We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice, but stay away”
Review of Collingwood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Collingwood Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I was probably given their worst room, a tiny space hardly bigger than the bed in the middle of the floor. The room didn't have a clothes cupboard, so I had to keep my open suitcase on the floor all the time, leaving hardly any floor space to walk around the bed and the suitcase.
The bed was cold and damp since no heating was available, The room had a balcony, but the key to open the balcony door was never provided. The only OK things about the room were bright coloring and a spacious bathroom with walls and floor covered with bright blue tiles.

I was the only guest most ot the time (two nights). Breakfast on both mornings had to be ordered twice, first from the totally clueless young trainee, then again from the manager who had some idea of what's available. The vegetable curry served at dinner was cold and made of potatoes and onions only.

The glass-roofed restaurant looks nice, just like the hotel as a whole, so the premises would have a lot more potential if managed better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

A few point to note about this hotel:
1) stayed here as there is no other hotel nearby
2) Smelly carpet
3) So so bathroom
4) Torn bed sheet, blanket and towels, dont think even they wash the sheets
5) Damp feeling in the room, smell musty
6) Unfriendly staffs
7) Expensive room service
8) Were not even given a cup of coffee but our driver was given full meals
9) Tv and most lights didnt work, rooms were dark and depressing

Basic room and bath, not recommended.

Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Christel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: если придется здесь остановится то лучше брать номер не на дорогу, чтоб спать более спокойно
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LUDMILA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fx159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marco279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#24 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hill Town Cottage
The Hill Town Cottage
#8 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Hotel

Address: No. 112 Badulla Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £79 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing