We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money in classy digs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Inn
Ranked #155 of 216 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money in classy digs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was a great place to stay in Nuwara Eliya and possibly the best sleep I had in all of Sri Lanka.
It may not be suitable for solo travelers as it is a little expensive for double rooms ONLY, but if you can afford it then it's worth it as the service was almost faultless and the clean rooms and peaceful setting make this place very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielsnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    9
    14
    15
See reviews for
2
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Cute place, a bit dirty (the shared bathroom especially), the staff seemed to try really hard but there was a large cultural barrier. Examples include catching us right before a shower to ask for payment before staying, or serving us spaghetti with garlic as 'spaghetti cabonara'. The wifi is dismal and there are heaps of mossies. The staff did try really hard though, I just think they are more used to local guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ENWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

i would like to say something good about this place but i couldnt find anything but location. just to good thing is close to city and quiet place.
lack of management. the internet was cut off just because they didnt pay the bill !! the manager said they will fix it soon but it is obvious you cant activate it again in same day.
i stayed many guest houses and hostels many different countries but first time i had to pay extra because they didnt have change. when i was checking out i asked my change from mty check in 200rp manager just gave me 150 rp, said no change take this and immediately he run away.
unbelievable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tembelinsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Horrible place because of the sheer greediness of the management. Were quoted 2200 for room when called but on arrival it became 5000. Too tired to find anywhere else the only plus was the hot water. Food dreadful. Manager had a loud argument with a couple over their room rate which had been written and signed by them on registration card but changed by management. He was still haranguing the young woman when l went to bed and l woke at six to hear it starting again.
When l wanted curry and rice they wouldnt do it for one person! Too hard!
My driver was treated like rubbish and there was no water for his toilet!
Presented with bill after atrocious dinner-blank face when l said my food was awful-and expected to pay immediately! But no change madame and they stiffed me 20 rupees even then.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobynS1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

When the manager has to get a brick from outside to bang a couple of nails back in to make sure the lock on the door actually works I think it's fair to say the place has been neglected!
Great location it just needs a bit of work. We turned up without a booking in NE and hence ended up here. I guess the moral of the story is book somewhere good in advance if you don't want to end up in a place like this....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Pros - relatively cheap and close to town. Food is offered although we didn't try it. Nice view over park.

Cons - The room was quite basic (e.g. bare bulb for light, lots of squashed flies on the walls), the bed sheets were dirty and clearly unchanged (fresh stains on sheets), the window in the bathroom wouldn't shut properly allowing lots of flies in and the communal area was fairly basic and uninspiring.

The manager, although friendly and chatty, was telling us his schemes of how he over-charges other tourists which left us very wary.

We only stayed one night before moving elsewhere (infinitely nicer guesthouse for only a fraction more cost). I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This place was quite basic but with a good location close to the centre but not right in it. But it was Gerald who really made this place for us. He took the time and effort to get to know us and even took us to a Macwoods tea plantation. He always made sure we were comfortable. In Nuwara Eliya you have to pay a lot of money to get somewhere really nice to stay but this is a good option for those on budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annahutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Tour Inn
New Tour Inn
#133 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park View Guest House
Park View Guest House
#68 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#6 of 163 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Wing Inn
Blue Wing Inn
#13 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#18 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Property: Victoria Inn
Address: 15 Park Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing