We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Collingwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Collingwood Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in a room overlooking the racecourse and the view was magnificent. Having looked around quite a bit must say this was well worth the money we paid The food was also excellent, the staff were very friendly they also arranged a tour to Horton Plains which was one of the best experiences we had during our stay in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragnild55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    5
    9
    56
See reviews for
15
29
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived in Nuwalla Eliya quite late on a rainy evening after having driven most of the day and most places had already closed their kitchens and bars. The concierge/manager at the Collingwood, named Lucky, was really kind offered to prepare us some dinner and even kept serving us drinks long past their usual close that night. The next morning after breakfast, Lucky organized a car and driver through the hotel to get us to our next destination 5 hours away. This turned out to be the best driver we had throughout our Sri Lanka trip. Friendly, knowledgeable and very patient, even when we ran away from the van to dive into a mountain waterfall for an hour!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurisu278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed two nights here. The best thing about this hotel is the location, very close to the city centre and most if the tourist attractions. Also enjoyed the great food served in their restaurant, the grilled chicken they served was awesome. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had a balcony with great view overlooking the racecourse and lake.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here because we could not find any other in our budget.
The rooms are OK, hot water is just.
I would not waste my time eating here, go elsewhere.
The chef wore the same dirty tunic day after day.
Use it purely a place to put your head down.
Fly's everywhere in the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

So my friend ,myself and our driver checked into this hotel one night not too long ago. We arrived at nurawella Elia at night due to the lack of street lights in Sri Lanka especially in this mountainous regions we did not get much chance to explore any other hotels other than this and another 3 that's not too far from this hotel. During check in, we were promised hot water and wifi, much to our dismay a lot was just fake. When we sent to our rooms we were greeted with a stale and stagnant smell' almost humid as though the room has not been ventilated for a really long time almost like the previous we're 10 cats who stayed there for months. Wifi was not good and only available on the first floor , not much problem there. We found that we had no towels , so I called room service and asked for 2 to be sent. I waited for almost 40 mins and nothing was done and sent, so I went down and asked for it personally. There was no hot water at all at night At night and in the morning even when we were told there is. The dinner we had was nothing, spectacular. U can get cheaper and better ones elsewhere. The top of the bunch was when we were checking out. While going through the receipt, I saw 2 things. 1st Driver breakfast , the manager wanted to charge me for our drivers breakfast. Our driver has not had breakfast yet and we already planned to go somewhere else and have it. After being told he cleared it, he tried to pull a fast one. Than there was a 10 %service charge. What service..? I asked and he Answered normal service. He was charging me for no hot water me going down for wifi and me going down to get our own towels After waiting for almost 40 mins, a stale and stinky room smell. That is service charge to him. I have stayed at guest houses in Sri Lanka during my 8 day trip that offered better service and facilities than this lousy place. Avoid and come earlier to find a better place..

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Suffian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The hotel is in need of maintenance.
We paid to get our laundry done on the first day of our 3 days at this hotel. They said that the laundary will be returned the next day. When we didnt get out clothes the follwoing day we inquired. He said that they had not dried yet and that it will be returned the next morning.
But we requested that they be returned by 7am, as we wanted to leave the hotel at 8am.
But the clothes were nto returned till about 9:30, and when it was finally returned they were still soaking wet. I realise that they dont use dryers, and normally put out the clothes on tea hedges to try and hope for the weather to do its bit. And Sri Lanka being humid, and Nuwara Eliya being the most humid place, I assume it would be hard to dry. But at the end of the day, we pay for a service, and if they say it will be ready.. then it should be ready. And we did pay a premium for the service too..

I've also stayed at Hotel Alpine down the road, which is much better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chadsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

We paid the room with a 5000 Rp bill - two minutes later the manager claimed that he had not received any money from us and wanted another 5000 .... Incredible!! Be EXTRA carefull at that place.

G. + U. from Cologne/Germany

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 54ernesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#22 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#21 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#12 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Hotel

Property: Collingwood Hotel
Address: No. 112 Badulla Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Collingwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing