We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting Visit”

Holy Trinity Church
Ranked #14 of 39 things to do in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Visit”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We visited today, Remembrance Sunday 2013 as I found out there were 3 Allied service personnel buried in the church graveyard. We found the three well-maintained graves and paused for a minute or two to pay our respects. Its interesting to walk through the graveyard and see the names of the people buried there, looking at where they were born and thinking of the lives they had that led them to Nuwara Eliya. Worth a visit as it gives more depth to the history of Little England and the people that lived there through the years.

The church could have been in the heart of England. Its so reminiscent of many village churches up and down the the country. The priest was very friendly and interested to know where we traveled from.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More than 100 years old”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Well maintained,Worth a visit. Like so much here, it's a lesson in history. More than 100 years old pipe piano and old pews and furniture are very attractive

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mozin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“A beautiful church in Little England”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is an Anglican church situated in Little England. Nuwara Eliya was called Little England by the British during their period in Ceylon (1815 - 1948) because this area resembled the countryside in England. The British also came to Nuwara Eliya to escape the heat in when it was hot in other areas of Ceylon (As it was known in the colonial era). I was a parishioner of this Church from the time I was born until I started going to school in 1970. This is one of the 3 churches that has a pipe organ in Sri Lanka. The other 2 being St. Pauls Church, Kandy & the Scots Kirk Church, Colombo 3. The wind was filled with large bellows in the past & my uncles have told me how they used to help the Church sexton to work on them at Sunday service. The inside still has the same stained glass windows & the Oak wood pews with brass knobs. The garden is not what it was due to the lack of funds to maintain it but it was seen that the pastor takes much interest to do his best. There was a lychgate at the end of the premises when the main gate was closed to allow humans to enter & keep the stray cattle out , but this is now closed with barbed wire. The Cyprus trees & beautiful flowers make this place beautiful. The gravestones of many British including monarchy are seen. My uncles used to relate stories of the ghost of a duke whose grave is larger than others used to whistle & try to seduce any single ladies in the evening. I would upload the pix of this Church once I have located them. I cherish the memories of this Church & make it for Christmas service with my family once in 4 years.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quaint church”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Well maintained, with a century plus history, stunning view of lake below and hills above! Peaceful with breathtaking

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“anglican church”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

though catering to an impoverished congregation , this colonial monument stands in a superb location and could do with an injection of cash to improve its surrounding fencing / restore the lychgate ( unique in these parts)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank arun t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holy Trinity Church also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Holy Trinity Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing