We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Bungalow In Hill Country Sri Lanka For Memorable Relaxation”
Review of Stafford Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stafford Bungalow
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It was an amazing experience we had at Stafford Bungalow with our annual family outing.
It was designed with modern architecture giving everyone diverse feeling, relaxation
and comfortable stay. Kids enjoyed a lot and they were thrilled with many options available
for them such as Tennis, Badminton, Cycling and TV lobby with modern facilities.

We all enjoyed fantastic food provided by an well experienced cook. Food was delicious and arranged as per our wish, requirements with many varieties. Stewed Suranga as usual amazed us with beautiful table, bed decorations and high class service offered day and night. Large bedrooms with attached modern wash-rooms with all the facilities, Stafford Bungalow made our
holiday worthwhile and full of relaxation and satisfaction to all of us. It was a real amazing
experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shamal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Stafford Bungalow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

A superb setting with excellent staff. I still remember the name of the butler - Surang! An ideal cottage for for 2 to 3 families. With 3 rooms and a fourth "mattress room", this cottage nestled in the hills, is an ideal place for a 2 to 3 day holiday. The staff is excellent and makes you feel comfortable - cooks according to your needs and makes you feel relaxed. The surrounding tea estate is an ideal place to walk and trek. The cottage itself, which is more than a 100 years old, is an experience to stay in! The garden is beautiful.
There is no pool or fitness centre but one may not miss these there.

Room Tip: try and go in a group and book the entire cottage
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharadDhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

5* in anticipation of a refurb which I understand is taking place in Summer 2013.
I stayed at the Stafford bungalow with friends in February. Despite the rain we had an amazing time at the bungalow. The rooms were really spacious, the setting was amazing, the gardens really well maintained and the log fire was a great replacement for the sunshine. Most importantly of all though, the staff were absolutely fantastic. We were treated to traditional Sri Lankan food (there was a more English menu) and whilst well looked after, were left alone to treat the bungalow as home.
An amazing bungalow, colonial style with Sri Lankan hospitality, and a stunning setting.

Room Tip: Take long trousers or walking boots for walks around the tea plantations.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kgoring80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank navalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
3.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,597 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,547 reviews
7.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,043 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Bungalow

Address: Hemas Limited | Halgranoya, Ragala, Nuwara Eliya, Nuwara Eliya 001, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £145 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stafford Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 30 minutes from Nuwara Eliya, in the picturesque little village hamlet of Ragala, within the precincts of the Stafford Tea Estate, lies this beautiful heritage bungalow. Built in 1884 in the days of the British Raj by the trail blazing Scotts, the bungalow's colonial charm has been lovingly maintained through the years, albeit with the addition of modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stafford Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing