We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Araliya Green City(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glendower Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Windsor Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenfall Inn(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hill Town Cottage(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hill Club(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
2
7
11
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
7
11
14
15
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Horrible place because of the sheer greediness of the management. Were quoted 2200 for room when called but on arrival it became 5000. Too tired to find anywhere else the only plus was the hot water. Food dreadful. Manager had a loud argument with a couple over their room rate which had been written and signed by them on registration card but changed by management. He was still haranguing the young woman when l went to bed and l woke at six to hear it starting again.
When l wanted curry and rice they wouldnt do it for one person! Too hard!
My driver was treated like rubbish and there was no water for his toilet!
Presented with bill after atrocious dinner-blank face when l said my food was awful-and expected to pay immediately! But no change madame and they stiffed me 20 rupees even then.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynS1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

When the manager has to get a brick from outside to bang a couple of nails back in to make sure the lock on the door actually works I think it's fair to say the place has been neglected!
Great location it just needs a bit of work. We turned up without a booking in NE and hence ended up here. I guess the moral of the story is book somewhere good in advance if you don't want to end up in a place like this....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Pros - relatively cheap and close to town. Food is offered although we didn't try it. Nice view over park.

Cons - The room was quite basic (e.g. bare bulb for light, lots of squashed flies on the walls), the bed sheets were dirty and clearly unchanged (fresh stains on sheets), the window in the bathroom wouldn't shut properly allowing lots of flies in and the communal area was fairly basic and uninspiring.

The manager, although friendly and chatty, was telling us his schemes of how he over-charges other tourists which left us very wary.

We only stayed one night before moving elsewhere (infinitely nicer guesthouse for only a fraction more cost). I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This place was quite basic but with a good location close to the centre but not right in it. But it was Gerald who really made this place for us. He took the time and effort to get to know us and even took us to a Macwoods tea plantation. He always made sure we were comfortable. In Nuwara Eliya you have to pay a lot of money to get somewhere really nice to stay but this is a good option for those on budget.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annahutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was the cheapest place we managed to find in Nuwara Eliya (granted, we only looked at the Lonely Planet). It was off-season, the place was empty so we bargained him down to 1300 Rs. The room was small, and had no mosquito net. Bathroom was ok, with hot water in the shower. the window overlooked Victoria Park, which was pleasant. The owner seemed pleasant enough, although he "rented out his bicycles" upon our request for 1000 Rs/day, where really he just drove us down to a bike rental place by the lake which charges 100Rs/hour, so it was a tiny bit of a rip-off.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews