We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

i spent my honeymoon there for 2 days.the staff was very friendly and we felt like @ home there.hotel staff even helped us to get lot of photos. food was excellent they even postponed the closing time of the lunch jst for us bcz we were late on arrival. superb view .best hotel i visited so far.love to vist once again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 2,716 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Sadly for us we only spent one night here, had we been in Sri Lanka for more than a week we would definitely have stayed longer.

After what seemed like the longest car journey through the beautiful scenery of tea fields we arrived at Heritance Tea Factory. We were welcomed with a traditional tea ceremony prior to checking in. We then had a delicious lunch in the main restaurant before going to our room. We had one of the rooms with a balcony and as our room was on the corner we had even more amazing views than we expected!

The hotel is high up with nothing near by but tea fields, so there are a number or organised walks and activities you can join. Or you can make use of the spa facilities, read all about the history of the building and how it was transformed from a tea factory into the hotel or spend all your time drinking the tea which is picked and made on site in the Hotel's small tea factory.

As we were only there for 1 night we opted to go tea picking in the afternoon and a walk around the grounds the following day. We also played on the hotel's mini putting green.

The tea picking was a lot of fun and ended with a tour of the tea factory and on departure were given a bag of tea leaves each as a souvenir. The walk we did the following morning was with a very knowledgeable guide and was well worth doing.

The hotel has a train carriage in the grounds (when this was a working tea factory it was the highest railway station) which has been turned into a restaurant with 4 booths, we were lucky enough to get a table in there and what a wonderful experience it was! The food was excellent and the conductor/waiter was fantastic fun. It was not a cheap meal, but well worth the money we paid for the experience.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Heritance Tea Factory and would highly recommend it. If we find ourselves back in Sri Lanka we will definitely be booking here again.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with balconies, if you can get one of these it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Should have been amazing !!
Arrived after a beautiful train ride from Kandy.
The hotels location is approximately 30mins by car on not so good roads from Nuwara Eliya-so once there don't expect to just drop into town for a shop or a coffee at the golf club.
Arrival I could only say was "intense"! Usual face clothes then the turmeric dot on the forehead,then the hard selling of services. Firstly the railway carriage restaurant 75US$per person for exclusive dining! Not attractive nor luxurious and certainly not private.
Next was the spa offering a deal 15%discount, but what the don't tell you about are all the taxes and government service charges, so even with the discount the bill significantly more the the advertised price ??So ask first. Massage was good but surroundings a little shabby .
Also not told to arrive 15 minutes prior to booked time or massage cut short...what is that?
Room on second floor - no double bed just singles pushed together and made up as singles even though booked as double!
Small room nice outlook. Little or no soundproofing so felt one was in a station. 6/10
Restaurant 4/10 very average got totally fed up being asked if my meal was good sometimes after only a mouthful.
Tea picking experience 10/10- lovely lady who though a little hard to understand did a great job in getting us picking and then going through the tea making process at the end of which we got our "own picked tea" which May have been a bit generous as sure I didn't pick enough for a pot
Overall-felt overstaffed with not enough to do so invaded our personal space almost certainly not intentionally.
Would not return

Room Tip: If you want a double bed make sure you ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I toured Sri Lanka and the Maldives for our honeymoon in April 2014. We stayed at the Tea Factory for one night. We were greeted with spices and a cup of tea and a traditional dot placed on our foreheads. The grounds/plantations surrounding were amazing, extremely pretty and pretty to see. The inside of the hotel had original machinery inside and the 'red and green' colour scheme ran throughout the hotel, We were taken to the third floor to our room and were quite disappointed as our room was quite small. The heater had been put on for our comfort, but it was too warm for this this to be on! The bed was beautifully decorated and we also had fruit and plenty of tea to drink! The wifi was quick and there were no access issues. We then went downstairs for lunch and we popped our head into the train carriage restaurant - this looked lovely, but after seeing the fancy menu and having paid for half board we weren't interested in booking to eat here, - especially as we were told we were having a candle lit dinner that evening anyway. Our candlelit dinner!!! - a red candle on the table - that was it and a set menu! We were sat with the other diners and this wasn't what we were expecting! We did not opt for the set romantic meal menu as it wasn't to our tastes - but the buffet was great as was the breakfast buffet the next day. We had a short and sweet trip here - a shame the weather was too bad to go tea plucking. The staff were very friendly and most helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

lovely atmosphere, good rooms and friendly staff. beautiful surroundings and gardens. excellent for a weekend getaway. access road is a little difficult, so get there before dark. the food was excellent with a good vegetarian selection, unlike so many other hotels i have stayed in. tea lounge is a lovely place to sit and have different teas and read a book or just enjoy a warm fire in the evenings.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony. lovely place to sit and have tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank champa_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Heritance Tea Factory for one night during our tour of Sri Lanka on our honeymoon in April 2014. After a beautiful, winding, scenic drive through the roaming hills of tea plantations we arrived at the Tea Factory. The climate in Nuwara Eliya is a little cooler than elsewhere on the island so you may wish to bring a light jumper or cardigan. We were greeted by friendly faces, hot towels and a cup of spiced tea! Check-in was a breeze, as seemed the way for all of the hotels we stayed in during our visit to Sri Lanka. We were kindly shown around the dining areas of the hotel before being brought to our room. A lovely 'congratulations' sign welcomed us into our room. The room itself was compact and fairly basic, some might say a little outdated, with no air conditioning but this was in keeping with the style of the hotel and suited us fine for our short stay. Bathroom was decent and shower was nice and strong. We stayed on the second floor with beautiful views out the old pane windows overlooking the rear of the property.
We decided to go for the unique Railway Carriage dinner that evening which was probably the most special dining experience we had during our two weeks in Sri Lanka. The menu was very appetizing, six courses included, excellent service by the train conductor (a very enthusiastic man), beautiful congratulatory flowers and a unique atmosphere! Unfortunately it was the New Year while we were there so we could not enjoy a bottle of wine with our meal. We would definitely recommend this option for dining.
On the other hand the breakfast buffet was disappointing, the smallest variety of choice we experienced out of five Sri Lankan hotels.
The one aspect we would have loved to have been informed about on our arrival is the tea picking run by the hotel itself. We stopped at the Mackwoods tea plantation on our way to Nuwara Eliya, a waste of time really aside from the cup of tea and slice of cake we enjoyed. I would have loved to have tried the tea leaf picking on the grounds and viewing the tea making process in the mini factory onsite but unfortunately by the time we saw others out doing it it was too late for us to start.
Overall this hotel is full of character, retaining many features of its past as a working tea factory and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andirea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We only stayed one evening but had a fantastic stay. As we were on out honeymoon the room was made out beautifully and we had three different aspects from our room.

We had evening meal there and breakfast- both were great with attentive staff.

We picked tea which was turned into leaves we could take home.

It is well hidden about 3/4km along a windy road but is well worth it for the views when you arrive.

Couldn't have asked for a better stay- thank you :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmauk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,185 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,659 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
959 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £149 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelClick, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing