We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool & Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during our honeymoon, and the chilling weather and the rather unusual hotel architecture was indeed very welcoming. A cup of tea in the evening at the open garden was one of my favorite. As other Heritance hotels, this hotel also strive to take efforts the make their guests stay a memorable one. Positive sides of the hotel would be the scenic location, delicious food, amazingly unusual architecture and free internet etc. We were a bit annoyed by the bumpy ride up the hill to the hotel which at times give you a back pain. Overall, nice hotel, and a definite come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivanthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 2,713 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Really enjoyed our days here. Staff a bit pushy but helpful when it came down to it. Food good, there are about nine menus but if you persist they'll come up with the stuff you want. High tea only just about worth it. Bring a cardigan. Go on the walk around the area - very interesting and eloquent Tamil guide, and you can see the forest as it was before the tea cleared most of it away, along with lovely views.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

A beautiful location, attentive staff, hotel deserved awards, lovely spa. Food very good. Picture window in bathroom allowed stunning views of tea terraces. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chenille_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel was an old tea factory which they turned into a hotel, it looks really cool and when you arrive they give you a warm welcome along with some lovely spice tea whilst checking in.

The road up to the hotel is a complete joke, its full of holes and you cant drive it with any bit of comfort at all.
Its up in the mountains so its freezing up there, and we only had summer shorts with us so we were very cold for the time we spent here. we spent 2 nights here.

Our first night we went down to have food and it was very nice, the food was great and there was such a huge selection. There was a guy playing the piano in the restaurant, and it was really enjoyed by us. we decided to go to the bar after dinner for a few drinks and we were the only ones in the hotel, everyone goes to bed early and there is nothing happening in the hotel after 9.30pm.

we stayed up for a few drinks but we felt like we were keeping the staff up as we were literally the only ones there. The morning after the night before they actually called us to wake us for breakfast as we hadnt come down in the alloted time, we had decided to skip breakfast but were embarrassed and felt obliged to go down for breakfast after recieving a phonecall.
the internet didnt work here in their internet area, the place is very nice make sure you bring your camera.

The spa is really good and i would recommend getting treatments here.
We booked the meal on the railway carriage for the 2nd night, It was a lovely treat and the food was really nice although we found it very pricey and a bit awkward as we were the only ones booked on it.

we did the tea picking and it was enjoyable as something to pass the time as we were so bored.
If your kind of holiday is early to bed and early to get up then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeneySweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I like this place and have stayed here twice. The service here is very good and deserves an A for effort but unfortunately this is not good enough to earn it 5/5.
It is a little of the beaten track and is a quite a few kilometers away from downtown Nuwara Eliya. That is one of the problems with the hotel. This area is nowhere near anything except endless tea plantations - if you want to get away from it all then this is the place for you. It is just a pity that the hotel didn't offer a bit more in the way of facilities such as a swimming pool, board games for bored kids (and adults), and a fully functioning gym. It does have a lovely spa but unless you have money to burn you can't keep going to them. You can do some nice treks through the tea plantations and pick your own tea but all that won't take too long.
The restaurant serves good and plentiful buffets with surroundings being serenaded by a resident pianist. The only criticism I would put is that if you come later in the evening then the meals can be quite dry - so it can be an advantage to be an early bird.
The rooms were really nice with spectacular views (albeit of tea plantations). Again the only gripe was that the "3rd bed" (as there were 3 of us) was a sofa bed and the springs were not terribly comfortable to sleep on.
I have also stayed at the Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya and the Tea Factory is the better of the two. I have no problems staying at the Tea Factory - but I don't think I will be coming to Nuwara Eliya when there are so many other places in Sri Lanka I would rather visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Food was terrible. Staff do a hard sell on their 'fine dining' experience - essentially a 5-7 course meal in a train carriage. We stayed for two nights and had 5 people ask us if we wanted to try this, some asked more than once. Annoying.

Also v noisy, first night our a crying baby was somewhere very nearby. Second night we got a call at 6.30pm asking us to turn the TV down - it wasnt even loud/late, my husband was in bed trying to recover from the food poisoning.

Very much geared to the package tourist who is only staying for a matter of hours (ie one night). Hotel dont seem to care about standards, i suppose most of the clients are only there for one evening meal and a breakfast.

Finally, road to hotel is very poor, they say its a public highway but the only thing on this road is the hotel - they could at least contribute to the maintenance! Maybe they leave it that way so that guests are so relieved to finally get there they dont notice how poor the hotel is.

Would not reccommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HTF, General Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Greetings from Heritance Tea Factory!

Thank you for your comments and we certainly value them for us to improve our services in a competitive industry.

We regret that our services had not been up to your expectations. Your comments come under the 2% of “terrible” comments out of 252 comments, of which 43% had been excellent, 35% being very good and 15% and 5% being average and poor.

We are sorry to note that five persons have tried to persuade you to use the Fine Dining Experience during your stay at our hotel, which is generally done only twice with our clients, by the Front Office Receptionist on arrival and by the Railway Guard who is involved in offering this experience.

You have also mentioned that your husband was recovering from a food poisoning of which neither the Management nor the staff had been notified during your two nights stay. Neither have we received any complaints from any other clients to this affect.

We would also like to mention that this is a hotel based in an eco friendly environment, very close to nature attracting visitors from one night to even a week. The guests who had stayed with us have been delighted with our services and their feed back given above prove it.

We believe you have been misinformed that the hotel is along a public highway which is not, but is 4 kms off the main road. The approach road which was in a dilapidated state, is now under repair and will be completed by the end of September 2011 and the clients will not be inconvenienced in the future.

We once again thank you for your valuable comments, which definitely would help us to improve and go forward.

We also take this opportunity to thank all those who have patronized and given us their valuable comments and the encouragement to be what we are today and we look forward to seeing you again at our unique hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A 4-night stay in August. The setting is stunning. The building sits on a small hill, 7,000' up, surrounded by a bowl of tea plantations and some great views. The exterior resembles the other tea factories of the area; the inside is contemporary industrial chic with pieces of (working) machinery retained to stress its origins.

I think it's a good base from which to explore the attractions of the hill country: the waterfalls, the Horton Plain, the colonial towns and the scenery.

The hotel provides what must be a unique experience of going out with the tea pickers to pluck your own tea. You watch it being processed and it is packed for you the next morning to take home. Otherwise you can walk for miles among the tea fields and local villages or take guided nature walks, led by locals.

It's not a place to come if you're wanting to be entertained, want to laze around a pool or are looking for late night drinking, and partying. You come here for the beauty of the countryside and the day-to-day activities of a real rural village.

It's remote, but it's not necessarily quiet. This is a working rural community so there are people working in their fields and dogs barking into the night.

The rooms - I stayed in two - were fine. Both were clean, perfectly comfortable. The noise insulation could have been better.

I thought the food was good. A decent Sri Lankan buffet with lots of choices. Also a fun dining experience in a converted 3rd class carriage from the railway that used to run nearby. And various specialist menus made up of tea-themed dishes or of locally-sourced ingredients.

The access road didn't seem too bad to me. The hotel is currently paying to have it properly paved. They said the local council should be doing it but they have given up waiting for them! As I write there are still a few km to do.

The rains start in September and the place may be a bit confining if it rains all day. The weather changes constantly from intense sun, to drizzle to strong gusty winds. It was fine while we were there but I can imagine your experience will flavour your holiday.

There's not too much up here for kids (pony rides and a playground), though plenty of families stay.

The hotel makes a lot of its low carbon and community credentials. Organic and bio-mass fuelled, it's trying to wean the local farmers off pesticides and fertilisers and support the village with buildings and training of staff from the village.

Room Tip: The views are better on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notoriety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,180 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,658 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
954 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £154 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelClick, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing