We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owner, great setting, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misty View Cottage Home Stay
Ranked #19 of 252 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice owner, great setting, small rooms”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We really felt welcome at this place from the moment we came there. They greet you with a welcome drink and they make sure that you get everything you need. Breakfast was exellent as well. Rooms are rather small but view is spectacular. Little bit out of town, 5 min by tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goran7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    17
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dona Paula, Goa, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

From the time we entered Misty View cottage we were treated like Kings. The place is located in a quiet locality away from the city and at the same time not far away. The view really reflects the name "Misty View" as the mist just sails by the tea estate hills just opposite. Visitors normally spend a day or two at Nuwara Eliya and this is just the place to enjoy the hill station and visit the sites from there. The food is great home cooked and to your order. The owner who is a master chef himself has great staff with smiling faces and always ready to please, My advise never eat out as you really get the best at the home stay and value for your money. The breakfast is simply sumptuous with great variety. The owner DAMMIKA has been very gracious to us and when we got up at 5 am to visit the hills on tour he woke up earlier to pack our breakfast for the trip. The rooms though a bit small had a great bathroom very clean with hot water and all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionspl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is advertised as a homestay. OK you stay in someones home but a 'homestay' does not have young men dressed in black waistcoats wearing white gloves and hovering around you the whole time. I write lots of reviews but this one is very difficult. I chose this place based on the 'superb' reviews it has received. When we arrived I thought we were in the wrong place as there was nothing 'superb' about it. Dammika the host, is a charming man who has obviously been in the hotel industry -there are certificates and pictures of him to prove this -before deciding to open his own 'chain' of accommodation. I was really very disappointed considering the price of $103.00 he 'tried' to charge us. We had a twin room which was so small there was nowhere to put the cases, so we had to walk around/over them. The en suite bathroom was very average and could do with a much needed refurb. The bed was appalling. Three inch mattress on wooden slats. My rather large husband laid down and went straight to the wooden slats...OMG! The staff were young men who obviously work very hard and is a credit to them. Their English is not good at all. Dammika is an animal lover which is fine, but three dogs, six ducks,lots of birds, fish etc etc is a bit much with only a tiny yard. The big black dog was not people friendly to say the least. I have two dogs and I was scared of him. They were all locked away at night. The whole house is alarmed at night so you cannot open the window or go outside without setting off the alarm. Great...A nice man introduced himself as the chef...what homestay has a chef??? Food was average. Breakfast was quite good with eggs cooked any way you wanted, toast, muffins etc etc. But the flies were just dreadful. They were everywhere. In our room and around us at breakfast time. The view of the tea plantation and the mountains is really good and is the only good thing about this place. Dammika is trying to make his home into a Hilton Hotel and it just does not work. This is not a traditional homestay experience. I was presented with the guestbook to fill out and then a questionnaire!! I filled it out honestly and I tried to not hurt Dammikas feelings. He was upset and offered to give us a 25% discount which I think was still too much anyway. There are much better options closer to town for the same price. Seems some Sri Lankans are opening their homes to visitors hoping to cash in on the amount of western tourists that are flocking to SL. I only wished we had driven another hour and stayed at Amaya Lake Resort the extra night as it was "superb".

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I thought it is a big hotel but It was small and cute place. excellent welocome, It is a nice place for guys to stay, excellent services and caring, Nice reserved place....woow what a beutiful environment...

It is more appropriate for a group of guys or family to stay and enjoy their privacy.... I like it very much and reccommend who wanted to enjoy their time only with them selves or the one they wanted you can visit this place, no distabance, no out siders... it is you and you people their...

Hope you will enjoy your time at this place...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziyad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 2nd and 3rd March 2013. Overall the stay was disappointing and not what we were expecting from a home stay experience. The host Dammika was far too formal and so were his many helpers. In fact we felt like intruders in his house! The room was far too small and consequently had to climb over our luggage to get out. The bathroom was shared (which we knew about beforehand) but we did not expect it to be so basic and unclean. There was a vast range of food options but felt the quality was only average. After an early morning trip we returned and ordered a snack which was delivered to the small garden outside our room when it had started raining and the weather was cold. We ended up eating in our room sat on the bed! On the plus side the view was very good and we did have a good driver who's name was Indi - he picked us up from the railway station and dropped us off and was a guide for us at Horton Plains National Park and the Tea Plantations and Lovers Leap Waterfall all of which should not be missed. We were in Sri Lanka for a month staying in 8 different places and this was the worst place and least value for money. We believe that Dammika did try hard and was very courteous but he was trying to turn his home into a hotel (which it was not)! People generally go to a home stay to experience true life of the country they are visiting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petecarroll155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

we stayed this house last February,Choose from TripAdvisor.appreciate for good welcome. but thinking about the facilities are very average and everything showy ,we had share bathroom to use its avoid .the photos of this house given us big image of rooms and dinning area,actually its not like that ,morning breakfast also very tedious not like home food,we are traveling to different countries because we need see deference between other countries and places ,we paid $70 but its not worth for share bathroom if you go to the city you can have room less than $50 with breakfast .
The location surrounding is same style buildings nothing to see special ,if we want to go to city its too far from this house .unless you have to take public transport or taxi .this place i am recommended the people who looking share bathroom

Room Tip: share bathrooms not en suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Be prepared for a very unique experience. Beautiful views, with superb service, but a little over the top and pretentious. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the pampering after some very mediocre hotel stays in SE and South Asia. Like no other B&B we've ever stayed in anywhere. Personal white-gloved butlers, no less! Honestly, the food wasn't that great, but you have to give Dammika credit for putting on quite a show of colonial style service. The room was fine, but be aware you'll share a bathroom. No ensuite. The neighbors' barking dogs kept us awake one night. You owe it to yourself to try Misty View for one night at least, if only for the slightly bizarre experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,524 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,024 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nidwalden Resort
Nidwalden Resort
#2 of 203 in Nuwara Eliya
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty View Cottage Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty View Cottage Home Stay

Property: Misty View Cottage Home Stay
Address: 509/11, Top Pass, Kandy Road | (entrance via Sanasa Holiday Resort), Nuwara Eliya 00200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 252 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty View Cottage Home Stay B&B offers guests to enjoy and explore traditional yet chic boutique style Sri Lankan hospitality. Surrounded by the beautiful "Kikiliyamana Rain Forest & Mountain Range" and overlooking "The Piduruthalagala Mountain" - Sri Lanka's Highest Mountain Peak, Misty View Cottage offers 2 (two) cosy non-smoking twin-bedded rooms which are fully carpeted and with private en-suite bathrooms. The rooms offer FREE Wi-Fi, LED TV, 40-channel satellite TV connection, personal DVD player with a selection of in-house movies, electronic radio-alarm-clock, tea & coffee making facility. Available on request are iron & ironing board, hairdryer, baby cot and essential toiletries and automatic temperature controlled room heaters. Offering plenty of natural light, the naturally cooled rooms have large windows that offer views of the mountains and open out to your private garden. Outdoor seating is provided in the garden. This accommodation offers a choice of set breakfast and a beverage menu selection. This property provides a variety of recreational activities. Guests can enjoy fishing, hiking or horseback riding. Car and bicycle rental services are also provided for those who wish to explore the area. Our dedicated team can assist with sightseeing and travel bookings. Misty View Cottage is located on a steep hill top 200 metres from the Nuwara Eliya Highway and 3 km from Nuwara Eliya Town. Colombo International Airport is a 4.5-Hour drive away. Indoor games are provided for guest entertainment. As the owner is an animal lover the cottage is home to 6 dogs, birds, and aquariums. Laundry service, pick-up/ meet & greet transfer services from Nanu Oya Railway Station and the main bus terminal In Nuwara Eliya could be provided for a nominal fee. (On prior request only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Misty View Cottage Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing