We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique horribel experience”
Review of Unique Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unique Cottages
Ranked #45 of 248 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique horribel experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

After a beautiful journey by train, we arrived at Newara. Nice arrival at the hotel, coffee and tea was provided. Friendly staff; So far so good.
Dinner was very bad:no atmosphere,choice between only 2 main courses,dry and cold food,no drinks were offered during dinner.
Back at the room we had a nice cold shower,after complaining nobody shows up. Towells were also dirty.
In the evening we had much noise from other guests. Stairway and rooms were very noisy,together with the leaking shower. Thereby we could get sleep around 00.30hr.
Around 5 o'clock in the morning we were awake,because of the Arab praying rituals. Nice cultural insights.After that,the nearby traffic kept us awake. A staffmember decided to sweep the stairway,also a bit noisy at 06.00hr. We enjoyed the HBO/movie package on the television.
A unique experience for one try, definitly no second.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maarten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    38
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
26
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deinze, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for one night. The rooms are nice , but as the temperature were rather low, it was cold . We searched for blankets but didn't find any. The same remark in the bathroom : no heater. So if it' s true that in january temperature sometimes drop to 2 degrees, then you could have a problem. We also got for the first time during ou 3 week stay , canned fruit juice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Pierre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying in this small, quaint and beautiful house. A nice change from large hotels-very clean rooms and great service. Small things like free tea coffee and hot chocolate throughout the day-adds the personal touch. Lovely breakfast-order as u please-no rushing to buffets! Close to town and walking distance from restaurants and Victoria park-overall a wonderful place to stay.hope to go back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Raanz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is neither unique, nor is it a cottage. Trading standards would have words with them if this hotel was elsewhere! We booked in at the last minute, largely because none of our first choice hotels answered the phone. After a long journey all we wanted was cleanliness and a bed which we found at unique cottages. They also provide drivers accommodation which was useful. The room was simple with TV and wi fi. We were told we had a special room with a jacuzzi, but the bathroom is actually in a kind of annex with frosted glass walls and roof which essentially turned it into a greenhouse which was almost unbearable to use. In addition we couldn't make the cold tap work and the hot water was scalding so the jacuzzi experience was a non-event. Rather bizarrely you are asked to order your breakfast the night before, even though the only option is eggs. Why they need to know whether you want boiled, scrambled or fried 12 hours in advance I have no idea, maybe they just like to be prepared. Staff are friendly enough and there were no major issues with our stay. It's decent value for money, but if you're looking for something special this probably isn't for you. Clean and functional, but nothing memorable. Good value for money though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManamaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

its a villa with few rooms, the location is in the center Nuwara eliya and so quite neighborhood. the breakfast is limited upon order, qualified friendly staff specially manager (mohammed Sanoor), the water heater doesn't work correctly, no water kettle in the room. no GYM, Great Value of money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxoo_bh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is just superb. I loved the view and the room. My only concern was with the cleanliness of the room- bedding was dirty with stains, washroom utilities were half empty looked as if was used by someone. Though all of it was changed when pointed but was it our job. Still for the location, room and hospitality I rate them over all as 3. Not bad.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeytikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

These are clean big cottage room at a very good location. It is a small hotel with all good facilities plus the location is also very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Totally recommend. The manager Maha with his evergreen smile makes your stay even better.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are bigger and better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
826 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#4 of 201 in Nuwara Eliya
440 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Mount Royal
Villa Mount Royal
#3 of 248 in Nuwara Eliya
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#9 of 248 in Nuwara Eliya
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Cottages

Property: Unique Cottages
Address: 112/3 Glenfall Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Unique Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Nuwara Eliya’s city centre, Unique Cottages is a cosy, ambient, and picturesque lodging surrounded by lush green gardens and the breathtaking views of Gregory Lake and Piduruthalagala Mountain. Unique cottages is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city living whilst enjoying some high-tea as you take in the scenery. The hotel is walking distance to the Nuwara Eliya golf course, the scenic Victoria Park, and esteemed race course. The Nuwara Eliya market, famous for its street vendors, merchants, and restaurants, is only a 10-minute walk away, and Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya’s closest railway station is 7.5km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Unique Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing