We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A boutique type hotel which lacks something.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenfall Reach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 233 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A boutique type hotel which lacks something.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived along the potted driveway to a wonderful looking small hotel. The rooms we were given were at the top of the hotel away from any noise. The rooms were very well appointed and quite large for a small hotel. We were looking forward to a drink in the bar, but was told this was only for soft drinks, although behind the bar were shelves of full wine and spirit bottles. The dinner was well cooked but of limited menu, which was very disappointing. On the day we stayed there were seven guests. This hotel is great for those who like small boutique type hotels with attentive staff and limited food and drink options. Trying hard.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the 300s or 400s. None have views but the higher you are the less noise you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbcorpe-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    63
    76
    17
    9
See reviews for
53
88
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I stayed at Glenfall Reach for just 1 night after the long journey from the airport. The entrance to the hotel looked lovely and we were given a warm welcome. Our room was very nice, large and clean, the beds were very comfortable. My daughter and I feel the cold easily so we were pleased to see there was a heater. The bathroom was very spacious and well equipped although the shower was a bit disappointing. We stayed on half board basis but wished we'd only stayed bed and breakfast, the choice and quality of evening meal was very poor, the staff didn't even question the amount of food left on all three of our plates. The breakfast was much better. If we visited Nuwara Eliya again we would consider this hotel again but only for b&b.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n.mccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My most disappointing hotel experience in Sri Lanka was at this hotel. I arrived to hear that I had been assigned a room with no windows. They agreed to give me another which was also a nightmare. All the rooms right above the entry way allow you to hear the hotel staff jabbering on day and night. Cars arriving and hotel guests being dropped off and picked up at every hour makes it impossible for you to sleep. The rooms are not facing anything of interest (the water tanks perhaps). The restuarant is under ground with no view. The room has no sound proofing which means any conversations inside/outside rooms are everybody's business. Totally disappointing :-( Its a stop over hotel, so expect very little.

Room Tip: I really have nothing to recommend here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sunnemo, Sverige
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Glenfall Reach is a very nice looking hotel and is very hard trying to reach a high standard. Warm welcome as if we were kings and a very nice looking and spacious room (room 305) for the three of us. As there were just a few guests we got a menu to chose from in the restaurant. A bit over spiced, but the manager asked us directly if the food was too spicy because he already expected that. We got another fish dish immediately. Even the breakfast was on a menu with lots of everything. There were though a few child diseases which they forgot in all their willing to do their best. After talking with the manager (I felt I could do that because of the personal service he offered) he was very thankful I mentioned this problems and promised to take care of it for the next guests. Wi-Fi in the room was very pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartfysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

If visiting Nuwara Eliya, the Glenfall Reach Hotel is the perfect place to rest from the area's activities. The rooms are large and comfortable. The restaurant has a wonderful selection of food for any taste. The staff is very attentive (and they speak English well). We visited a national park located near the hotel. As we were leaving at 0530, the management had packed each of us breakfast to take away. This thoughtful touch is indicative of the entire stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We received a very warm welcome upon our arrival. The staff was extremely friendly, the rooms were very nice. The beds were very comfortable. My only complaint would be the average food. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

A lovely , pleasant hotel. Fabulous foods, Excellent service. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Thank You for the wonderful stay. The exceptional staff. The stay was hospitable. Awesome area. Will definitely recommended. Excellent place to stay. Keep Up the good work team!!The best hotel we stayed in Srilanka.
Eliya + Dan

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
0.3 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#7 of 183 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ferncliff
Ferncliff
#1 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Topaz
Hotel Topaz
#14 of 380 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Inn
Richmond Inn
#8 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfall Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfall Reach Hotel

Property: Glenfall Reach Hotel
Address: Glenfall Lane, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenfall Reach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glennfall Reach, a brand new sixteen room property designed with a mix of colonial and modern architecture boasting timber floors, king size beds and warm down comforters is located in the heart of Nuwara Eliya with a magnificent view of the highest peak of Sri Lanka “Pidurutalagala” and the namesake waterfall of Glennfall falling from the heights of Single tree hill, boasts of the finest temperate climate accommodation with warm cozy rooms, & warm supper served by friendly staff in a cozy basement restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Glenfall Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing