We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Midky Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

From the location to the staff to the accommodations, everything about this hotel is top notch. I have stayed at many nice hotel.This is the top of "Good value". Room was beautiful and spacious. Your every need is anticipated and everyone who works here generally loves it here and is beyond nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank padonhelios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    82
    40
    11
    14
See reviews for
64
90
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Early this year I was holidaying in Sri Lanka and though it was 6 months ago I want to share our experience at this hotel... We stayed at Midky as a last resort – the hotel we had originally booked was inaccessible due to floods. We probably should have made Midky our first choice. They rose to the occasion accommodating all of us even though they were booked out – and we were treated with the traditional Sri Lankan hospitality that we would expect at a close friend’s home. Building works were in progress, the wet weather made accessing it a bit hard and messy at times – but the service was excellent. The food was good and I was especially impressed when I was served kiri hodi on the house without asking for it just because they had heard me say I liked it…. The owner Manjula was an excellent host and we thoroughly enjoyed his hospitality. – Fathima Cader – Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fathima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

A distance from the town centre but otherwise the location has a very good view of fields and tea plantations. The staff are very friendly and the room is clean and spacious. A car is definitely a must.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BensonYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjula Wic W, Owner at Midky Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope to see you all again at the Midky Hotel when your next in Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

first the room was lovely. The bathroom was also nice to look at but... The hot water didn't work and the drain didn't drain.. both quickly fixed. As previously mentioned the room had a musty smell. Didnt try the dinners as we were told there was lots going on in town, which was 2ks or so down the road. I understand they didn't have a chef that night. So.. all in all.. average and we slept well. But next time we'd probably try somewhere else on the lake side of town.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wendybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Location: On the winding road from Kandy, about 10-15 min walk downhill to Nuwara Eliya centre. Most other guest houses/hotels seem to be on the other side of town but that doesn't really matter if you have a driver or don't mind walking.

Rooms: spacious, huge bed, very nice en suite shower room, pretty view on to the hills. However there seemed to be a problem with damp which you could smell in the bathroom and the hall outside, plus the sheets didn't ever seem 100% dry - we asked for new ones and even they felt slightly damp!

Service: Friendly if a bit slow. Owner brought hot water bottles to rooms in the evening which was a nice touch, even though we didn't think it was particularly cold! Service at mealtimes was very slow considering there were never more than a handful of people in there. Allow at least 45 mins for breakfast.

Food: big restaurant space considering its a pretty small place! Breakfast - lots of it! Eggs, waffles, fruit. Pretty standard stuff. Sri Lanka rice and curry for dinner was good, one of the spicier ones I had. The menu has local and international food; the local stuff is definitely better.

Overall: not a bad place to stay, forgetting the damp for a moment. However it was probably £20-25 overpriced for what it was (£55-£60/night) so not sure I would stay again; I would probably pay an extra £30 and go for one of the posher places in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

In our short stay in Sri Lanka we found that the way we travelled was ideal; having our own driver and transport, staying at different hotels (small and large) of which Midky Hotel was, for us ideal. Especially taking into consideration, we are averaging 80 years of age. The view from the hotel was very interesting in the fact that we were able to see the small tea fields, vegetable fields and watch the people working, who actually lived on the tea estate. The way in which we were looked after by everybody and particularly Midky Hotel has to be far better than joining in a coach tour. The personal attention that we had is highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCrowhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjula Wic W, Owner at Midky Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We would love to see you again at Midky Hotel when you next come to Sri Lanka. Best wishes, Midky Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Lancs
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, the stay was arranged as part of a very interesting trip to Horton Plains and Worlds end organised by Krishfer (contact him on Facebook). The hotel was very clean, tastefully furnished, the view from our room was amazing, the room was large and had heater, television the usual facilities. The night we stayed the hotel was very quiet only one other couple with two children, dinner was cooked to perfection and well presented and we enjoyed it which was fortuitous as we were not given any choice or even informed what we were having until it was placed in front of us, which we found odd. As we were retiring for the night we were brought a hot water bottle, this was appreciated as the evenings in the hill country are chilly. It was an interesting visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olive064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
5.5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midky Hotel

Property: Midky Hotel
Address: 405 Kandy Road | Bambarakale, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. INTRODUCTION Midky Hotel sits 6,182 feet (1'884 meters) above sea level cradled amidst the mist covered mountains. 2. LOCATION The drive up to the hotel is a scenic one, with lush greenery, waterfalls, tea plantations and majestic mountains. It is approximately 170 Km (5 hours) from the Colombo International Airport. 4. SERVICES Rooms: The rooms at Midky Hotel feature specious interior with fine beddings and furnishing made out of Teak & Mahogany wood. Each Deluxe & Honeymoon rooms are equipped with Mini Bar, All rooms are equipped with a plasma TV with cable channels, and well equipped with all modern comforts to make your holiday a pleasant one. TOTAL NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS Standard Rooms - 2 Honeymoon Rooms - 02 Deluxe rooms - 04 ROOM SPECIFICATIONS Room Area - 300 sq. feet. Bathroom area - 50 sq. feet Land area of the hotel and its surroundings – 36 p. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Midky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing