We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for a lighter meal”

Magnolia (All Day Dinning)
Ranked #15 of 48 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Good option for a lighter meal”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Open kitchen with chefs in tall white hats, and food was pleasant with a reasonable choice. Is a good choice if you just want a lighter meal. They serve a complimentary bread basket as well which was welcome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank peking303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    39
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
754 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We ate here one night while staying at the Grand. Having seen the Magnolia get busy later in the evening we opted to eat about 7pm which proved to be a wise move as soon after we arrived it was full and people were putting their names on a waiting list. There was a pleasant atmosphere and we shared a bottle of Lion beer with our meal. I had the Nasi Goreng and my other half enjoyed fettucini with chicken and we both really enjoyed our food. We then shared a dessert.
Although the Magnolia was busy we did not feel at all rushed and enjoyed a good standard of service, as well as our meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EveningEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostrevor, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“What a total rip off”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This would have to be the worst experience in Nuwara. As I had a decent meal in the Grand Indian, I thought that a morning espresso would be great in their coffee shop. After a wait of about 20 minutes, I was finally approached and I ordered a double espresso, which was just passable. Then came the bill nearly $7.00 for this, and less for a full meal the night before - why do caffeine addicts end up paying through the nose - shame on you Grand Hotel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The best eclairs in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This coffee shop offers you a Sri Lanka style coffee mixed with some European traditions. There are various bakery items. For local travelers, I highly recommend the eclairs here. It is the best I have tasted in Sri Lanka.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agampodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We liked the Grand hotel even if past reviews say thehotel is "fake"... Nice coffee shop with good western food after a week of curries that was nice. The Tea shop was also a lovely place to sit and have a beer or a cocktail.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank asiatravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia (All Day Dinning) also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Magnolia (All Day Dinning)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing