We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm.... Excellent stay...”
Review of The Hill Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hill Club
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hill Club is a Beautiful Colonial Club which still maintains its customs/traditions as handed over by the British in the 1800's. The property in itself was a beautiful and well maintained place with its beautiful gardens and impressive wooden interiors. Their impeccable service also needs a special mention. Overall a lovely stay at Hill Club.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for The Hill Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was on a tour and have no idea how much this room cost as the price was included in the tour package. The hotel wasn't full, but I was put in a room at the back of the hotel at the furthest end of the hallway. Windows opened onto an old collection of rusty roofs and the air was filled with the sound of some machine running until quite late. The room was grubby in appearance - needed paint, the bathroom was old and very tired. Mosquitoes carried off most of my blood during the night and the sound of a vacuum cleaner somewhere down the hall woke me at 6am. I was banned from the formal dining area - imagine wearing short pants in a tropical climate in the Indian Ocean. Times have changed - I am sure when the place was new and up to date, the dress code suited the times. However, the grounds were impeccably maintained and the dining room staff was courteous and efficient (they let me in for breakfast - short pants and all). The nostalgia may outweigh the shoddiness for some, but i prefer something a little nicer. Side note: they had a great beer special in the commoner's bar the night I was there and I shared a couple of bottles of ice-cold anchor beer with a delightful couple from england who - like me, was attired in short pants also and banned from the snooty bar and dining area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have you read novels set in the British Raj? If yes, this will take you into one of them. If no, you will probably read your first after this. To begin with the town of Nuwara Eliya is a big jump back into the time of Bristish colonialism. Without exaggeration it peaks at the Hill Club. The common areas including a library and pool/cards/carrom rooms ooze colonial charm. In the evening, or earlier if you must, grab a gin and tonic- or two or three (who's counting..) at the bar. Formal dining is a set menu, but gentlemen dont forget your tie and jacket! (well, if you did, the Club will loan them to you free of cost). You will be served by waiters in white gloves. By this time you are probably drunk enough to actually believe its back in the day. I have probably (hopefully) never worn such mismatched clothing (I borrowed their tie and jacket since I didnt bring any on the trip) ever in my life, but I would happily do it all over again!
By the way, the rooms are large, spacious and comfortable. When you are ready for bed, dont be surprised to see that somebody has turned your bed down and there is a hot water bottle to keep you warm in bed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed one night while on an Exodus group tour. This is a beautiful, old, colonial, English hotel. Beautifully decorated. Men, pack a button up shirt, jacket and tie (loaned) required in the formal dining room. Excellent food and service, waiters in white gloves, fun and cool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

An absolutely wonderful historic building kept in the past. full of old fashioned colonial British touches. The formal dinner was a hoot, the grounds fantastic and the hot water bottle a bit puzzling!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The special touch here was the hot water bottle placed in the bed even though it really was not cold enough to appreciate it. It has lovely gardens and is only a five minute walk down town so very conveniently situated. One of the big attractions was the special formal dinner but we felt this was really over the top and no better than many cheaper options. We took clothes especially for the evening. My husband had a good leather jacket and dress shoes but was told that the jacket was the wrong material so had to go and select one of their sports jackets from their collection to borrow. The meal was nice enough but nothing to rave about. The entree choice was things we were unable to eat and we had discussed this with the staff earlier and had been promised something different but when the time came were told it was unavailable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank farm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We both loved this hotel the moment we saw it. It is set in lovely grounds that could be any where in England. You can have tea on the terraced garden and think you were in England. The hotel bedroom was lovely with wooden floorboards and old decor, the only thing out of place was the modern electric fire placed in the old fireplace. The bathroom was long and spacious. The shower was a little neglected but it did not spoil our experience. We had single beds despite our request for a double bed but they were comfortable and the room was very clean. The staff were excellent and very helpful. We opted to eat out on our first night at a local restaurant just down the hill. We were offered Kottu a local dish of fried dough with vegetables and chicken, It was delightful and with a beer each it cost us around £8. Second night we ate in the formal dining area. I chose a well fitting jacket from the extensive wardrobe of jackets. it was free of charge and it fitted well. We had a lovely four course dinner fro the set menu. The food was lovely even if my pork chop was slightly overcooked.The service was excellent and the wine was very good. Eating in the hotel is quite expensive in relation to local Sri Lankan cuisine. The wine was £27 a bottle and the food about £15 a head. The total bill for the two of us came to £53 English pounds, However the bill would have been cheaper if the 10% service charge and 12 and a half percent vat and two other taxes had not been added. After dinner they served tea at a table in front of the log fire in the lounge. We relaxed on the sofa and enjoyed the rest of the evening. On returning to the bedroom the hot water bottle had been placed in both beds to warm them for us. These hot water bottles remained hot for at least six hours. The room was not particularly cold but the heat from the bottles made the bed real cosy. Breakfast was as good as the evening meal. We will return back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_clerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,547 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,043 reviews
1.1 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Club

Address: 29 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £64 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hill Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill Club is an exclusive members only Club, established in 1876, by the British Planters and continues as a prestigious club in Nuwara Eliya, which is surrounded by Tea Estates. With the British Planters moving out, The Hill Club remained and still remains a Members ONLY club after having opened it doors to Srilankans. To sustain the Club and to maintain same, the Club was opened to temporary members ( Tourist) Traditions are still maintained where Gentleman is required to wear Suit for Dinner and a lady smartly dressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hill Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hill Club Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Hill Hotel Nuwara Eliya
The Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing