We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite adequate”
Review of Pello Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pello Lake Resort
Ranked #76 of 233 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Quite adequate”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is not a top end tourist hotel but is more than adequate for a short stay. The staff were friendly and most helpful.
The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The meals were pretty good and the soup delicious. Also had WiFi so that was very handy...
Surrounding area is pretty rural but the lake (Gregory Lake) is close by. The one downside is that the town of Nuwara Eliya is quite far away, but maybe that's a good thing as the town looked to be pretty busy and certainly noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
23
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Excellent service they provided to us.The location was good near by lake.The staff was small but all of them were friendly.We stayed here one night.The room was very clean and comfortable.The bathroom also same like room.Thanks for everyone who works there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoshi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a tour organiser book this hotel for us, and it was a last minute change. They sent us the hotel website which I'd glanced at, but had not looked it up on tripadvisor. Had I done so, I wouldn't have been so taken aback when we rolled up their muddy driveway. Their website is completely misleading and that's not right. That alone wouldn't be so bad if they had been prepared for us. After a bit of uncertain awkwardness during check-in in the sitting room on the ground floor, we went to our rooms to find no towels, which did not arrive till much later, and it looked like we were the only guests at the time. This was because of a laundry error, later explained to us by the most apologetic management, and we felt a bit bad later for they did try to make it up to us with some rather delicious fried bananas at night. The guest house is a little far from town, with no real dining options nearby, and the guest house offered for dinner was really not worth trying. Breakfast, on the other hand, was one of the better ones we had in Sri Lanka - their dosa was really very good.The rooms are quite basic, but the showers were nice and strong and the water hot which you need with the cooler temperatures. We only stayed one night. I've given Pello Lake an average rating to give them the benefit of the doubt that they're just experiencing some teething problems (new management), but it's a little like staying in someone's house and they don't quite know what to do with you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

It's a small hotel located closer to Gregory Lake, with a very nice owner and an excellent staff. We stayed there for one night and had a delicious dinner and breakfast. There was a very small staff. But the manager Mr. Neel is friendly and supportive. The staff, Ragu and Ravi are extremely hospitable and provided an excellent room service. Hanth's and Prasad's food was very delicious.

There were water bottles, tea and coffee bags and a water kettle provided in the room and shampoo, shower cap and enough soap in the bathroom. The only issue was with hot water in the morning and they offered to use another bathroom immediately. The hotel needs renovation since it's moldy and the paint is wearing out.

However, we were contented with the excellent service of the hotel during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSapphireLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Nice guest house with great services.We stayed 2 nights at Pello Lake which was was one of the best stayed places in Sri Lanka. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The owner/ Manager Mr.Neel is extremely helpful and friendly. He always checked our needs through out our stay and organized a taxi to go to Horten planes at reasonable price for us. Food was amazing. Very clean rooms. I highly recommend this place and definitely chose to stay here if i happen to visit Sri Lanka again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Lovely hotel, lovely staff and great location in Nuwara Eliya -Sri Lanka. Rooms lovely and airy and clean. Would definitely stay again.nice room services and all staff.delicious Sri Lankan food. Great for couples families and business stays.
Thanks guys keep it up

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indunil111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights there on our holiday tour in Sri lanka. Staff were extremely friendly and food was excellent. Clean and tidy rooms with nice view of lake Gregory. The owner/Manager of the hotel was very nice person and arrange a b'fast for us and organized a tuk tuk to go to Horton plains. Really a perfect place to stay!!

Stayed as a couple.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Albany
Albany
#13 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliaya
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliay...
#154 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
#30 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Binota Hotel
Binota Hotel
#45 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.7 mi away
China Garden
China Garden
#69 of 185 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Crest Residency
Hill Crest Residency
#97 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pello Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pello Lake Resort

Property: Pello Lake Resort
Address: No 197/16 Upper Lake Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Pello Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing