We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
200
17
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
17
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin and tonic tea plantation estate manager before dinner high tea morning tour hot water bottles plantation walk clay tennis court head butler playing tennis master suite games room afternoon tea and breakfast visit stafford informative tour pre breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

No complains at all . The best property in the Hills , Great Food , amazing decor and hospitality . Each room came with private Butlers . The cook can customise food according to individuals taste buds . The tea/coffee plantation itself was very highly well maintained . I could have given a 10 star if possible . Keep up the good work guys .

Room Tip: Stay 1 night at Nuwara Eliya main city and 1 night at Stafford Bungalow
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tathagata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Our family of 5 (kids 19,15,12) arrived here after a very hectic 24 hours in Kandy. To say that our welcome to this beautiful property was wonderful would be an understatement. The beauty and peace of the setting overlooking the tea plantation was enhanced by the exceptionally kept garden in which we were welcomed with a delicious British- style high tea. As we settled in to our large airy rooms, ( there are only 4) the kids enjoyed tennis on the court. The food here is exceptional, produced with as much locally grown food as possible and great skill. The personal service and attention to detail were far beyond any expectations we had, right down to the G&T before dinner. I can not recommend this place enough. We stayed two nights and wished for more. Thank you all at Stafford Bungalow.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank GXmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

I am so happy that I chose this hotel even though it is a 40 min drive from Nuwara Eliya. It's a gem!

The hotel has only 4 rooms. The building used to be the tea plantation manager's house, and was built in the 1800s. It's surrounded by lovely tea plantation views, and there is a local village close by. They have a lovely garden in which they serve afternoon tea, and an organic garden from which they make yummy food.
The rooms are all different from each other, but don't lack any amenities. There is a library and a sitting room where they serve gin tonics before dinner. The food prepared by the chef is delicious!
There is a tennis court and possibilities for bird watching, tea plantation walks, etc. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. My driver who had never been to this property before, said that he felt super welcomed by the staff, and said that everyone was so nice.
A big shout out goes to the butler. He is the kindest, most helpful person ever, and he has great ideas of how to develop this hotel. He made my stay into a memorable one.

This was by far the best hotel I stayed in in Sri Lanka!
If you want luxury in a peaceful environment, look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The bungalow and the surrounding was lovely but our stay would have been nicer if we had more privacy. The manager kept invading our privacy even when we clearly indicated we weren't interested to take the tea walk. Limited choices for dining and no other restaurant around to eat. Expensive menu.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We had extremely high expectations about Stafford Bungalow and, from the moment we arrived, were not disappointed. The house and grounds are in superb condition. You could be extremely content just spending the day on the sun lounges gazing out over the beautiful grounds but there is so much more to enjoy. Our Australian family of 5 (children aged 14, 12 and 9) had such a great time walking to the picnic area, playing tennis, croquet and mini golf. The service from the staff is incredible, every need was taken care of by the incredible butler and other staff. The attention to detail from the evening gin and tonic to the antique furniture to linen napkins makes you feel like you are transported back to the tea plantation days, all in complete luxury. The food though was an absolute highlight - afternoon tea on the lawn, an incredible four course dinner and sumptuous breakfast. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night and not two. I would return to Sri Lanka just to visit Stafford Bungalow again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank CHG3270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimesha G, Public Relations Manager at Stafford Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great accolade. Stafford Bungalow gives the opportunity for a family such as yours to have a convenient stay, and we are glad you enjoyed the activities living in a Tea Planters home with all the modern-day comforts. We are so glad that your children enjoyed this.
The benefit of a longer stay is that you could fully immerse in the plantation life and explore the area around.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews