We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real one off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A real one off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Great hotel as others have said.

Great rooms and views. The food was really special and all the staff were brilliant.

OK there isnt too much to do once there but for 2 nights it was a really relaxing time. They do nature walks and tea visits but with nothing around you for 4 miles I wouldnt say you want any longer here.

Dont think I would go back but I'm glad I've visited it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Lost_Beaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,376
    747
    224
    65
    33
See reviews for
569
1,357
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

The uniqueness of the hotel surely made the trip worth while. The conservation effort of the hotel was well worth while and rooms are a stylish mix of new and old. The road to the hotel is in a perilous state and every day trip starts with a cumbersome 30 minutes trip downhill. The Spa doesn't live up to its own marketing and the staff in the hotel is generally arrogant or ignorant at best. Every handshake seems to cost extra and the game of pool is rudely interrupted because 'the hour is up' - no matter if you have only 5 minutes to go or not. The dinner dress code for full length trousers is taken ad absurdum by people in dirty, worn down track suits.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisepaepstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fluffer1000
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

we stayed here for a night as part of a sri lanka tour. have to say its the most memourable hotel ive stayed in. its a converted tea factory, hence the name. from the outside it looks like all the other tea factorys dotted around the countryside. inside has all the old workings of the factory including the old lift. we left to early for breakfast so cant comment on that (they did provide us with a packed lunch tho) had dinner in the railway carriage which is an experience in itself. anyone staying here should try it. only seats maybe 8 people and costs around £30 for a 6 course excellent meal. ill not go into more details as it might spoil the experience. some might call it cheesy but i think its fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Nuware Eliya is a bit out of reach. However, if you want to visit tea gardens this hotel is absolutely a fantastic option. State of art renovation, perfect service, very helpful staff, amazing tracking trail, very clean and comfortable rooms. The train TCK 6685 gourmet restaurant offers a great experience and fabolous food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umurcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We first traveled and stayed at this hotel way back in 2004. We had such lovely memories, that after 7 years, we decided to revisit the hotel. This time though, we encouraged two more families (friends) to accompany us. Inspite of all efforts they could not get a reservation at the Tea Factory Hotel. So strong was our recommendation to visit Tea Factory Hotel that they took accommodation in another hotel, a visited us the next day, here begins the ordeal -

a. First my club sandwich was sent with beef inspite of categorically mentioning to room service that we are not beef eaters.
b. My friends were not even allowed to visit our room. Once one of them accompanied me to my room to collect his bag. We were immediately followed by security and shunted out as if my friend was a thief.
c. We spent the entire day at the bar, drinking among the best and most expensive malts, not even one time did any hotel staff come over to ask if we were served, no snacks, nothing. And this over a period of 3-4 hours stay at the bar.
d. The dinner had nothing to rave about. The roasted lamb was more frozen than roasted, Mongolian dish was cooked live, but tasted cold and stale and many more such incidents.
e. The SPA and the full body massage by Balinese staff was nice and saving grace of our stay.

A final word, even after pending over SLR 100,000.00, we were very badly treated. The staff was not courteous, friends were unwelcome, they made no bones of the fact that they are the best since they had 100% occupancy on most days, including the days we stayed there. Finally frustrated with the non friendly and accommodating behavior, we left the hotel after dinner (although we has paid for our stay for the second night).

My advise, stay away from this property. Definitely dont recommend to friends.

Sujeet Mitra
Dubai, UAE

Room Tip: There are no special rooms. All rooms are small. Your best bet is to ask for a room facing the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sujeetmitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during our honeymoon, and the chilling weather and the rather unusual hotel architecture was indeed very welcoming. A cup of tea in the evening at the open garden was one of my favorite. As other Heritance hotels, this hotel also strive to take efforts the make their guests stay a memorable one. Positive sides of the hotel would be the scenic location, delicious food, amazingly unusual architecture and free internet etc. We were a bit annoyed by the bumpy ride up the hill to the hotel which at times give you a back pain. Overall, nice hotel, and a definite come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivanthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Really enjoyed our days here. Staff a bit pushy but helpful when it came down to it. Food good, there are about nine menus but if you persist they'll come up with the stuff you want. High tea only just about worth it. Bring a cardigan. Go on the walk around the area - very interesting and eloquent Tamil guide, and you can see the forest as it was before the tea cleared most of it away, along with lovely views.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing