We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay if you have a transport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Star Inn

Silver Star Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Star Inn
Ranked #132 of 216 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Stay if you have a transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed there for one night. The services was great, the room and the house is very clean, the family was very friendly, The wifi was fast at the common room downstair but not so in the rooms. They have two workers that are dedicated to take care of the house and the guest. The breakfast was good. The only thing that makes it not excellent for me is the location. They are actually great, located in front of the lake, away from the city, very peaceful and tranquil environment.
But since they are quite far from city (could take more than 30 minutes to walk) and there are certainly no public bus that runs along the house, so the only choice would be to take tuk-tuk (150-250 Rs per trip). I would recommend people that are travelling with family and couples to stay here for solo traveller maybe not so, unless your own transport.

p/s: It could get really cold at night and the hot water is not hot enough for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shahul Hameed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is located on Upper Lake Road, on the outskirts of Nuwara Eliya. Almost everybody in town knows the place, so any tuk-tuk driver can take you there. They charge 200 LKR from town. What I liked most about this hotel was that it is not located in the town (which isn’t very spectacular), but 3 kilometers away, surrounded by tea plantations and in front of the lake. We had a room on the upper level with a balcony and large window facing the lake. The sunsets were so spectacular! The room is quite spacious and neat. It got quite chilly at nighttime, but the bed had a good blanket to keep us warm. The bathroom wasn’t very big but did have hot water. I would say that the best thing about the room was its view, so you should definitely try to get one of the two rooms facing the road. The hotel is actually a house ran by a very friendly family. The house’s décor is quite unique and eccentric. A large breakfast is included and consists of several slices of bread, jam, butter, eggs, tea and fruit. A couple of times the lady of the house made dinner for us (costing 400 LKR per person) and it was very tasty! The family is very nice and friendly but they don’t speak a lot of English, but short and simple sentences did the trick. We had good WiFi access during our first 4 days there, but on the last day there seem to be a problem with the connection and we couldn’t use it. Cons? I would say that they could change the room’s bed because it is a little uncomfortable (it sinks down in the middle), the room was a little dusty and the worst was a group of pigeons that live on the balcony’s roof, making a lot of noise in the morning and evenings. I hope the hotel can get rid of them without hearting them (they might have nests with eggs). If I go back to Nuwara Eliya I would choose this place again because of the cheap price, great location and spacious room.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper level facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. At first we wanted to stay for 3, but the town was just so different from what we were used to - the climate, the people were different, it was like you are not in Sri Lanka anymore. The hotel is a very big house a very tasteless building inside and out. The room for 2 with no view cost us 3000 Rs with breakfast. The room was basic with a small bed that 'fits' 2 and a nice new little bathroom with hot water. The room has no heater though. The staff is very nice and helpful, would even bring you a heater or anything else you need. There was no mosquito net, but also no mosquitos :) The boss is a bit weird drives this new truck and looks like he is in the mafia.

Room Tip: Take one of the rooms that have a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We made a reservation for a triple room in this hotel for one night after seeing nice reviews. The hotel looks cute from outside, but inside is a nightmare. As soon as we entered to the hotel, we could see a dining table with food (breakfast) left, which was not cleaned after eating, with lots of flies! We wanted to see the room we reserved first and there was a very strong smell when opened the room. The room was moldy and looked very basic. We decided immediately to leave since the smell was so strong and terrible.

Would not recommend to stay there at all!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSapphireLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

When we caught a taxi to the hotel the driver said us that it's a very nice place. And it's true.
This is a new hotel and I can recommend it for all. It's a very beautiful house with an interesting interior. Rooms are big and clean. Breakfast was very tasty. The owner of the hotel is a very nice guy. He helped us in all things and did do for us more then we expected. He has a nice family.
All of us were happy staying here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The family treats you like you a king!!
Rooms with a big view to the lake!
The food is the best!!
The just cant tell you how much i loved this pleace and the peaple there!!
The rooms are realy big, with pleace for 3!
2 minets from town by tuktuk 150 rupis!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.2 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#19 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Star Inn

Property: Silver Star Inn
Address: 145 Upper Lake Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy inn facing Lake Gregory, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka offering 17 bedrooms along with food and beverages all around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Silver Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing