We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of The Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rock Hotel
Ranked #15 of 248 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This small hotel is cosy and comfortable. It's situated part way up one of the hills from the town centre. The staff are very nice and friendly, the beds ok and the food good. We stayed three nights and would stay there again. A good base from which to visit Hortons Plains National Park and Adams Peak.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    57
    35
    23
    9
See reviews for
40
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I didn't like this place at all. Our room was FULL of flies. There were loads of dead ones on the window sill and the floor. Place also didn't look hoovered. The furniture was supposed to be in a British style but just felt dated.

Breakfast was ok. The usual eggs and omelette. Dinner wasn't great either. The waiter at dinner had no English.

Blasted Michael Jackson late even though we were up early.

Was also more expensive than other places we stayed in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice and comfortable hotel in Nuwara Eliya.
Very personal service as it is a small Bed and breakfast, everybody was super nice.
Dont miss the walk around the lake at the bottom of the hill.
I recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjjj85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

remotely and calmly situatated on the foothills above Nurelia it allows a wonderfull yiew on the town and lake, it is furnished in traditional british style with good luxery and ease. the team is very friendly and supplies an excellent Service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helmut r h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed one night as part of a tour. This place was better than it looked on first sight! The surroundings need tidying up and a lick of paint. Hotel style reception and generally very good service. Spacious room. A proper bar with more than just Lion beer. Breakfast was good: the food at dinner was acceptable, but ordinary. Nice location high above the town, although surrounded by other guest houses, with quite a long, steep walk into the centre. Just lacked the finishing touches (e.g. neglected terrace, windows which would not close) to make it really nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

this hotel exceeded our expectattions. On arrival we were shown a very limited menu and told we had to order dinner for later, The choices were chicken or fish. A short while later we rang down to reception and asked if we could change our order and have a local vegetable curry. The staff were happy to change our order and we enjoyed a lovely meal that evening. Breakfast was fine and we were offered eggs and had toast. There was pelnty of it. The shower was cold however they rectified this. The hotel is dated but in a nice way and i really liked the facilities they had such as tea and coffee makings in the room. Overall a good hotel which i would recommend. beds were clean and staff were very good and attentive

Room Tip: Deluxe had TV and tea and coffee making facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VILLA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The rooms were cosy and big enough for the 2 days we spent at the Rock. The reception staff, particularly Graham, were excellent and friendly, we were made to feel that they would do anything for us to enjoy our stay. However, when we spent the evening in the hotel. We were seated, but we felt that it was all too much to serve us drinks and remember our food we had ordered. One of our party did not receive his main meal until the rest of us had finished and when it arrived it was practically inedible, we had to do a lot of reminding to get what had asked for. Although there was a large party dining before us, there was only our party of four and a family to serve. When the chef served us with no complaint, we got the feeling that there was improvement needed in the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hj_freespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
659 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Property: The Rock Hotel
Address: 60 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in each of the 10 rooms in this popular 3-star hotel. Each room includes in room safe, desk, television. This excellent hotel in Nuwara Eliya also has laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, bicycle rental, car park. Facilities for recreation and leisure available include garden. The hotel blends expert service with state-of-the-art facilities to provide guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing