We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff & great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Midky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midky Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a safe choice in Nuwara Eliya. The staff was very friendly upon arrival, our room was clean (though not new or perfectly finished), bathroom very new and clean with hotel products, breakfast very good in a restaurant with a view, good service at breakfast. Hotel is about 1.5 km from town centre (150 rupees taxi ride), and yes, it is on the pricey side.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trippypppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    83
    41
    12
    14
See reviews for
65
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice it has a great view of the tea plantation and vegetable gardens. The staff was great and helpful. It's a nice spot but we wouldn't pay more than 70 $ per night for it. Another downside was that we were the only guests there..

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very nice Room, comfortable bed, supercosy blankets in a very caring and friendly surrounding. Due to the cold temperatures outside, the heater on the Wall, the hot shower in the very nice, europeanstyle bathroom and the warm blanket was the best thing that could Happen... Food was also nice and fresh prepared although we were the only guests at that time! Lovely breakfast, all made by the very Friendly Manager. A few broken steps could Not do. any harm to this nice Hotel...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniLaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Clean rooms with a nice view. Good shower! Rest of hotel a bit old and not clean. Dark restaurant. Good breakfast. For dinner no much choice. Helpfull staff. Too expencive. You need a tuktuk to go to the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda2707_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

One of my best stay in Sri Lanka..lovely, clean hotel.. Extremely warm n helpful staff..the hotel is 7mins away from the city by car, but totally worth it to live in this hotel. Food was really nice. There is nothing atall I could complaint about this hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonalc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is a bit far from the city, but it had a great view to the tea fields. It is clean, and the food is the best we had in the country. The bad side is the service they provide to the staff, if you travel with a driver, he,she will be dad, and for good reason. Sleeping without heating is not convenient at this altitude.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekaeesgazsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Spent one night in this quiet little hotel just outside Nuwara Eliya. A nice change of pace from the other large hotels I have been staying in.

The room was of a nice size with an excellent view across a valley. The hot water, and water pressure were the best I have had yet in Sri Lanka.

Food was good too. One piece of advice would be to have some music playing in the restaurant as it was a little to quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bucksee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midky Hotel

Property: Midky Hotel
Address: 405 Kandy Road | Bambarakale, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. INTRODUCTION Midky Hotel sits 6,182 feet (1'884 meters) above sea level cradled amidst the mist covered mountains. 2. LOCATION The drive up to the hotel is a scenic one, with lush greenery, waterfalls, tea plantations and majestic mountains. It is approximately 170 Km (5 hours) from the Colombo International Airport. 4. SERVICES Rooms: The rooms at Midky Hotel feature specious interior with fine beddings and furnishing made out of Teak & Mahogany wood. Each Deluxe & Honeymoon rooms are equipped with Mini Bar, All rooms are equipped with a plasma TV with cable channels, and well equipped with all modern comforts to make your holiday a pleasant one. TOTAL NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS Standard Rooms - 2 Honeymoon Rooms - 02 Deluxe rooms - 04 ROOM SPECIFICATIONS Room Area - 300 sq. feet. Bathroom area - 50 sq. feet Land area of the hotel and its surroundings – 36 p. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing