We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misty Mountain Villas
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It rained a lot and it was cold when we stayed in Nuwara Eliya, but we didn't mind because we had a very cosy room with a fireplace. The owner, Leo, was most helpful and we could have a nice chat with him because he lived in The Netherlands for a while. A nice twist to a holiday in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas.
Leo is our caretaker/chef at the hotel.

Please do visit us again.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great for people on a budget.
Location - it's located on top of a mountain (hence the name I guess!). It was difficult to get to the mountain, our driver's car had a hard time climbing so we had to ditch the car and walk.
Staff - friendly staff
Food - breakfast was included; it was very very basic - was tea, fruit and bread.
Room - it gets very cold at night, the blankets provided were the thermal kind (and didn't look like it was washed!), to use the fireplace it's an extra charge - so be prepared to layer up at night!
Construction was going on on part of the hotel where the breakfast area was - the 'garden' as they called it during Feb 2014. Our bathroom didn't have any curtains which was strange; the shower temperature was either hot or cold - no inbetween!
Ideal for couples or travellers on a budget and don't plan on staying in the hotel - just treating it like a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRoberts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We regret the shortcomings on behalf of the hotel as major construction is happening at the moment. Arrangements are being made to rectify these issues in the future

Thanks

Reyal & Tarnia
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel really is aptly named, being right at the top of a windy road. The mist came down the valley in the morning giving a stunning view from the balcony. Our bathroom had a huge window out of the valley so you could sit in the bath and admire the view.

When we arrived, we were given fresh tea and biscuits. The rooms were a little quirky, one being secured with a padlock rather than a regular key! This meant that there was no cleaning of the room during our 3 night stay. But spacious and clean enough with comfortable beds. However, one of the toilets had no water in when we arrived and the day it rained, water poured in through the wall! Both issues were resolved fairly quickly, but still inconvenient during our stay.

They are building a very large extension presently, so there was a bit of noise but it didn't keep us up at night or anything. When it's finished, it looks like there will be a good few extra rooms.

The owner was very helpful in organising a tour to Horton Plains with a packed lunch and pickup from the hotel (although paid slightly above the odds). We also had dinner one night which was reasonably priced and very tasty food.

A good way to get a tuk tuk from here was to walk down the hill (about 15 minutes) and hire a local guy from there - we found a really friendly, honest driver who charged very cheap rates and even drove all the way back up the hill after my boyfriend left his phone in the tuk tuk!! (I don't know many London cabbies who would do the same...) His name was Nimal and we wrote his number in the comments book at the hotel if you need a driver while there.

Overall, a good base for our exploring of Nuwara Eliya with stunning views and tasty tea/dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your comments.
Arrangements are being made to rectify the shortcomings in the future. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

When we get to Nuwara Eliya we rent a tuk-tuk driver to show us a good value place to stay for 3 days. After first few horrible shows of burrows and our disappointment, he called some friend and took us up up up the hill. The road was quite long and winding, at the end so steep, that we had to get ou of the tuk-tuk, because it stopped. We forgot about this inconvenience very fast, when we saw our lovely room in colonial atmosphere with stunning view on tea hills. We were low-budget travelers, but the final price was acceptable. For me it was a bit to cold (mid of Feb, about 15 Celsius in the evening) even when the owner Leo light the fireplace. Leo is a very specific and intriguing man. Great cook, but we had some problems to enforced some agreed cases. As everywhere in Sri Lanka, owner count every penny so don't think he's cunning man.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pancia_Laserka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and enjoyed the view as well.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It's an interesting guesthouse which located on the top of the hill, the rooms are appealing , our room is a bungalow, which is cozy and clean. There is a french sash in the toilet, the scenery is spectacular. the owner is very friendly and helpful , but don't hire tuk-tuk through him ,it will be much more expensive than the usual price. Over all, the villa is above-average in all aspects, esp.the price , so the value is just on average level..

Room Tip: room on the 2 nd floor and the bungalow(family room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and enjoyed the view as well.

We are sorry about the cost of the tuk tuk. It depends on the distance, and timing of your location.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

After reading the great reviews our expectations were high. Sadly we were dissapointed. 

I don't know how other reviewers make their assesments but to give this place 4 or 5 stars is really to much. 

That said, it is true that the staff are friendly and helpfull, that the beds are soft and have enough blankets and that there is hot water. 

However the room we had (so called "delux room") was otherwise not very appealing, didn't feel really clean, no housekeeping between nights so our trashbin didn't get emptied, bathtub/shower not really good as the water was either scolding hot or freezing cold, wi-fi only worked at front desk, tv didn't work at all, food mediocre and irritating that you have to pay extra for having a fire in the room. (Hence you pay for heating in the room. Have you ever paid extra for electricity or AC?!) 

It is also quite far from the city (NB; the map on Tripadvisor is absolutely not correct.), and there is no shops or restaurants close by. Many tuk-tuk drivers hesitate to make the ride up to Misty Mountains - at least all the way. 

Misty Mountain Villas isn't really bad, just don't come with too high expectations and stay only a night or two.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Your comments have been noted and we we would like to inform you as follows.

When guests stay at the hotel for more than a day, rooms would be arranged only if requested by the guests.

we always advice the guests that it takes a little while before you get the required temperature of the hot water - as we are situated at the very top and the pressure is a bit low as soon as the taps are open even though we use a pressure pump.

We are still to hear from the TV installation company although we have requested them to hurry the installation. -Sorry.

Please also make that all hotels in Nuwara Eliya charge for a fire in Individual rooms due to the cost of fire wood
.
The map states that we are 20 minutes from the city. Hence sorry that there are no restaurants near by.

We are glad that the hotel staff treated you well.




Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was really great place to stay ! But with some negatives .we got the bus here and at the bus station ,the local tuk tuk mafia said it was miles away ,(the whole of our time here you get hounded by tuk tuk drivers), but on this occasion they were right ! It said in agoda that the hotel is 500m from the centre of town ! Well it's not ! And furthermore as in the description it's at the top of a blinking big hill ! We were going to walk with our bags and were glad we didn't as it's 30 mins without bags each way.,(250lkr by tuk tuk).I am a keen walker so this didn't bother me ,other than it not saying that in the description that it is up a very steep road ,and you don't want to be carrying bags at the same time . But having said that the room was great although no heating ,which we didn't need although a bit chilly in the morning. You can have a real fire lit in your room for 800lkr !!! The staff are great and the views from the room (room 3) was spectacular ,the bed really comfortable and nice bathroom although we had hot water only once in our 3 days. The only other niggle for me is Buddha has a loudspeaker a very LOUD loudspeaker and his dulcet tones can be heard at 5am ! So really good earplugs required. If you can put up with the walk in and out of town and of course the local monastery a nice place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Boeing737man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

We note that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas.

We are extremely sorry about the water situation as you would have noticed that we did not have electricity ( the whole of Nuwara Eliya) for two consecutive days. We are in the process of utilizing a generator to avoid this situation in the future.

We also regret the loud speakers that woke you up at 5 am. Which is beyond our control.

Thanks for visiting Misty Mountain Villas.

Reyal & Tarnia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.9 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
893 reviews
0.8 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nidwalden Resort
Nidwalden Resort
#2 of 224 in Nuwara Eliya
130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Misty Hills Boutique Cottage B&B
Misty Hills Boutique Cottage B&B
#12 of 224 in Nuwara Eliya
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountain Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Villas

Address: No. 13 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 224 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £36 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the highest mountain of Sri Lanka Piduurutalagala. Sitting at the peak of this mountain lays a beautifully crafted property with stunning views. This marvelous retreat features very welcoming, comfortable and rooms with open log fires & modern facilities throughout. Luxury suite on top of the property has a spacious bedroom and bathroom with a spa bath and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Misty Mountain Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing