We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat but not great”
Review of Pello Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pello Lake Resort
Ranked #116 of 272 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2013

It is a clean hotel with great warm showers, good beds with blankets (very rare in Sri Lanka) and the staf is ok. The location is exactly wrong as you are not in Nuwara Eliya, and neither in the Tea country and need a tuktuk to go anywher, there is no terrace or any other possibility to sit out side, so you are confined to your room, that was comfortable, though a bit cold and dark. Food the same as the rest: not Sri Lanka not Western but a bit tasteless in between....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

Modest hotel, comfortably appointed, mixture of styles but all well maintained. Restaurant rather lacking in atmosphere.

Well run friendly very helpful staff who will do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

No real views but the fields surrounding are interesting to watch the local farmers. You can see the lake from the front rooms of the hotel.

Although they provide blankets you need more to keep you warm . Never realised how cold Nuwara Eliya is at night. Hot water you must turn on the heater outside the bathroom door. The joy of hot water was very welcome.

The top floor also has a lounge area where you can all get together chat and if you want they will serve food there as well as in the restaurant. Only had Sri Lankan food which was excellent and the waiter is a cheerful man who goes out of his way to look after you and see to your every need. They will go and get alcohol for you if you want it or bring your own.

Would not go back to Nuwara Eliya, its just too cold

Room Tip: All rooms are good, ones at the front have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I was very dissapointed first with there over the phone booking service. I made the booking 1 month before and confirmed again and again but once I reached the hotel they said I have no booking! What has happened was their previous manager has left the place!!!
But the present owner is very nice and arranged and appologised for the inconvenience.
Room was too small. Had clean linen. Hot water was perfect. Bathroom was clean. They provided a room heater for additional small payment.
Food was tereble and was not warm. In a cold weather they should have developed a mechanism to keep food warm at least. We had to go outside for lunch.
in summary, a clean little place. Confirm your booking beore you go. Best to book on BB.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamila75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Foreword: I reserve the 5 stars for the absolute best.

Three days after I landed in Sri Lanka, I understood what their hospitality is about after I entered this hotel. We were wandering around in the night, looking for a place, and were welcomed by the traditional "Ayu Bowan" by one of their helpful staff when we entered.

The manager Chaminda was a very nice man, who proved to us that Sri Lankan hospitality is second to none. There's this staff named Sandaruwan, who was the one to originally welcome us into the hotel the previous night, and he provided us with a warm cup of delicious Ceylon tea after we checked in. This was done without us having asked for it, and because it was extremely cold outside. And then there's Sanjay, who always have a smile on his face, and awaits an opportunity to serve the guests.

The hotel is close to the lake, and on the other side of the lake, you could get tuk tuks if you need to go into the town.

The rooms were great value for money. I did really wish the geyser could dispense some more hot water as the water started becoming cold in about 10 minutes or so (it dispensed enough hot water to take a shower though, but the weather was way too cold and the geyser did its best).

There was some repairing work going on in the noon when I tried to sleep, but I am sure that would have been stopped if I asked Chaminda to do so. There may have been some other minor glitches here or there, but none of that honestly matters. I'll come here for the hospitality. They make you feel at home through the entire stay.

Your mileage may vary, but if I ever come to Nuwara Eliya, I'll have my driver get me straight to this place. Among a lot of other highly commercialised 'guest houses' and hotels, I'd say that these guys are fabulous and deserve your stay more so than others.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bigger shower areas than other. Ask them to show you a few rooms before you decide o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W-Clyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

we were the only guests (at least it seemed so), but the staff was very kind and helpful. Since it was pretty cold outside, we were offered additional blanket and heater without asking. There were 2 bottles of water in room, kettle, some teabags and coffee. Hotel also offered shampoo and shower gel, which was missing in previous hotels we stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristaps B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

From good review of trip adviser book hotel for one night triple bed room
It was foul smelling / no ventilation no fan bed are terrible bathroom after 20 minute of gieser on you can have bath for 5 minute
For room service phone not working
Tv only 5 Chanel of local language
Food no veg food after request prepared it but you can not eat it was terrible , when ask for curd s to eat our home food with curd they replied 45 minutes waiting
Overall if you would like to punish somebody send them to this hotel not in jail

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a29101966a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This a star class hotel with a homely enviroent It is a fantastic place. Very clean, staff friendly, great food and reasonable price. This hotel as 9 rooms and a restaurant. Only missing is a bar, but others items what the guest expected is avialable

Room Tip: Choose top floor rooms for a good view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChamiGalle_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,686 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
256 reviews
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#27 of 272 in Nuwara Eliya
156 reviews
1.6 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pello Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pello Lake Resort

Address: No 197/16 Upper Lake Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Pello Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing