We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and nice staff”
Review of Midky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midky Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We arrived at Midky and were shown to our room which in itself was nice but there was quite a bad smell of damp. The hotel itself is OK but could do with a bit of a clean and tidy.
However we felt it was overpriced considering what we had paid elsewhere in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harryling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Midky Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Very clean, friendly hotel. Warm Sri Lankan welcome. Beautiful room with views over looking the valley. Lovely breakfast and Sri Lankan curry meal cooked upon request - both delicious. Very good hotel by Sri Lankan standards and a welcome stop.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Pruesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

For $150 US a room this is not worth it at most $75
In our 2 week trip to Sri Lanka and 6 places that we stayed at this was the biggest disappointment
This is not a new property it has a refurbished bathroom
it is not a hotel but a house
the photos on agoda have been photo-shopped
the owners are rude
I have travelled all over Asia and this would rank as my worst stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked the room on the top level which in my opinion is the best room as it had windows which faced 2 directions - overlooking the road which led to Nuwara Eliya and the road leading to the town - as the hotel is at a bend. Very nice garden to sit in in the morning and spacious room with luxurious bedding and sheets. Heater was modern but it took a while to heat the cold room. They provided hot chocolate in the room and it was nice. Service was good the guy carried our luggage up the stairs for us and attended to all our needs.

Main grouse was 2 things: Toilet - towel handles dropped off and were shoddily fixed. Toilet was cold as the ceiling was exposed to the rest of the room.
Food was prepared on request, however it was relatively the worst i've tasted in my 13 days in Sri Lanka. I ordered Chicken Bryani and a curry chicken. I only ate half of it and couldn't force myself to eat the other half as it didn't taste fresh and was dry and stiff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lj_tan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

It's a bit chilly up here so a warm welcome with hot chocolate was a great start (especially for the kids). Nicely upgraded rooms and the food was great with the staff going to extra efforts to make everyone happy. They even had hot-water bottles ready for night. Ok, it's not so easy to walk everywhere from here but they will happily arrange a tuk-tuk quickly for a 5 min hop into town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This seemed a new or newly refurbished hotel-a modern bedroom. Great view from it when cloud lifted.Was wet and cool when there but bedroom heater worked and tho we were only visitors, a curry meal was put on for us. Attentive and willing staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashley465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were visitors in Nuwara Eliya at the worst time, wet and cool, although not freezing cold like the locals think! The hotel was more or less empty and the atmosphere was therefore very quiet. We ate there one night and had a very nice curry with all the trimmings,
The room was fine although as others have said, there is a damp problem. Nothing that extractor fans in the bathrooms wouldn't solve I expect. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#18 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
84 reviews
5.5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,547 reviews
1.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
851 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midky Hotel

Address: 405 Kandy Road | Bambarakale, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £33 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. INTRODUCTION Midky Hotel sits 6,182 feet (1'884 meters) above sea level cradled amidst the mist covered mountains. 2. LOCATION The drive up to the hotel is a scenic one, with lush greenery, waterfalls, tea plantations and majestic mountains. It is approximately 170 Km (5 hours) from the Colombo International Airport. 4. SERVICES Rooms: The rooms at Midky Hotel feature specious interior with fine beddings and furnishing made out of Teak & Mahogany wood. Each Deluxe & Honeymoon rooms are equipped with Mini Bar, All rooms are equipped with a plasma TV with cable channels, and well equipped with all modern comforts to make your holiday a pleasant one. TOTAL NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS Standard Rooms - 2 Honeymoon Rooms - 02 Deluxe rooms - 04 ROOM SPECIFICATIONS Room Area - 300 sq. feet. Bathroom area - 50 sq. feet Land area of the hotel and its surroundings – 36 p. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Midky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing