room was okay but too expensive in comparison to other places we stayed!
The location was good but i would not go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneliescrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had heard horror stories of accommodation in Nuwara Eliya, and were pleasantly surprised. This place is clean and service is OK, but that's about it. I don't think there's a lot of good hotels around in Nuwara Eliya in general though. Dinner and breakfast were OK, but not special. There were hot water and warm blankets, but we were still quite cold at night.
The location is very good (close to park and centre).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maykaefer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The location of the hotel is very good, close to the park and grand hotel - but Nuwara Eliya is not very big.
The room we got was a bit damp (i think this is a common problem in Nuwara eliya since it is such a wet place). The sheets and bathrooms were not very clean either though.

Service was reasonably good, they have breakfast take away packages for when you go on a Horton Plains tour in early morning and breakfast in the hotel was also nice.

All in all we didn't expect much for the price we paid, since NE in general is quite expensive, but we've had much better places in SL.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Spent there one night. The staff was very friendly. The room was fine, excellent shower with lots of hot water. We even hot extra sheets and blankets at night. Breakfast was basic like every other place in SL. I would recommend that place and would stay there again,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1k0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

i spent 1 night here, very friendly staff, comfortable beds, lots of hot water, had a great curry here plenty of food. Quite location that is Walking distance to the centre of town. I recomend this GH, I Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomianki, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Room: clean, spacious enough. Friendly staff, very good food, convenient location.
I can confidently recommend this GH.
When you're sitting in the dining room, you see very clean kitchen through the door. It always says something :)
Confidently recommend this GH for any class of travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Inn
Richmond Inn
#9 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#7 of 178 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#5 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#10 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampath Hotel

Property: Sampath Hotel
Address: 8 A, Wedderburn Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sampath Rest Guesthouse)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the cool climes of Nuwara Eliya. Sampath Hotel situated within the town limits, is a homely hotel located close to the beautiful Victoria Park. It is a charming five bedroom hotel that also includes a separate, all inclusive five roomed bungalow that can accommodate a group of 15 persons. The hotel boasts of a fully carpeted interior, free WiFi, Cable TV, IDD, Internet & foreign currency encashment facilities, laundry service and more. It also has a beautiful landscaped garden from where guests can enjoy a picturesque view of Pidurutalagala – the tallest mountain in Sri Lanka and Single Tree Mountain – a vantage point to observe the natural splendor of Nuwara Eliya. What’s special about Sampath Hotel is that it affords visitors the opportunity to experience warm, homely hospitality, clean and comfortable accommodation, all basic amenities and comforts, delicious meals and most importantly a convenient location to travel around the famous sights of Nuwara Eliya. Be enthralled by the delicious meals which include Eastern, Western and Sri Lankan cuisine prepared by the hotel’s specialized Chef. The hotel also offers to arrange guided tours to the various places of interest in and around Nuwara Eliya. Feel at home, relax and rejuvenate with a warm cup of coffee in this serene environment, let the courteous and well trained staff look after all your needs. Sampath Hotel is a perfect haven of tranquility for those seeking solace with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sampath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing