We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a Hotel, what an Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, England
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“More than a Hotel, what an Experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stunning hotel, the reception is amazing, with the story of it's past on various pillars plus parts of the machinery are still there.
The rooms are basic but very tastefully done in keeping with the buildings history.
Do try the tea picking experience, great fun more than anything else, but you do get shown around the little tea factory on site of all the stages & then get some tea that had been picked that day (including your own leaves) as a souvenir.
The restaurant is also amazing, all created in the style of tea chests for the buffet area.

The most stunning hotel we have ever stayed at, not for luxury but an amazing experience!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linconshire couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    774
    234
    66
    36
See reviews for
599
1,405
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I love this building. The welcome drink and spice was so refreshing. Service is good. Room is basic but with no flaws. What I like most is in the evening, the old power generator at the basement starts rolling calling for dinner. The whole building is echoing. Oh, not to forget the old lift with manual doors to open and close. Very unforgettable experience! A must stay-over for one night or two in Srilanka.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Unlike anything i have ever experienced before. The best place for a honeymoon..... very green hotel.. friendly staff... best service... very clean room... love the special spicy tea... we will come back @ we will recommend to others...

Room Tip: 406 is a very nice room with a grate view......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leesamark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here during September 2013 and like other people have mentioned in their reviews, the experience is like nothing you've ever experienced before!! The hotel is converted from a historic tea factory and really takes you back to the golden days of pure Ceylon tea. Nested on a hill surrounded by lush tea plantations and gardens, the hotel is a fair distance from the nearest train station but well worth the long drive. The outside seating area is perfect for a leisurely cup of tea anytime of the day while observing the locals in the distance plucking tea. The experience of having a cup of tea ABOVE the clouds is simply mesmerizing. There is also a mini-tea factory right adjacent to the hotel which also serves as a museum and also allows you to pick your own tea from the neighboring plantation. The ambiance and decor of the hotel is really welcoming and warm and staff is extremely friendly . We had a couples massage at the Misty Mountain Spa which was so good! The restaurant serves a large selection of continental and local dishes and is excellent. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location: 30 mins out of Nuwara Eliya in top of tea plantation hillsides
Property: A converted tea factory achieved brilliantly with sense of history but stunning spaces and views
Service: A truly welcoming experience with gracious and friendly staff
Food: The one thing that let this stunning hotel down a bit. It was ok but not great and I cannot understand why we would have a mexican buffet on one night. The cocktails were totally excellent.
Rooms: Really lovely view and design - comfortable and pretty with petals often left on the bed
Facilities - No pool, lovely terrace overlooking plantations where you can pick your own tea. We did nature walk - 2 hours brisk up and down so wear good footwear - we loved it and guide very informative and we walked again by ourselves next day
Overall - Worth visiting as a great experience as well as hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seapink12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

a visit to the heritance tea factory is a truly unique experience, unlike anything i have ever experienced before. the journey to get there was, for me, as enjoyable at the destination itself. as you climb higher and higher up the mountains (and clouds) and through the plantations the views become even more spectacular; there is a sense of history and going back in time. by the time you reach the tea factory you feel (as other reviewers have written) that you are on top of the world. after the long journey the welcome, with cool flannels, a small puja and a cup of spice tea, is most welcome. you are greeted not just by the wonderful welcome and breathtaking views but by a tastefully restored environment which showcases the workings and history of the original factory. the sense of going back in time doesn't end with the restoration. the service is very old school, but has charm. but the rooms, while perfectly acceptable, are a little dated and frayed around the edges, and the small, dark gym contained rather antiquated equipment. some elements of the venue could definitely do with an upgrade. but this should not, and does not, detract from the wonderful and unique experience of visiting the tea factory. i would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We really liked this hotel. It was a good combination, comfortable rooms, nice food and lovely location. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Don't bother ordering tea downstairs though, it ws surprisingly poor. Other food wss good with a nice selection. On the curry night, the waiter quickly arranged for a huge plste of french fries for my little boy which was appreciated especially given our experience in another hotel we also stayed at. Everyone was smiling and we felt at home here. The spa is also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shalagh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,523 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,023 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
291 reviews
5.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Holiday Gems and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing