We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“couldn't have been more helpful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pello Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pello Lake Resort
Ranked #70 of 206 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Limerzel, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“couldn't have been more helpful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our way up to Kandy. One of our party was handicapped (wheelchair) and we had had some difficult times in Sri Lanka, but the manager and staff at Pello Lake did everything they could to accommodate us - we even had our own dining area set up on the ground floor. Value for money was also excellent: the manager reduced our hotel fees and the cost of meals (which were very good). And for once we had free wifi access.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterrigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
22
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

To break our lengthy trip from Ella to Colombo, we had to choose a B&B in Nuwara eliya and this place was recommended to us by an ex-staff. I usually check Trip advisor reviews before-hand but since I only had very short time, I decided to give a try as staying in nuwara-eliya was not part of our plan.

My positive experience:
- The hotel is situated just behind Gregory lake
- Staff were indeed polite and take every effort you feel that way.
- Breakfast options were Western or Sri Lankan, so we chose to have Sri Lankan - Coconut rotti, Chicken curry and Sambol and they tasted absolutely fantastic, specially the Rotti being very tender.

Negative ones :
- This is not a "Resort" as what the name claims.
- Rooms are very dated. Room given to us had telephone but no line.
- A 14" box tv (takes me to childhood days) that has no cable channels but local ones with bad reception.
- Pigeons tampering on roof. Not a major issue but could be inconvenience to those who are sensitive to noise while sleeping.
- High B&B rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
437 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff is very polite and try their best to make your stay good, but the hotel itself is lacking. Beginning with (lack of) water pressure in the shower, a toilet that wouldn't flush, lack of any climate control other than opening a window and finally electrical outlets that won't accept adapters except those specifically made for Sri Lanka (every other hotel I stayed in a week had at least one universal plug, or at least a British plug in the room). Don't know how the temperature can be controlled, but the other modifications should be relatively minor fixes. They try, but need to try harder.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWtraveler213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is not a top end tourist hotel but is more than adequate for a short stay. The staff were friendly and most helpful.
The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The meals were pretty good and the soup delicious. Also had WiFi so that was very handy...
Surrounding area is pretty rural but the lake (Gregory Lake) is close by. The one downside is that the town of Nuwara Eliya is quite far away, but maybe that's a good thing as the town looked to be pretty busy and certainly noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Excellent service they provided to us.The location was good near by lake.The staff was small but all of them were friendly.We stayed here one night.The room was very clean and comfortable.The bathroom also same like room.Thanks for everyone who works there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoshi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a tour organiser book this hotel for us, and it was a last minute change. They sent us the hotel website which I'd glanced at, but had not looked it up on tripadvisor. Had I done so, I wouldn't have been so taken aback when we rolled up their muddy driveway. Their website is completely misleading and that's not right. That alone wouldn't be so bad if they had been prepared for us. After a bit of uncertain awkwardness during check-in in the sitting room on the ground floor, we went to our rooms to find no towels, which did not arrive till much later, and it looked like we were the only guests at the time. This was because of a laundry error, later explained to us by the most apologetic management, and we felt a bit bad later for they did try to make it up to us with some rather delicious fried bananas at night. The guest house is a little far from town, with no real dining options nearby, and the guest house offered for dinner was really not worth trying. Breakfast, on the other hand, was one of the better ones we had in Sri Lanka - their dosa was really very good.The rooms are quite basic, but the showers were nice and strong and the water hot which you need with the cooler temperatures. We only stayed one night. I've given Pello Lake an average rating to give them the benefit of the doubt that they're just experiencing some teething problems (new management), but it's a little like staying in someone's house and they don't quite know what to do with you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

It's a small hotel located closer to Gregory Lake, with a very nice owner and an excellent staff. We stayed there for one night and had a delicious dinner and breakfast. There was a very small staff. But the manager Mr. Neel is friendly and supportive. The staff, Ragu and Ravi are extremely hospitable and provided an excellent room service. Hanth's and Prasad's food was very delicious.

There were water bottles, tea and coffee bags and a water kettle provided in the room and shampoo, shower cap and enough soap in the bathroom. The only issue was with hot water in the morning and they offered to use another bathroom immediately. The hotel needs renovation since it's moldy and the paint is wearing out.

However, we were contented with the excellent service of the hotel during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSapphireLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
#28 of 206 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
House of Leisure
House of Leisure
#9 of 134 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Winkfield Hotel
Winkfield Hotel
#40 of 206 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliaya
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliay...
#146 of 206 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gregory Lake Holiday Home
Gregory Lake Holiday Home
#11 of 134 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lourdes Inn Hotel
Lourdes Inn Hotel
#30 of 134 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pello Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pello Lake Resort

Property: Pello Lake Resort
Address: No 197/16 Upper Lake Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pello Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing