We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenfall Reach Hotel
Ranked #35 of 260 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2014

there's nothing really special about this hotel but it's not also bad... the room we stayed was really cozy but you can hear the footsteps from outside the room... there's no elevator so you have to use the stairs going to your room.. i like the wooden floors in the shower and their beds are comfortable and clean.. the view from our room was nice because you can see the waterfalls (it's already very far though).. breakfast was fine but with very limited choices.. all the staff were very friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAQG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Many people said the hotel is good, but once I stayed there I don't think it is right. The outlook and the design of the hotel is fine. The owner seems travel abroad a lot and bring a lot decoration in the lobby. But our room was assigned face to the restaurant, room is little bit old style, food in the restaurant is good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wan Yin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Yes, on one side it is a valuable place due to the room size/quality and service provided by employees, on the other side it does need serious improvement as restaurant is in the underground with a very British style in advance booking diner choice to be performed (no buffet), rooms near reception are terrifically noisy and stairs cage conception make the whole building noisy.
Actually I was missing the classification GOOD between average and very good.

Room Tip: Even if does look wonderful, avoid the rooms near the reception as noisy due to guests who do also s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_F1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The place was alright. We booked a room for one (by mistake) instead of 2. We were charged extra for one person but didn't get much in return for it. We still got a single room, it was not aired, it was very damp and that made it look unclean. the fittings in the bathroom were coming away. All in all, our room had a shabby look. But other people in the hotel found the place better than us. So I guess it depends on the room you get. Food was not so great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sindhura730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very nice place, with a room included c´hairs and table with a beautifull view, Excellent staff, who gave us the possibilty to take a shower when we were back from Horton Plains even we had checked out

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Glenfall reach hot a hotel but rather guest house. The staff was helpful and agreed to change our room from ground floor to the top floor. The room was compact but nice and clean. The Bar located on the second floor was a room with drinks displayed but only beer can be ordered and it was highly overpriced (500 rupees for a bottle of beer).
Dinner and Breakfast were of a good quality. Small restaurant located in the basement had cooking station. Freshly squeezed juices were included in the breakfast selection.
Location is ok, with close proximity to town and to the lake. WiFi did not work the two days we were there.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukrmiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We visited this hotel ne year ago. I don’t know whether there changed anything, but I should say that we were treated like kings in this hotel. The stuff was polite and very kind. As we were the only visitors there the breakfast and the dinner were made specially for us (it was included in the price that we paid for the room). I am vegetarian and for me it was so nice that the chef made everything that I wanted. The serving was perfect. The kitchen was neat and clean and the chef of the restaurant was very nice and smiling person.
The manager was very attentive and always asked whether everything was ok.
I travel a lot and I have to say that the service in this hotel is worth 5 stars and it was better in Glenfall than in some 5-star hotels that I visited. It is hard to impress me, but Glenfall did it))))

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olenka0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
0.3 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#13 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#10 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
672 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Hotel Topaz
Hotel Topaz
#6 of 445 in Kandy
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unique Cottages
Unique Cottages
#66 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manudi Glenfallsedge Rest
Manudi Glenfallsedge Rest
#33 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfall Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfall Reach Hotel

Address: Glenfall Lane, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £95 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenfall Reach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glennfall Reach, a brand new sixteen room property designed with a mix of colonial and modern architecture boasting timber floors, king size beds and warm down comforters is located in the heart of Nuwara Eliya with a magnificent view of the highest peak of Sri Lanka “Pidurutalagala” and the namesake waterfall of Glennfall falling from the heights of Single tree hill, boasts of the finest temperate climate accommodation with warm cozy rooms, & warm supper served by friendly staff in a cozy basement restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenfall Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing