We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable and Very Homely”
Review of The Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rock Hotel
Ranked #14 of 251 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Comfortable and Very Homely”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very nice place to stay and a very homely atmosphere. Rooms / toilets.....very clean. Went with 27 people booking 7 rooms. The staff were very friendly and accommodating at all times. Quality of food needs a bit of improvement and staff need a bit of training on handling big crowds at a given point. But overall, a very nice place and very affordable, right in the heart of the city. Value for money (accommodation wise) 100%.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r3108f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    57
    36
    23
    9
See reviews for
40
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

A very nice place with fireplaces in the rooms, ancient furniture and polite staff. The chief has kindly agreed to cook the fish which we brought from the market. It was a pleasure being in this hotel and we were rather upset that we've left it next day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Латышева Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is located up in the hills, about 10 minutes car ride from Kandy centre, in the middle of other small hotels and local houses. The room fitted our family, but with all the luggage it got a little crowded. The bathroom was very small and the shower basic. Bed were ok.

The food was ok, local curries and western food were available. The smelly variety of rice that was served to us on the first night was exchanged for something more normal at our request.

The restaurant also had a little bar and lounge area, with darts and other games, which the children enjoyed. Service was among the best we had on our trip, the manager went out of his way to help us with different things and he was always in such a good mood. We really felt at home in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This place is situated up a winding and narrow steep road in the commercial part of Nuwura Eliya. Forget walking up here ...you will need a car !!
Reception is very cramped so much so that more than 2 people with their luggage will fill up the place.
Rooms have more space but the bathrooms bear the brunt of it. Very easy to bump into the glass partition while taking a shower and perhaps break it :)
However they have a spacious bar with a equally spacious balcony attached to it where you could hang out and enjoy your drink / smoke.
Food was average but the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Try the rooms at the extreme end, Ours was number 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir_Ovalekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent two night in Nuwara Eliya during our last trip in Sri Lanka.
We have a positive feedback for this hotel, especially for the friendly and lovely staff.
The room was basic but nice, the variety of the food can be improved.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchLig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice big comfortable rooms and really clean and warm! The food was great and staff were lovely. We left at 5.30am to go to Horton plains and the manager who is a really really nice guy had prepared a take away breakfast for us! So sweet! Also organised a tuk tuk to take us to town in the evening. Really a perfect place to stay! WiFi worked really well too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was in Sri lanka with my family for a lovely vacation.. And it was The most Beautiful city called Nuwara eliya.. And we stayed in ''THE ROCK HOTEL'' it was the dream place for all of us after home from USA. .. Beautiful location with a lovely waterfall from the view from our room and the misty hills.,, Excellent Rooms with Fully carpet ,, Heaters,, TV.. Mini bar.. main Restaurant,, Main bar,, etc,, All in one place in that beautiful small city,, Excellent traditional food.. we loved all of it..The staff so friendly with all the good service with a lovely welcome from the manager as his family.. we loved the warm welcome all in THE ROCK..
I hope to visit the lovely home again... Hope i make it soon.. I recommend ""THE ROCK HOTEL"" for all the Europe people who visit Sri Lanka And Nuwara Eliya. '' HOME SWEET HOME... after YOUR HOME

lOVE AND BEST WISHES FROM

DONALD SMITH,
CHICAGO.

Room Tip: all rooms are good ... choose any.. u love it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
661 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Property: The Rock Hotel
Address: 60 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 251 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in each of the 10 rooms in this popular 3-star hotel. Each room includes in room safe, desk, television. This excellent hotel in Nuwara Eliya also has laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, bicycle rental, car park. Facilities for recreation and leisure available include garden. The hotel blends expert service with state-of-the-art facilities to provide guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing