We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, but very quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Midky Hotel
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, but very quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I think we were the only guests staying and they must have upgraded us to the honeymoon suite (the room matched the description on their flyer). The room was very clean, modern and comfortable. The glass wall on the bathroom was a bit odd - would prefer normal wall!
Very friendly and attentive staff provide service with a smile.
Forgot to turn on water heater before shower - so it was cold - my fault they did tell me how to use it!
We ate in in the evening, but the food was not very nice (as they were quiet maybe the chef wasn't in?). Breakfast was nice with the usual delicious Sri Lankan fruit and choice of eggs plus bacon and sausages.
Not great value (once you include the government tax), and I thought on the whole Nuwara Eliya accommodation options were overpriced - I'd recommend carrying on for a few hours to Ella which is really nice. In particular the Waterfalls Guesthouse!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    82
    41
    11
    14
See reviews for
64
91
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed in Midky hotel for 4 nights with another couple of my friends. before I booked this hotel I checked the Tripadvisor reviews and I was a bit concerned about some reviews, we booked it anyway because my husband liked the look of it. I am very pleased to say my stay was fantastic! I mean it was great value for money. I need to make a point to guests who are visiting here, if you don't know how to use any equipment always call the staff - they are very helpful. In some reviews I saw they have mentioned an oven in the room, its actually a romantic electric fire place! I am sure those guests did not know how to use it maybe it was the same issue with the hot water? We stayed in two rooms and when we checked in one of the front office staff came and explained how to use the fire place and hot water, I didn't remember how to use it and when I opened the tap it was so cold, its my fault really turns out I opened the cold water valve, so I phoned them and they came and explained it again. The staff are so lovely, very friendly service. However, the alarm clock in our room was not working and I think if they planted more flowers in the garden it would be nicer.

The Sri Lankan food was great, and everyone enjoyed the English Breakfast.

I hope this helps any other guests who are thinking of going to Midky!

Room Tip: Room 102 has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel invested money and time to improve this place. The staff is trying hard to please. The room and bed are ok and the electric oven is a nice and necessary touch. Nice but not breath taking view over the valley and surrounding hills.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the water is lukewarm at best. By reducing the cold water inflow into the small water heater, it is possible to somewhat increase the water temperature. The biggest issue is however the mold in the shower (not uncommon in Sri Lankan hotels given the humidity). Much worse is the mold in our actual bedroom behind the curtains. Not surprising when one notices how close the outside earthwall is (the hotel was built into a hill). The mold is due to some design mistake. Overall the room felt damp and humid despite the electric oven (which however made it bearable). The hotel is also clearly overpriced (at over USD 90 per night for a double room and breakfast). The breakfast is served in a nice setting with view of the valley. The food in itself is very basic and does not reflect the price paid.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Hotel price very high ,No standard compare with the hotel price and rating.On agoda 3 star class hotel but no 3 star standard compare with rates and facilities .i think better to give proper star.If not travelers think wrong image and after departure they are making negative reviews.this is not negative image about midky.

Room Tip: Very expensive compare with hotel facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamad_F181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

The hotel has a good view of tea plantations but very noisy place, because of hotel located near the main road. We were the only people staying in the hotel. We informed the hotel as soon as we checked in that there was no hot water service in the room. After six hours and numerous follow-up calls we finally got some warm water for a shower. You could stay at much better hotels at the same price. It was a very disappointing experience (Poor service, poor staff attention and poor communication). Before spent money think about hotel standard and competitive hotels in this area.

Room Tip: Noisy place near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjula Wic W, Manager at Midky Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you very much for making all your responses with regard to your stay at Midky Hotel. On that particular day, we had faced an unexpected technical issue in our hot water system. It took nearly a considerable amount of time to get it fixed, which caused you some inconvenience. We are sorry to hear that there was some noise that affected your stay.

However we tried our best to make your stay a more comfortable one by offering you a complementary Dinner and beverages.

We look forward to see you in your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is small hotel, with one of the best views in town, great to relax in the evening over a dinner or over breakfast. The service was very attentive and very helpful, probably the best we had in sri lanka, without being too much.

Unfortunately for them we have a number of issues with the room. Though the room was recently renovated, there was visible damp which meant a) it was not pleasant to see and b) the room was freezing, even after having the heater on for the entire night. Also though the room had a window, it was boarded up, making the room feel like a dungeon. Finally, we had to wake up really early because of the sound of everybody else moving around and in the hotel, needs some soundproofing. Saying this, these are things easily fixed and would make this a great hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstraveloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We came for short time but enjoyed our stay the service was good. The veiw from the room was really breathtaking. Should mention the friendliness of the staff and breakfast was simple but good. Hot water is really an issue but may be due to savings of electricity:)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasoodMir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
5.5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midky Hotel

Property: Midky Hotel
Address: 405 Kandy Road | Bambarakale, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. INTRODUCTION Midky Hotel sits 6,182 feet (1'884 meters) above sea level cradled amidst the mist covered mountains. 2. LOCATION The drive up to the hotel is a scenic one, with lush greenery, waterfalls, tea plantations and majestic mountains. It is approximately 170 Km (5 hours) from the Colombo International Airport. 4. SERVICES Rooms: The rooms at Midky Hotel feature specious interior with fine beddings and furnishing made out of Teak & Mahogany wood. Each Deluxe & Honeymoon rooms are equipped with Mini Bar, All rooms are equipped with a plasma TV with cable channels, and well equipped with all modern comforts to make your holiday a pleasant one. TOTAL NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS Standard Rooms - 2 Honeymoon Rooms - 02 Deluxe rooms - 04 ROOM SPECIFICATIONS Room Area - 300 sq. feet. Bathroom area - 50 sq. feet Land area of the hotel and its surroundings – 36 p. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Midky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing