We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misty Mountain Villas
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Gem in the mountains”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in Mountain Villa for a night in August 2013 and enjoyed it a lot. The Hotel is new and made with great care and style, the bathroom in the room is the best we had seen during our 2 weeks trip through Sri Lanka. Leo and his family are great hosts, though we had our own driver, they organized us an overview trip of Nuwara Eliya which we enjoyed a lot. Views from the hotel rooms are fantastic. Please note that the hotel is located high in the mountains - so better to call Leo in advance and organize a transfer to the hotel (our driver refused to go there as the road is quite complicated) We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel - one of a kind.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProstoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas.

Reyal & Tarnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was one of the best evenings we spent during our holiday in Sri Lanka. The owner Leo , is perhaps one of the nicest people we met on our travels. He offered us a warm cosy fire (needed that high up the mountain side) and one of the best home cooked dinners. His family were also so warm and welcoming and nothing was ever too much trouble. The room was clean with amazing panoramic views across the valley. The bathroom was frankly incredible- a huge jacuzzi bath! Everyone planning a trip to central Sri Lanka should stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyyouburgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas.

We are also happy that our Manager Leo treated you well .

Reyal & Tarnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

remember to ask leo to arrange pickup (train station is around 10 km away). it was freezing cold in August. the warm tea and blanket leo provided (and the reggae music, and the free wifi) when we arrived immediately won our heart. :)
and the view from the room is amazing, we almost decided to spend the whole afternoon sitting on the bench and enjoying tea and the view, (it would've been worth it, we went to visit tea plantation instead, which was not as much fun)

below is in Chinese:
比较难找但是非常推荐!住山顶风景实在是太美了。Leo自己设计的房间布置得也很温馨,卫生间是在斯里兰卡看到的最好配置。公共区域有壁炉。8月非常冷,我们一到Leo马上我们毛毯热茶,我们过于感动以至于忘记讨价还价了。

Room Tip: standard room #2 with large windows on 2 sides, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and that our Manager Leo treated you well.

Reyal & Tarnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and i recently stayed in Misty Mountain Villas.. What can I say...unbeleivable views of the entire town, Amazing food served up by the the chef/manager Leo... Leo is an amazing guy, he cooks, cleans, maintains the grounds and can organise pritty much anything you can throw at him, you name it he can do it. We stayed 4 days and were absolutely mesmerized with the place it was the most amazing place I have ever stayed hands down, we did not want to leave, and now we're back I think of it everyday but will definantly return as soon as possible.. If I could rate Misty Mountains out of 100 it would be 150/100..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and that our Manager Leo treated you well.

Reyal & Tarnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the misty mountain villas near the end of April for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms are built within a cute, very well maintained garden and each room overlooks the nuwara eliya valley. It got chilly on a couple of the evenings and Leo lit a wood fire for us. Leo's English is excellent and he helped us organise our activities during our stay. He makes a cracking cup of cinnamon tea too.. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henster29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and enjoyed the view as well.

We are happy to note that our Manager, Leo made your stay enjoyable as well.

Reyal & Tarnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I arrived in Nuwara Eliya by train (a great trip in itself clean and cool train and wonderful scenery costing 400r from Kandy) and was approached by a driver named Duna, who was a great find. He suggested the Misty Mountain, owned by a friend and I am very pleased he did. The hotel opened 3 months ago and was built and designed by the owner Leo. The rooms are good with very luxurious bathrooms. I chose to stay in the cabana in the garden which was lovely with panoramic windows overlooking the hills, taking a shower is quite something with these views. They offered to light a fire in the evening as it is gloriously cold, back to a duvet! Leo, his wife and daughter are very nice and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and I ate out on the terrace surrounded by a lovely flower garden created by Leo as is a lot of the furniture built by him, it's a very eco-friendly hotel and has lots of special touches. At this time the road leading to the hotel, which lies at the foot of the highest mountain in Sri Lanka, is only partially finished, something Leo is working on, so be prepared to walk the last 5 minutes.

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms and they have sensational views and ultra luxurious bathrooms all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and that our Manager Leo treated you well. We also note that you enjoyed the views food etc.

Thanks for visiting our hotel.

Reyal & Tarnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#9 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nidwalden Resort
Nidwalden Resort
#2 of 185 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#6 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#7 of 185 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountain Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Villas

Property: Misty Mountain Villas
Address: No. 13 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the highest mountain of Sri Lanka Piduurutalagala. Sitting at the peak of this mountain lays a beautifully crafted property with stunning views. This marvelous retreat features very welcoming, comfortable and rooms with open log fires & modern facilities throughout. Luxury suite on top of the property has a spacious bedroom and bathroom with a spa bath and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Misty Mountain Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing