We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of New Tour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Tour Inn
Ranked #137 of 234 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The rooms here are very basic but clean and the showers have hot water. The WiFi is very slow in the lobby and doesn't work anywhere else. The staff here also was incredibly helpful and kind although the owner tried to overcharge for a few things.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potatochip77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    37
    16
    18
See reviews for
10
44
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A beautiful region and a great hotel! Was able to accommodate our large group of 20 with ease and the distribution of rooms allowed us to not feel as though we were invading the place. Highly recommend! The best sleep of our time in Sri Lank so far. Soft, enveloping beds, beautiful bathrooms, large sunny terraces!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked this hotel the day before we reached Nuwara Eliya and we had some concerns about how it might turn out. But the place was lovely. Located just behind the bus stand , it reminded me of a small German Schloss. We got the topmost room and it was very well maintained with great beds, an excellent washroom and storage cabinets. The staff was very friendly and made best efforts to take care of us, including making tea regularly and providing us with spicy local cuisine for dinner.
The hotel also organized the cab to Horton's Plains who picked us up promptly at 5 AM and took us around the place and brought us back comfortably. Also they are one of the few hotels in our Sri Lanka trip who accepted Credit cards . Overall, good place to stay.

Room Tip: Top rooms get chillier so you may want to avoid. Ideally 1st floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn_2010_iimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

First, there was a confusion when a tuk tuk driver stubbornly refused to take us to Tour Inn and instead wanted to drive us to New Tour Inn. In the end we found out it's the same place...
We got a room on the second floor. The staff wasn't overly nice, but not rude either. Obviously it's cold and damp everywhere in Nuwera Eliya and the buildings have no isolation. There was mold on the ceilings and even on the pillows. There were no pillow cases and we did not ask for any, I travel with my own travel pillow for cases like this. The sheets were fresh and there was a thick blanket. We were not cold at night. There were no towels either, we did ask for those and got them immediately, clean and fresh.
The bathroom itself, freshly renovated, was superb. Best in Sri Lanka :) The water was HOT.
We stayed for one night and left for Horton Plains early in the morning. For one night, the hotel was more than enough, we enjoyed view of the Victoria Park from the terrace. Wifi worked ok.
I recommend the hotel for a very short stay. For a longer stay, I would feel uncomfortable because of the mold.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeJay_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I did not have a reservation when I landed at Nuwara Eliya during my backpacking trip, I went in search of this place as it was mentioned in tripadvisor & lonely planet. I was made to stand at the reception for five minutes to be shown to a room with three beds & a very small bathroom, price they offered was not worth 1800Rs. Sri Lankan (without breakfast), & they were not ready to negociate. Then a white middle aged couple arrived, the guys at the reception went away to show them better rooms on a higher level. I waited for another five minutes, & left from there!

Room Tip: there are much better places in Nuwara Eliya than this at same or lesser cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidtotherescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here in late April/ early May this year and enjoyed our time here a lot.
Our first night was spent next door at the Victoria Inn, which we were kicked out of the next day as the owner told us he was doubling the price of the room and we could either pay up or go, so we packed up and went to New Tour Inn instead.
The rooms here were much better quality than those we saw at Victoria Inn and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was empty due it being low season and we had the whole place to ourselves. The rooms were clean, not mouldy and smelly like next door, a bit damp but then so was everywhere else we looked at during our stay, even the extremely expensive hotels on the hill and by the golf course. The massage facilities down stairs were good after a long day walking out in the tea estates and room service is provided or you can read and eat up in the bar area.
Overall very satisfied.

Room Tip: If you turn up on the spot, look at all rooms first and barter a lot. Most hotels will give you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Simple and clean hotel. Bathrooms are as brand new (certainly renovated recently). Rooms are clean and even have tv (not that we care).

Convenient location: just behind Victoria park and the bus station. Really quiet area which was really good as we had to wake up at 5am the next to visit Horton plains and World's end (a must see).

We did not spend much time in this hotel (from 6pm to 5am) so it was more than enough for us.

As we left early in the morning, they prepared us a take-away breakfast. The owner's young son is very nice and friendly. He drove us safely to Horton plains and World's end in his comfortable 4 wheel car and then to Tissamaharama. Do not hesitate to contact him!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Park View Guest House
Park View Guest House
#62 of 234 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#7 of 187 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milano Inn
Milano Inn
#35 of 187 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greenhill Bungalow
Greenhill Bungalow
#140 of 234 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Tea Fields
Villa Tea Fields
#3 of 187 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thilina Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Thilina Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#102 of 234 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Tour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Tour Inn

Property: New Tour Inn
Address: No 22 Park Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Tour Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Tour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing