We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed”
Review of Lourdes Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lourdes Inn Hotel
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Orsom place to stay really worth for money hospitality is superb manager is a tremendus person who helped us a lot really satisfied please drop here and go sorrounding is so greeny food was orsom rooms were so comfortable

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank rajivsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    13
    8
    9
See reviews for
20
29
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After many days of arriving at hotels only to find grimy mosquito-filled unpleasantry, the Lourdes Inn was a huge relief. Everything was super clean, it was in a neighborhood on the top of a hill nested in the mountains. The food was delicious and fresh. Be sure to tell them you want local breakfast or American breakfast, otherwise-if you look foreign at all-they will give you American breakfast, which is good but not why we traveled to another country. We were awakened by a 6am procession of some kind with drums and horns and walked out into the early morning sunrise. Do not sleep in if you stay here you will miss it; it's majestic. Service was perfection. And the wifi was reliable, free, and fast!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms overlook the backyard which opens out from their garden to fields of lush g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

a lovely house, a great view from dinning room but absolutely no water pressure , so you feel like to pray for rain and run outside to have shower ;-)
liked the idea of choosing my meal from different menu options, looked good on a picture, even better on a plate, and tasted great
great to have a warm blanket, nights were cold

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slasha187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

First of all, my disclaimer: I did not book this hotel, it was booked as part of a total package trip that I requested with an independent vendor. Consequently, I did not have to find my way here..so I cannot really address the location from an accessibility perspective if you are trying to get around on your own. You may see this opening sentence in ALL of my hotel reivews for this trip.
Secondly, my trip was extensive, exhilarating, but at times exhausting, and to look at any place and review it from the perspective of "I'm so tired, almost anywhere will do" may not be fair, but at least I am honest.
Thirdly...Bottom line: STAY HERE!!!
The room was a good size. Unlike some other places there was a phone so you could call to the front desk if you want. The views out of my room were wonderful, yet soothing (same view as in the restuarant) there is wifi in the lobby and restuarant (it is common, I think, NOT to have wifi in the room most places), and when you walk out the front just a few short steps away you can see the tea plantation and if you are there are the right time....tea harvesters. There are also a few canines and bovines around, just to remind you that you are in the country!!
The food was was very tasty, and the staff was so accomodating placing my sodas in the fridge for me "for later".

Room Tip: It is wonderful to have a room on the entrance level. You will still have to go DOWN to the restuar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBWgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We ende up staying here as the "hotel" we were meant to be staying in closer to town was awful. This place was a delight - the staff were so welcoming and since we were the only people staying (it was low season) we were able to treat this as a second home - watching DVDs in the lounge when it rained, for example. It is on a hilltop away from the bustle of the town and very quiet and peaceful. If you turn right at the end of the lane, you can walk through the lovely tea plantations and past a local village. The sunset is stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little outside of Nuwara Eliya. It has nice, clean rooms and also the bathroom is very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. If you don't mind staying a little outside of Nuwaea Eliya, you should definitely go here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LianM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Camellia Hotel
Grand Camellia Hotel
#58 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
China Garden
China Garden
#70 of 193 in Nuwara Eliya
16 reviews
1.2 mi away
Binota Hotel
Binota Hotel
#63 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Horton Towers and Cottages
Horton Towers and Cottages
#3 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Tea Fields
Villa Tea Fields
#3 of 193 in Nuwara Eliya
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#21 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lourdes Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lourdes Inn Hotel

Property: Lourdes Inn Hotel
Address: 20/4 3 Rd Lane | Magastota, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 193 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lourdes Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lourdes Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing