We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for family with young kids!”
Review of The Hill Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hill Club
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not for family with young kids!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at the Hill Club during the holidays I spent in Sri Lanka with my family (2 kids 8 and 6) in April 2014. We did not appreciate much our stay in this hotel despite the unique feature of this old British mansion. We stayed in a standard room located at the ground floor at the back of the hotel was dim and not very clean. Definitely not a good value for money. Dinner time was an awful experience. As the main restaurant room has a very strict dress code after 7pm (suit and tie for men, appropriate dress for women) we resorted to the room service. We had to call 3 times and wait more than 1 hour before having the food served in our room. I must admit the food was of high quality. Another plus: the large expanse of lawn in front of the hotel where our kids enjoyed playing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    216
    112
    73
    72
See reviews for
129
298
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you want a swanky place then stay at the Grand hotel, however if you want to be taken back in time then the hill club is perfect. You can tell that not a lot has changed (except that they even let women in now!) and they have maintained the character of the place well (they even give you a hot water bottle which I haven't seen for years! I thought however that they could do with updating certain fixtures and fittings without it loosing its charm.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NKelly186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hill Club is a Beautiful Colonial Club which still maintains its customs/traditions as handed over by the British in the 1800's. The property in itself was a beautiful and well maintained place with its beautiful gardens and impressive wooden interiors. Their impeccable service also needs a special mention. Overall a lovely stay at Hill Club.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was on a tour and have no idea how much this room cost as the price was included in the tour package. The hotel wasn't full, but I was put in a room at the back of the hotel at the furthest end of the hallway. Windows opened onto an old collection of rusty roofs and the air was filled with the sound of some machine running until quite late. The room was grubby in appearance - needed paint, the bathroom was old and very tired. Mosquitoes carried off most of my blood during the night and the sound of a vacuum cleaner somewhere down the hall woke me at 6am. I was banned from the formal dining area - imagine wearing short pants in a tropical climate in the Indian Ocean. Times have changed - I am sure when the place was new and up to date, the dress code suited the times. However, the grounds were impeccably maintained and the dining room staff was courteous and efficient (they let me in for breakfast - short pants and all). The nostalgia may outweigh the shoddiness for some, but i prefer something a little nicer. Side note: they had a great beer special in the commoner's bar the night I was there and I shared a couple of bottles of ice-cold anchor beer with a delightful couple from england who - like me, was attired in short pants also and banned from the snooty bar and dining area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
560 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have you read novels set in the British Raj? If yes, this will take you into one of them. If no, you will probably read your first after this. To begin with the town of Nuwara Eliya is a big jump back into the time of Bristish colonialism. Without exaggeration it peaks at the Hill Club. The common areas including a library and pool/cards/carrom rooms ooze colonial charm. In the evening, or earlier if you must, grab a gin and tonic- or two or three (who's counting..) at the bar. Formal dining is a set menu, but gentlemen dont forget your tie and jacket! (well, if you did, the Club will loan them to you free of cost). You will be served by waiters in white gloves. By this time you are probably drunk enough to actually believe its back in the day. I have probably (hopefully) never worn such mismatched clothing (I borrowed their tie and jacket since I didnt bring any on the trip) ever in my life, but I would happily do it all over again!
By the way, the rooms are large, spacious and comfortable. When you are ready for bed, dont be surprised to see that somebody has turned your bed down and there is a hot water bottle to keep you warm in bed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed one night while on an Exodus group tour. This is a beautiful, old, colonial, English hotel. Beautifully decorated. Men, pack a button up shirt, jacket and tie (loaned) required in the formal dining room. Excellent food and service, waiters in white gloves, fun and cool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

An absolutely wonderful historic building kept in the past. full of old fashioned colonial British touches. The formal dinner was a hoot, the grounds fantastic and the hot water bottle a bit puzzling!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Club

Property: The Hill Club
Address: 29 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hill Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill Club is an exclusive members only Club, established in 1876, by the British Planters and continues as a prestigious club in Nuwara Eliya, which is surrounded by Tea Estates. With the British Planters moving out, The Hill Club remained and still remains a Members ONLY club after having opened it doors to Srilankans. To sustain the Club and to maintain same, the Club was opened to temporary members ( Tourist) Traditions are still maintained where Gentleman is required to wear Suit for Dinner and a lady smartly dressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hill Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hill Club Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Hill Hotel Nuwara Eliya
The Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing