We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“even if this is the last room availability in nuwara eliya ,, fine i want stay hear again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Log Nuwara Eliya
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“even if this is the last room availability in nuwara eliya ,, fine i want stay hear again”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

we were there for four days and it was a terrible experience i ever had in this caliber of hotel ,,,,,when i walked in the hotel 1st time ,, it was well arranged ,, place & room ,,,, but later there were several things we faced witch was not even meets the basic requirements of a traveler
The bath room was with a broken commode cover where we faced a real difficulty to use it and even been informed witch was never fixed ,,,,in the room there were only 2 lights & we had to managed with one only ,, since the other one was not working and been not fixed even been informed ,,,for the all three nights we stayed @ the Log the bed linen and the towels been not changed even we requested ,,,,,,at the restaurant its offer a nicely printed & well spread food menu ,,,but what a unfortunate ,,, out of the 1001 verities in the menu we were asked to choose only 3 items for all 8 meals we had ,,,at the last night it was pretty cold ( around 10 dig. ) and requested for a heater ,,the answer i had was the log doesn't have even a one heater and we had to enjoyed a cool night sleepless party ,,at the last morning the hotel was full with help less visitors and no hot water in the bath room even for a quick shower ,,,, and had to await for more than 40 min. for a cup of tea and the excuse they ask was the the Log doesn't have enough stock of milk powder even for a two cup of teas
Only creditable thing the The log have is very friendly and helpful staff ,,, where they tray to support us and,, they couldn't since the enough facilities were not given to them to comfort the guests of The Log.
hope and pray that no one will face this type of disorganized hospitality experience

Room Tip: better not to select this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saliya127, Public Relations Manager at The Log Nuwara Eliya, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Valued guest,
Thanks for your comments about the Hotel. We have noticed that service slandered was not fulfilled as necessary way. please accept our sincere apology for this.
We wish to inform you that as of January 2014 owning Company took over the operation and now stream line all the sections and immediate remedial action would be taken.
We we are on progress of development activities.
all your comments will helps us to improve the service slandered for all the future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    9
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I was taken in by some reviews and pictures of this rickety shack that seems to pass off as a log cabin overlooking a lake in Nuwara Eliya. The truth is far from it. My friend who is a six footer and I had great difficulty climbing up a stack of bamboo stairs that winds into a shack made of bamboo logs. Inside the musty smell and dark atmosphere gives one the creeps. It appears unused for a long time. We didn't give it a second thought. Off we went while the caretaker demanded cancellation fee. Definitely not for elderly and female guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalterSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Positives

True to its name, the room was made of 'logs' and so the place had a forest cottage feel to it. The place is very close to the entrance to Lake Gregory park. There was heated mattress (the temparature of which can be adjusted electronically) which added to the coziness, especially on a rainy and cold night. The $40 price tag per night for double accommodation is appealing. However please read the negatives before you take a final call.

Negatives

From the description on travel websites, I got impression that 'The Log' is a hotel, but actually the place is more of a homestay. The approach road from the highway to 'The Log' is too narrow and slippery during rains and there is a steep incline. Be very careful with low clearance vehicles with full load, as the bottom of car could hit the road. The parking in front of the building is cramped and can accommodate only 3 cars. Taking reverse is indeed a herculian effort.

The in house dining options are limited. During our second day, the kitchen was closed at 7:30 p.m. and we had to scout for another restaurant nearby. Doing that on a cold night is a pain. Moreover there are not many great options in a walking distance.

In the room there was a TV, but not working (the housekeepers told that it is an exception). And towel/soap was missing from the bathroom. Luckily we had backup.

Also the biggest negative is that they dont accept credit cards at time of check out; but booking.com asks for credit card info at time of reservation. So carry enough local currency with you.

Summary

If you are looking for a cozy room to stay at night and will be spending most of your time outdoors in Nuwara Eliya, The Log could be the option for you.

Room Tip: Ask directions to the hotel well in advance. It is very easy to miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanuja I, Public Relations Manager at The Log Nuwara Eliya, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jkoshi,
Thank you for commenting about the The Log, Nuwara Eliya.
It's good to see good positive comment of yours and I would like to inform you that the new management has taken the operation in January 2014. The most of your issues will be sorted out now and we have all amenities in the rooms now. We allocated separate staff to take care about the guest and our kitchen is functioning 24 hours and room service as well.
In this year we have done many refurbishments and opened some rooms and honeymoon rooms too. If you visit again you will see the difference now in The Log, Nuwara Eliya,
Thank you and hope to see you again in our hotel.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
653 reviews
2.3 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#2 of 244 in Nuwara Eliya
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heidi's Home
Heidi's Home
#5 of 244 in Nuwara Eliya
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Comfort Bungalow
Lake View Comfort Bungalow
#77 of 244 in Nuwara Eliya
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
China Garden
China Garden
#72 of 196 in Nuwara Eliya
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#23 of 244 in Nuwara Eliya
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Log Nuwara Eliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log Nuwara Eliya

Property: The Log Nuwara Eliya
Address: 1st Lane, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Log Nuwara Eliya 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Log Nuwara Eliya is unique, styled and modern luxury Chalet in a breath taking location overlooking Lake Gregory, The most spectacular Lake, Simply Located in the heart of Nuwara Eliya. it has 3 double bedrooms and one attic room and one triple room. all with attached bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Log Nuwara Eliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing