We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveller rating
404
291
156
89
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
404
291
156
89
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacket and tie a hot water bottle reading room the formal dining room temporary membership members club sri lanka bygone era step back in time old world turn down service old colonial modern hotel sitting room unique experience snooker room beautiful garden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2019

This is the old gentleman's club for the British tea planters turned into a hotel. It has authentic charm and history but falls over with some basic modern requirements. There re also so many staff looking for something to do I felt sorry for them. The rooms are nice an comfortable though and a good location

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G8923UFmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2019 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our dinner at the Hill Club. Nuwara Eliya didn’t seem to offer much choice in terms of eating out. All the restaurants which come up top of TripAdvisor are all in the same vast hotel called the Grand and are mostly buffets. We were looking for something a little more unique. The Hill Club is a lovely old colonial building in a beautiful location and the restaurant is quite formal-looking at first glance. We had drinks by the fire and then a lovely 4-course dinner served by waiters in white gloves. The food was tasty and well prepared and extremely good value at $25 per person. Men do need a jacket and tie, but they will lend you one. Staff were very attentive and friendly. I would certainly return to the Hill Club. If you are the sort of person who might enjoy a return to a bygone era and wants a change on your trip from large hotels with vast buffets then look no further for Nuwara Eliya.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glamourjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2019

We spent 2 nights at the Hill Club as part of our 2 week trip through Sri Lanka.
It was quite a unique experience of a by-gone era, which, hopefully, will remain in the past.

The service was excellent, as was for the whole of Sri Lanka.

The Club had immaculate grounds, though the hotel itself had experienced better times in the past.
The dinner was semi-formal and lacked the exceptional cuisine we experienced in the rest of Sri Lanka, but was true to the colonial food the British probably expected.

Though there was little to do and see in Nuwara Eliya itself, there was a lot to experience a short ride from the town.

Though I have enjoyed the experience and the stay at the Hill Club, I do not feel that it is an experience I necessarily would feel is essential to repeat.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greengecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2019 via mobile

The hotel looks quite impressive as you you drive up. The staff are great and helped with all of our questions. We ate in the “casual” restaurant the first night as we arrived quite late. I didn’t fancy borrowing the required jacket and tie required to eat or drink in the formal parts. The meal was a set menu and was at best Ok although my wife liked hers. There are a lot cheaper options around. Be careful in the bar as on top of the price they add a 10% service charge and taxes taking a Lion beer to almost 1000 rupees!

The rooms are in character with the hotel and comfortable although the carpets could do with a good clean.

Overall. I think the hotel is overpriced and living off being an old gentleman club.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank U7751PVgaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

We really enjoyed two nights in the Hill Club experiencing life from a bygone era.
Old fashioned glamour, antique furniture, large rooms, various nooks & crannies, reading rooms.. beautifully groomed grounds ..the Hill Club has it all.
Yes you dress for dinner (jackets & ties supplied) but that is part of the attraction. Service is great..waiters with white gloves serve delicious predominately British food. Breakfast is made to order & is excellent.
The rooms are large, tons of hot water & they even put a hot water bottle in your bed.
What is not to like here.
Staying here is like slipping back to a different but very comfortable era.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Syl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews