We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfy and cozy bungalow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady Horton Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lady Horton Bungalow
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfy and cozy bungalow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a lovely stay and the staff were helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms were clean and tidy and the beds were comfy. A very good place to stay whilst exploring the area around Nuwara Eliya and the hill country in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the lady Horton bungalow was made perfect by warm smiles, exceptional hospitality and fantastic home cooked food. We were full all the time. We loved the weather, peace and tranquility in the mornings and evenings - something that is elusive in our country!
The strawberry farm down the road is a delightful little farm with vegetables and herbs a plenty. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend this bungalow to our friends who may come this way.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was one of the best places we stayed at while in Sri Lanka. Staff was amazing - we asked the staff to change our room so we can have a lake view and they complied within minutes (no fuss at all). Rooms are very good, spacious with great view. Bungalow seems to be old but well maintained, staff was very helpful. In fact when we were walking down to the lake staff noticed us taking the wrong path, instead of shouting or even ignoring he rode a bike all the way to us to redirect.

Breakfast was also pretty good in the morning. Overall a place worth staying for a family visit.

Room Tip: Picked up the room facing lake and it seemed like a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usmanmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaf101, Manager at Lady Horton Bungalow, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi Mr. Usman
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We hope you had a wonderful stay in Lady Horton Bungalow and hope to see you again.

regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here during our stay in Nuwera Eliya places is so beautiful with an amazing view, big rooms, nice garden and a BBQ area I recommend this bungalow for families and big groups. There is a Strawberry Farm just 50 m away where you can get fresh Strawberries.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafranshuaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed recently at Lady Horton, and I loved it. The caretaker of the property was very helpful and helped us organise a BBQ. I recommend going here during April, where the rest of Sri Lanka is hot and where the weather is nice in Nuwera Eliya.

Room Tip: There are some larger rooms which can accommodate 4 people, try and get them to give it at the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
2.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thuring's Holiday Bungalow
Thuring's Holiday Bungalow
#30 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Log Nuwara Eliya
The Log Nuwara Eliya
#51 of 163 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hill Crest Residency
Hill Crest Residency
#92 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Garden
China Garden
#60 of 163 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Binota Hotel
Binota Hotel
#40 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Horton Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Horton Bungalow

Property: Lady Horton Bungalow
Address: 65/26 Lady Horton Walk | Bonavista Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious bungalow located in the heart of Nuwara Eliya overlooking Lake Gregory. This location has breathtaking views of the hill side and is ideal for a serene getaway. The bungalow has 5 well furnished rooms with attached bathrooms and boasts of a central heating system along with hot water facility. A large garden is ideal for outdoor games and even a barbecue. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing