We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!!”
Review of Avian Breeze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avian Breeze
Ranked #15 of 243 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
“Enjoyed our stay!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was very comfortable. When we first arrived we were delightfully greeted with a towel to freshen up and a hot cup of tea. During our stay, we had many friendly conversations with the staff.
The food was not only incredibly delicious, but also beautifully presented. We were asked if we would like a traditional Sri Lankan meal for our last night of stay and we gladly accepted. The chef came out to meet us and to see how we liked the food during our last dinner there which was very nice of him. On our second and final day, we couldn't have breakfast because we had to be on the road for 6 a.m. to go on a safari, so they prepared special lunches to take with us. They also made sure we had a nice cup of tea before hitting the road.
Our room was clean and a good size for the three of us. The only thing that we didn't like was the small shower and the water pressure for the shower.
Overall, I would highly recommend this place for your stay in the area. The view from the hill is amazing, the gardens are beautiful, and the staff were genuinely interested in taking care of us. Thank you, Avian Breeze, for a very pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geotrekkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    71
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
62
108
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel is a 3 to 4 km away from the town whicj\h is perfect if you have transport.

The food option in the evening is limited to two choices of set menu(1700 rps) which was ok. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.

We had a perfect room for two adults and two children.The cot for our 17 month old was an excellent travel cot.

The people running the hotel are all young lads who have varying English skills but enough for any traveller to converse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night. The food was average and the room was cold during the night. The staffs were very helpful and took good care of our naughty son. Although they were polite and friendly, they need more training to handle guests.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellerIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Warm reception, hot towels and drinks were offered which was a pleasant surprise after a bumpy ride on a (in progress) road coming from Kandy. Very large room/small bathroom, squeaky bed and creaky wooden floors. Owing to the old style era that building hails from (ex prime ministers summer house) the wooden floors were creaky and the staff should be given slippers. May seem a trivial point but it will wear you down.

Food was good although didn't turn up at the same time which again may be a trivial point but small things like that equal good service. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. They even seemed like they new that their shoes were annoying as they looked like they were creeping around.

Location was not good. Too far to walk into town. A car/bike etc would be easier. A little tip - when coming from the lowlands, this town at around 6000ft does get chilly.

Value for money - personally thought it was slightly overpriced. However due to this town being an old British styled town prices seemed to be slightly higher.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamCW92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place was very average in our opinion. Rooms were old, bed was not comfortable, had to move rooms twice, food was bland, location was inconvenient. BUT THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND DID THEIR BEST! We were especially impressed with Kasun from the front desk. He was extremely professional and went out of this way to service us. Thanks, Kasun!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ, France
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Thank you very much.Everything is fine.Wish you all the best for everyone for this hotel.Eveything is fine.We sleep well.We eat well.Here are good resturant and delicious food and excellent service.Very good rooms and nice place in the middle of city.We spent our time nicely

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is quite an old building having belonged to the first Prime Minister of Sri Lanka. The room was small, but comfortable. I would describe the standard as budget in the room.
We found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. The manager printed out my boarding passes for me at no cost. They were not fazed by us arriving late after a long drive.
The restaurant was very good. A fixed menu was served for dinner with mainly Western dishes but they were well prepared. Lunch was a la carte and excellent local dishes. We ordered 3 veg curries and rice and they gave us 6 different ones! All delicious and introduced us to things we hadn't tried before.
The hotel is a long way from town, but it is pleasant to walk along the road near the hotel and look at the activity in the vegetable gardens which abound.
The only downside was that our room was not serviced at all during our 2 night stay. We don't mind using the towels for 2 days, but sweeping the floors, taking out the rubbish and making the bed would have been welcome.

Room Tip: The Rose Room is worth requesting as it opens from the garden. All other rooms in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
3.4 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,494 reviews
4.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#13 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,519 reviews
2.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
807 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#22 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avian Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avian Breeze

Property: Avian Breeze
Address: Badulla Road | Katumana, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avian Breeze 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take on the world and embrace the charm and inspiration afforded to you at the Avian Breeze. The ideal holiday destination for generations of Sri Lankans. Follow their footsteps as you take in the beauty that Nuwara Eliya has to offer, and seek the solace and solitude that is endowed within the walls of Avian Breeze.Situated in the tranquil and lush surroundings of our evergreen Hillsides, the Garden of Eden has a new name – Avian Breeze! Relax, revive and rejuvenate. Everyone needs a break, so why don’t you take yours in premier style? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avian Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing