We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit Gloomy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferncliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferncliff
Ranked #1 of 216 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bit Gloomy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

When we arrived at Ferncliff, in the rain ( the hotel in August is above sea-level and spends time in the clouds ) we were a bit depressed. Lots of heavy wood panelling and few lights on. The manager Michael was a relief to meet. He is a gentle, hospitable and generous soul who is the perfect host. He arranged cake and ginger tea while we confirmed our other bookings and showed us to a lighter room. Ferncliff is an oasis of calm in Nuwara Eliya which i thought existed in a parallel universe. We ate at the Grand which was full of veiled Qatari and Saudi Arabians. Bizarre.
if you have to go to this throwback to colonial days stay at Ferncliff - not the Grand and be lulled into tranquility.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moneypenny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    43
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
133
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This is the friendliest and most welcoming place we've ever experienced! We felt completely at home and at rest due to the untiring efforts of our gracious host, Michael, his wonderful wife and cook, and the rest of the friendly staff! In addition, the place does much needed social work among the tea pickers and their children. It is very highly recommended!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseRossHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Michael and the team will be greatly encouraged by your response to the Ferncliff Experience. We work hard to ensure that our guests feel at home and enjoy all the comforts we have on offer. As you have noted Ferncliff has also tied up with The Grassrooted Trust, an organization that works with marginalized women and girls in Sri Lanka, of whom some are from the hill country. 10% of revenue from Ferncliff helps fund their programmes. Please do come and stay with us again, and avail of special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Ferncliff was an absolute delight. We were greeted warmly by Michael and his team, who were very attentive to our every need. The charming bungalow and it's environs proved to be the perfect backdrop for a relaxing stay, and an escape from the stifling heat of Colombo. The hot water bottle placed under the covers at night served as a most welcome treat from the cold, and the meals were delicious. A most memorable stay. I can't wait to go back :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Roshni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We're extremely pleased that you enjoyed the Ferncliff experience.Michael and the team work hard to ensure that our guests are well looked after. Nuwara Eliya, is called "Little England" for a reason, the Brits also enjoyed a respite from the heat of Colombo. So please do come back and stay with us again to avail of offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
237 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Ferncliff is an excellent option when you are planning a trip to Nuwara Eliya. It was cool and drizzling when we went there. The drawing room and the dining room are quite comfortable with the fire places. The rooms are very nicely kept and with room warmers.
The hospitality is something which your would always remember. Michael, the manager makes the place a home away from home. The food is exceptionally good and homely and the signature ice cream of firncliff is something every one should taste.
A great place to spend few days.....

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRABHU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Michael and the team are extremely pleased that your experience with us at Ferncliff was special. We work hard to make sure that it is. We're really glad you enjoyed our food too, especially the homemade ice cream that Michael's wife prepares. Please do come and stay with us again to avail of special offers to returning guests. Ferncliff awaits you.

Best wishes,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had an absolutely stunning couple of days at Ferncliff, and were blown away with the service, the food, the room and the lovely people.

Arriving hot and flustered after being stuck in traffic (due to the new year festival), we were instantly made to feel at home by Michael and his team, and in no small part by the best brownie I think I've ever eaten (worth the trip on its own!).

The attentiveness of the service was like nothing either of us had experienced before, and made this the stand out location of our tour around Sri Lanka. At first were slightly uncomfortable about being waited on with such high level of service, but as soon as you realise that this is what makes the Ferncliff so special (and seems to be a point of pride to all the staff), it became a pleasure to stay somewhere so far ahead of anywhere else we stayed in terms of customer service.

Also, we were talked into getting up at 5.30am to go on a trip to "World's End". We were worried that we would be dissapointed, but nothing could be further from the truth. It was worth every penny, we just feel sorry for all the staff who got up even earlier to make our breakfast and see us off. If you have the time, we would definitely recomend doing the same.

Finally, a big thank you to all the staff, if we ever get the chance to come back to Sri Lanka, the Ferncliff will be the first place we book.

Room Tip: Only a few fooms here, and I'm sure they would all be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy_shovels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. As you've noted the team at Ferncliff works hard to make sure your time with us is as special as can be, and our exclusive service led by Michael is testament to that. We're also please that you made it to Horton Plains and World's End thereby experiencing the beauty that Nuwara Eliya has to offer. Please do come and stay with us again to avail of special offers for returning guests.

Best wishes,

Hans Billimoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

When we arrived at Ferncliif - on a rainy evening - we felt it might be a bit dark and dismal. We felt a lot more positive after a warm welcome from Michael and his team and some excellent coffee and brownies.

Our room was large, charming and comfortable, but it was the totally modern bathroom that won our hearts completely! We enjoyed our chicken curry dinner, and breakfast was very good, too. This is a nice house to wander around, looking at the old pictures and strolling in the well-kept garden. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. Nuwara Eliya weather can be quite a challenge this time of year, so we're very pleased that Michael and the team were able to lift your spirits and ensure you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come and stay with us again, and let us know in advance to avail of special offers we have in place for returning guests.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a very nice stay at Ferncliff. The bungalow is a colonial gem, set in beautiful gardens. Inside is full of rustic charm, but the bathrooms were modern which was great. Dinner at Ferncliff was very good – we had Sri Lankan chicken curry with lots of different side dishes. Desert was an excellent home made ice cream with strawberries. Breakfast was only ok; bacon very fatty, eggs undercooked, mushrooms cold and toast overly crisp. Michael is a very attentive and helpful host, but given we were the only guests staying at the time, could be a little over-attentive at times.

My main complaint with the place, and why I cannot give it more than 3 out of 5, is the price. It was the most expensive guesthouse we stayed in during our 2 week trip (and more expensive than some luxury hotels) and unfortunately, it’s just not worth the money it charges. We stayed at much nicer places during our trip at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferncliff B, General Manager at Ferncliff, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Edward,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We're glad you enjoyed Ferncliff overall,and that you had the place all to yourselves. We pride ourselves on our high standards, and while our food is simple, we always endeavour to give you the best. So thank you for your frank feedback.

Best wishes,

Hans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferncliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferncliff

Property: Ferncliff
Address: 7/10 Wedderburn Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferncliff perched on one of the highest points of Nuwara Eliya commands a view like no other of 'Little England'. This includes being set against the magnificent backdrop of Mount Pedro (Pidurutalagala), which at 2524 m (8,281 ft) is Sri Lanka's highest point. Just ten minutes walk from the Grand Hotel and the Golf Club, Ferncliff is uniquely placed to be the centre of your Nuwara Eliya universe which includes Horton Plains National Park, Tea Plantations and other locations of interest in the hill country. Deeds for the Ferncliff lands predate the founding of the first Nuwara Eliya settlement by Great White Hunter and Explorer, Sir Samuel Baker in 1846. The bungalow, now a heritage site, had its beginnings in the 1850s and the ghosts of Samuel Baker and his ilk still walk our expansive lawns hunting elephants, deer and wild boar to near extinction in the lush Nuwara Eliya valley. Today, with restorations that have retained its rustic charm, Ferncliff offers comforts that few bungalows in town can aspire to, and our team led by our chef with over 30 years of experience in the hotel trade, will ensure that your time with us will be comfortable and relaxed. Rest assured that although Ferncliff is centrally located, once inside her gates the hustle and bustle of the town is forgotten. Enjoy a game of croquet, a round of boules, or just wander around our extensive grounds which include a young rose garden and very soon, orange and pear orchards. Look no further for what promises to be a truly authentic Nuwara Eliya experience. Kindly note that, accommodation for drivers and guides are not available in the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ferncliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing