We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic & Clean”
Review of Hotel Eden Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Eden Hill
Ranked #149 of 233 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic & Clean”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Located in a nice place, face to the lake with a small garden.Rooms are basic but clean and also big bed.
Friendly staff.foods are also good.we stayed 2 nights at Eden Hill.price is also average and can recommended this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uditha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It is the worst Hotel?Motel in our recent travel.
It was dirty mouldy and down right disgraceful to be called a tourist rest.
The staff although minimal tried very hard to help in normal hotel funtcions but owing to limited facilities it was near to imposible.
AGODA should be careful in recomending such a place, because AGODA was fantastic in all our other travel?Hotel bookings.
Thank you AGODA.
Yohaan and Myrtle

Room Tip: While looking for price I suggest you Look and Read Reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yohaan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

very nice place ..staff very good service..
nice hotel... food very tasty. i like this hotel..Fantastic Gregory lake view and easy to do boat riding in front the Hotel. High privacy and average rooms.I got 1st floor nice view room..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uditha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

During our past six years of touring Thailand, Malaysia, UAE, Singapore, Srilanka , we have never been to such a worst place like this. Except for its location (beside Lake greogory) , we could not find any other plus point in it. Hotel is being operated by only three in-experienced young boys who don’t know the basics of hotel services. We were given two rooms on second floor and there was no light on the stairs. On our complaint, they could not fix this simple issue during our two days stay. On first night they had allowed a large local group to have night party there with loud music and drunk boys and girls as a result we could not sleep until last hour of the night. Every morning they got our breakfast ready, served on table and then informed us that we can have it. When we get ready and go there, it is all cold. They did not bother to ask for our egg choices and served Fried eggs. We asked them to change which they did and then charged us at the time of checking out. Water in shower was too less to have a bath there. Looking for a budget place? Please work out some other place and don’t experience it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MAZLahore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Booked the hotel via walk in reservation.Fantastic Gregory lake view and easy to do boat riding in front the Hotel. High privacy and average rooms.I got 1st floor room in April season. So many games like Boat riding,Car race, Bike races happening in April month. Crowded with Local people in April.

Room Tip: Go for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 460kismet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

Booked the hotel via Internet site since many others were full. Had reasonable feedback then.

The location is very good, just in front of the lake, but that's where the good things end. The place is dingy, smelly and dark. The rooms are old, musty and seriously needs ripping apart and making them new. There is no air conditioning, no heating And of the 5 windows only half opens !

The staff is untrained and needed to be told basic things like bring the towels and dustbin etc.

Bathrooms are musty, with broken tiles and poor plumbing.

The reception area had torn sofas and corridors are dark and musty.

It surely qualifies as one if the worst hotels I have ever stayed and considering 65 US$ rates, it looked like daylight robbery.

Save your money and holiday and find another place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SerraBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBAI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice location to stay and the rooms in the first floor gives a good sunrise view and a good view of the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Hill

Property: Hotel Eden Hill
Address: No 01B Badulla Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Eden Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing