We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent option in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Tour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Tour Inn
Ranked #134 of 222 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent option in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

They have 2 different styles of accommodation at the Tour Inn it seemed to us. We stayed in a Budget room, while they had more upmarket and expensive rooms at the top levels which were popular with Chinese Tour Groups. So I am reviewing the budget rooms. There were 3 of us and our room had 3 beds crowded into it. The shower was very hot but the Wifi/internet was very slow or non existent. The breakfast was included in our price and it was magnificent, We got the same as the tour groups. A plate of 5 fruits. 3 pieces of toast each, jam, butter, 2 eggs. As budget travelers this was appreciated. So overall I gave 4 stars due to the Wifi and crammed room, but a good option for budget travelers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    36
    16
    18
See reviews for
10
43
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Advertised as a hotel but don't be fooled. If you don't mind hostels then you'll probably be fine here, but its very overpriced for what you get for your money. Damp, dirty, stained bed linen, no towels provided. It rains a lot in Nuwara Elyia and whenever it did, the roof leaked water right above the bed. We had a room on the top floor right next to the communal eating area so it was noisey at night. I wish I'd taken a picture to prove all I've written as some of the other reviews and pictures make it sound like a lovely place. Room quality obviously varies. To sum up, I wouldn't recommend. Spend a little extra and stay in a propper colonial cottage.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantThinkOfAName75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This place had just one room available and we had to share bathroom with another room. The rooms were damp and the sheets were just okay. Our room had a view of a nearby huge garden. The room was damp everywhere but I am not sure if its because if the bad weather or lack of maintanence. The reception staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had a okay stay and the busstand and restuarants were all nearby. Food can be delivered to our room but it was overprices . We eat at Milans before busstand it was good and was good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors are better but they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelindia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was wet everywhere!!! Horrible - don't stay in this place. Even if management was fine and bathroom was nice there was fung was in bedroom. We thought to stay there 4 days but resign after two. Try to find better place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We found this at the last minute because the place we had reserved (king fern bungalow) was much further out of the centre than we wanted to be. It's opposite victoria park, with views over the park.

We had a room on the first floor, very clean,brand new bathroom , excellent shower with very hot water (necessary cos it is chilly in this part of the country!!).

The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly 'Lucky' who gave us a great room, made us fresh juice for breakfast and gave us good tips about the area etc.

It's really reasonable for what you get, really good breakfast, good internet connection.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdutchburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is located close to town, with beautiful bathrooms, hot water and in my opinion really nice cottage style rooms. The rate is quite decent, and the staff have been friendly and helpful. It gets cold at night but they have thick, heavy blankets and very nice beds. I can easily recommend this hotels to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Clean simple rooms. Beautiful renovated bathrooms. Exceptional service. 5 min walk to centre of town. Overlooking picturesque park too!!!
Breakfast was great. If departing by train don't take a Tuk Tuk. The road will suck for another year!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Park View Guest House
Park View Guest House
#69 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#7 of 178 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milano Inn
Milano Inn
#31 of 178 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greenhill Bungalow
Greenhill Bungalow
#136 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Tea Fields
Villa Tea Fields
#3 of 178 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thilina Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Thilina Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#97 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Tour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Tour Inn

Property: New Tour Inn
Address: 22 Park Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Tour Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your New Tour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing