We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Milano Restaurant

Milano Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 49 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: This eatery is at the top of lonely planets list. It serves good halal indian and chinese food. It is so popular that that it's two floors are mostly full.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

You had 2 options when eating at the Milano. You could either eat in which was very popular with the Muslim tourists, with many families eating together. Or you could get cheaper take away items like Rotti's, Rolls etc. We did both. The food was good by Sri Lankan standards but there are 2 similar options nearby a little cheaper, so that is the reason I did not give 5 stars.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chewie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    167
    182
    80
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Sri Lanka so far”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Good food, not expensive and nice people. After diner I had a good espresso, best one so far in Sri Lanka.
The day after I went back for another two cups.

Helpful?
1 Thank WernerVrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
“People are nice”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very popular restarurant.
I noticed when looking at the menu and tasting the food, this is a chinese cuisine and taste so you can't really try sri lankan dishes here.
I think you should paint the resutarant to make it look more nicer, it was out of shape.
The service was great and staff are very nice but the food wasn't mouth-watering.

We firstly had a frozen chip in the chips we had ordered.
The chicken my cousin was eating smelled like a toilet.
I wasn't sure if the food was clean.

we had 8 people with us and none of them liked the food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food, expensive”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

No beef. My fries were burned. Small dishes. Good service, but very expensive. Better try the coffee and the bakeries at groundfloor.

Helpful?
Thank MagdaMunteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good service, Value for money and they charge Tourists the same as locals. Restuarants in Srilanka particularly in very touristy places like Ella, Dambulla charge different prices for locals and Tourists.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelindia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milano Restaurant also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Milano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing